We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay!”
Review of The Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles
Ranked #107 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Charles is a great place with great location! Room was nice, but extremely hot as there is no air conditioning in the room and the fan does not help at all. Staff were friendly. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uzzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Charles is a gem in De Waterkant. Great room (#7), big with comfortable bed and open plan shower and bath. I think it´s good value for money as I booked "early bird".
The staff was very helpful, carrying our heavy suitcases up and down all stairs.
I will go stay here again next time in CPT.

Room Tip: Book room #7 or #8. Great view and direct access to roof deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 1 night here. The staff were friendly and the location great. It is situated in the heart of 'De Waterkant' it is surrounded by beautiful colourful streets and you can walk to restaurants and shops. It is a quaint 'town' and we had a wonderful adventure

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesCapeTown, General Manager at The Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear StephanieK5

Thank you for taking the time to review The Charles.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved this accommodation in Cape Town! The area is great! There is a lovely roofdeck and the rooms were clean and cozy. We had everything we needed. The Village Cafe around the corner, where you will receive breakfast vouchers, is fabulous! My husband and I still talk about how delicious the breakfasts were there. The location is very central to many of the sites in and around Cape Town, and the De Wanterkant area has a great vibe. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and called cabs for us whenever we needed. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank English N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCharlesCapeTown, General Manager at The Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear christopherong,

Thank you for your informative review, I am sure future guests will find it very helpful.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My second time in Cape Town in 10 years. Greatly improved and gentrified and the gorgeous village cafe around the corner is still there. This is where we get breakfast vouchers for , it's a highlight! For the price , about 110 usd/nite , it's great . We got the biggest room in the Charles itself. Be careful and clear that you want to be in the building and not one of the self catering apartments and houses around the waterkant! First timers may not feel comfortable on their own in this city. The staff were great and very helpful, organizing tours etc. the room we had could do with some updating but we felt like young students again to get into the swing of things and did not mind what we would consider 3star accommodation. This was what we expected so no complains here. Only beef is the lack of free wifi in the rooms, no air conditioning , and no drinking water supplied apart from the first day supplies .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Charles is located in a wonderful area (De Waterkant Village), the room was great, though there was no air condition and it was rather cold during the evening & night.
The massive standalone bath in the middle of the room was a real reat!
The staff was super friendly
I would highly recommend this guest house.if you;re not looking for a standard hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaelOren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at the Charles on 2 occasions while on business. On both my room was absolutely gorgeous, clean and neat. The staff super friendly. The room had a private patio, with a lovely view of the massive standalone bath in the middle of the room with a double vanity. If I had the opportunity to visit the Mother city again I would definitely visit The Charles again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top has the best views the 1st floor has the best bed and bathtub in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatsFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 112 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
0 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#102 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Town Lodge
Cape Town Lodge
#81 of 112 in Cape Town Central
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
428 reviews
0 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#111 of 156 in Cape Town Central
48 reviews
0 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#105 of 156 in Cape Town Central
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in the heart of De Waterkant Village, The Charles is an intimate and charming boutique hotel. Inspired by traditional European City boutique hotels , The Charles has 11 rooms, 4 duplex cottages and a quaint cafe serving some of the best coffee and breakfast in the city. Our guests enjoy exclusive use of the roof decks overlooking the city as well as access to the tours and adventures desk to ensure you make the most of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing