We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$882
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
175
36
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
36
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housetable mountainview over cape townhelpful hostssouth africathe ground floora short taxi ridekloof streetvery nice stayfive nightseach morningtaxis
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at Rutland Lodge at the end of my trip to South Africa. It was quiet elegance in a homey atmosphere. The rooms were outstanding and no two were alike. I stayed in one of the rooms that was off the main floor and past the kitchen. It had a working fireplace in it and was large. It also had french doors that opened unto the ground floor terrace. There were georgeous pieces of furniture for our use. The bathroom was across from the bedroom but for our use only. It was huge. It had a separate shower and tub. It was full of light. I think this was one of the best rooms. However, the beauty of the place was surpassed by the host Schalk. He is truly a person that enjoys what he does. And he is an excellent cook. You can't help but love the guy (smile). I strongly approve of this place for the care, ambiance and location. Its kind of like "home away from home" except my place never looked this good (haha). Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: The room past the kitchen on the ground floor is very spacious. The other rooms were very cozy and romantic.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We've just come back from 2 weeks in Cape Town, which was amazing- especially as we stayed at the Rutland Lodge! It had spectacular views over the city, the Lion's Head, Signal Hill with the back drop of Table Mountain. We were warmly greeted by Schalk- who made our stay very special, preparing us delicious breakfasts with healthy fresh options as well as real homely full English breakfasts. Inside the décor was extremely interesting- with antique African artefacts and beautiful furnishings which was like being transported to another world. We slept well and the place was immaculately clean, which was helpful for me as my partner is a bit OCD! I loved relaxing by pool in the afternoon before going into the buzzing city- there's so much to do there but we particularly enjoyed the Winelands and Robben Island. Would definitely visit Cape Town and stay at Rutland Lodge again without a doubt- best holiday we've had for a while!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in February. We had a great time and we had a lovely large room downstairs (no 6) with a great bed and linens plus a large and totally separate bathroom. What we loved most about RL was the homely atmosphere which put us immediately at ease. Jean the owner was most helpful and gave us brilliant recommendations for restaurants which proved a big hit. The breakfasts were fantastic and held in a lovely shaded courtyard with a bubbling fountain or in the impressive dining room if the weather was not suitable to sit outside. We also used the pool and lounged in the chill out zone under the veranda during the evenings.We just loved the peaceful gardens and views of Table Mountain and the City Bowl.
After my wife went home to the UK a few days later (we had stayed in two other locations), I stayed on for a futher 6 nights on business and decided to go back to RL, testamount to how much we had enjoyed our first visit. This time Jean offered me a huge downstairs bedroom (no 7) with a sitting area, a massive private deck and the most amazing subterranean shower room in the basement with a remote-control trap door opening in the floor - quite funky and creative but not for the faint hearted as the spiral steps were not something you would want to undertake if you were unsteady on your feet.
I would definately stay here again if going back to Cape Town as it just a great home away from home and very good value.

Room Tip: Room 6 downstairs is great for space and a lovely separate and private bathroom - garden view only Room 7 for massive bedroom, private deck (Cty Bowl view) and funky trapdoor opening to a basement showeroom - however not for those unsteady on their feet as the spiral steps are a bit daunting.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philhollowayinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We travelled with friends who stayed at this B&B (we recommended it to them from previous trips) unfortunately we had to fly out that night. The owner however made no issue of us storing our luggage and even put in extra towels in our friends room so we could shower before departing to the airport.
This only confirmed to us that this is one of the best places to stay while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

It’s a pleasure to take time out to post on this website as we had really had a memorable stay in Cape Town at the Rutland Lodge last month! Can only recommend it – and we’ve been to Cape Town on several occasions and not had this kind of accommodation, let alone this kind of service! The vibes of the place are cosy and grand at the same time! – the wooden ceilings, the tasteful interior décor and Africana, the beautiful views over the City, surrounding hillsides and, of course, Table Mountain. And there was nothing Schalk and Jean Jo didn’t know or seem willing to do for us! Delicious, fresh food and plenty of it, comfortable beds with luxurious linen (that made it hard to get up in the mornings!) and magical settings to relax in – the first floor sundowner deck, the pool, and the deck chairs in the spectacular garden! Great after a day of sight-seeing or conference attendance! Thanks to you both for a five-star, five-day stay!
Mandy Parkin and Jonathan Piggott, Nairobi, Kenya

Room Tip: there are good views of the City and the bay from all the rooms I believe! we were in the King Size bedroom and loved it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews