We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you want...”

Carnival Court Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnival Court Backpackers
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Depends what you want...”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

The location is great for partying!!! Directlt on long street and the bar with the balcony are definitely worth going to!!!
But: it wasn't really clean (bathroom, dorm and kitchen) and the security issue mentioned before is definitely not so good...
I actuallt found way better hostels in the same area that were sometimes even cheaper... I won't go there again,mainly because of the security issue!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blablabla1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
3
13
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you stay here don't plan on getting much sleep, once the bar in it shut down, you could still hear the one across the street blaring music till the wee hours. Otherwise the bar was great with a good mix of international and locals. Great for travelers without a car. The place was pretty well kept, minus a few cockroaches in the bathroom

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank littleroosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The first impression was that it was a nice staff and a OK place to stay for two days. But after we had left the hostel we found out someone had stolen money from us. 240 dollars were taken from me and 90 dollars were taken from my friend. We had the room all by ourself, so it must be one from the staff who stole it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here twice on consecutive weekends so we definately knew what to expect! The location is great - right in the middle of the bars and restaurants on Long St. Pretty central for the daytime sightseeing and the nightlife. The rooms we had on both occasions were above the bar so it was very noisy but we didn't mind as we were in the bar til it closed both times we were there. The bar itself was good - my only issue was that users of the bar had to go upstairs where the rooms were to use the toilets. There were security there monitoring this though. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets were clean but we didn't use the kitchen - looked ok though. I would recommend this place as long as people were aware of the noise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woobs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room we stayed in was super small and unclean with a leaky sink. The kitchen was disgustingly dirty. It was incredibly noisy with music blaring twell into the wee hours for all three nights I stayed there. The bar is open to the public and you had to cross through the bar/pool room to get to the bathroom. Two mornings I got up to use the bathroom and there was puke all over and the third morning the toilet had overflowed and no one had bothered to clean it up. The lock was broken on the door to our room and once we had some drunk come into the room and crash around before realizing it wasn't theirs. The rooms upstairs are better with more space and some with access to a nice balcony, but my experience here was terrible. I've stayed in a lot of hostels but this one was the worst. Staff was friendly but unhelpful. Although I enjoyed having easy access to Long Street that's about the only thing good I can say about this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

- Great location! Right where all the fun is on long street.
- Helpful and friendly reception staff :D all of them are great.
- Very clean rooms, bathrooms and showers! well done!
- Kitchen not well eqipped, only one stove works for tens of people to share.
- Food repeatedly got stolen from the fridge = ( & they left the plates for us to wash!!! everyone from the street has access to the club at the floor level and therefore to the rest of the hostle too. No security to keep them off coming up to the residential levels. LOCK YOUR ROOMS.
- All rooms lead out to a balcony. SO lovely = )
- Club/bar has a deathmetal-crazed DJ. The party was on every night with about 6 ppl only in the club, friends of the DJ. The whole hostle vibrated with "music" that resembled the sounds made by someone dying an aweful death ;P i managed to sleep through it but my roommates suffered, especially when having to get up at 6 am everyday for various activities.
- I'd love to stay there again if it wasnt for the security issue! they definatly need to lock the access to the room levels for ppl who are staying there.
- Oh and room had a sink in them for hand washing and brushing ur teeth :) that was very good + lockers which are necessary due to the security issue.

Room Tip: Top level! end of the isle (away from the stairs) so ur further away from the music
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saba I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

If you want to see Long Street you may as well just stay in the area. Nothing about Carnival Court was outstanding (not even the bar), but nothing was offensive either. For the carless, it is a decent point from which to visit Long Street (day and night) and nearby attractions like the Cape Quarter. Bathrooms were sufficient - small rooms instead of stalls, which can be nice. Whether or not they serve food is remains sort of a mystery to me but with all the very decent and reasonable restaurants in the area I would have to be seriously persuaded to eat at a backpackers. Staff were polite and well trained. Security was well planned and more than sufficient. On arrival, have a drink on the balcony overlooking Long Street and people watch... probably the best feature of the place.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MKSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#88 of 109 in Cape Town Central
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Ap...
#72 of 128 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
FlatRock Suites
FlatRock Suites
#38 of 128 in Cape Town Central
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#57 of 128 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 128 in Cape Town Central
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnival Court Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Court Backpackers

Property: Carnival Court Backpackers
Address: 255 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Carnival Court Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnival Court Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing