We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Sea Point”

Oceantide Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceantide Apartments
Ranked #91 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gem in Sea Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at Oceantide in Nov 2011 for business and was so enamoured with South Africa that we returned in April 2012 for one week in Cape Town. Both stays at Oceantide were wonderful- from the booking experience, Thomas greeting us and being on hand, the rooms and the cleanliness, etc.
The location is close to the city bowl an with a vehicle, we could go anywhere.
I'd highly recommend Oceantide for their value for money, quality of service and amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cdntravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
449 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

we booked an apartment having undertaken some research both using Google & Trip Advisor. Our South Africa experience started at Gorah, moving down the Garden Route to Laird's Lodge, Altes Landhaus and finally Oceantide.

We received a very warm greeting upon arrival and AG was keen to know when we would arrive so someone could be around to ensure we were looked after. Whilst we did not need parking, secure parking would have been available to us. Staff there were very friendly and hospitable.

The apartment was spacious, clean and well presented/maintained. London Road is just a few minutes from the seafront (Beach Road) and a leisurely 3 Km walk into the V&A Waterfront which we did each evening, alternatively a cab would cost up to 50 Rand depending on time, where you were picked up etc. Cabs are plentiful and responsive to hailing but I would recommend using approved cabs only.

Oceantide is ideally suited to those wanting a quieter base than using an hotel and with greater living space (unless you book a suite) and independence. Just around the corner is Main Road with a host of shops, bars, restruants and services - everything you need when staying in an apartment and being self sufficient. There is good security from the external door to your apartment and both the street and apartment complex well illuminated by night. There is a small lift which is ideal for transporting your luggage or if you want to take the easy way up! We did stay in one hotel in Port Elizabeth (PE) where there was no lift, and it is by no means uncommon apparently to not have a lift in hotels that are of an older build.

Each day the apartment was serviced, sheets changed and fresh towels. I did not feel unduly concerned leaving valuables around the apartment unlike some hotels I have stayed at in other countries! There was a small safe in the room (no additional charge for use, PE charged 100 Rand), ironing facilities, Sky TV, Air Conditioning, Internet access and a well equipped kitchen area (not that we used it!). Any information we requested was made available to us in terms of tourism. An outdoor pool is available but given the season it wasn't used by us!

Camps Bay is just around the corner, again a decent walk which we enjoyed on one of the sunny days there, alternatively you can hop onto one of the red sightseeing buses or use a cab. The red bus (blue or red route) are well worthwhile in terms of seeing the locality and things to see and do.

At the end of our stay our flight was at 2015 hours, we were allowed to stay in the apartment free of charge - fortunately for us the apartment was not needed that day so I guess we were very fortunate! I would certainly use Oceantide again if I were in Cape Town and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

AG, John and Thomas are excellent hosts and they run an equally excellent establishment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2006

oceantide is a small very clean,friendly,comfortable,secure small appartment building with 6 self catering serviced appartments just of the atlantic coast at seapoint cape town.its a great location away from the center but still close enough to all the attractions.we have stayed 5 times and we will stay another 5 at least.the appartments are very clean and serviced daily.there is a small pool and sun area to relax and the pace of life is very slow and calm.the owners ag and john are perfect hosts and have a wealth of knowledge and can arrange anything.anyone who visits will receive a genuine warm welcome.cant wait until our next visit

  • Liked — privacy and the hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing its great
  • Tips/Secrets — if you want a quiet relaxing place to stay then this is it
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank barrywhitford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#129 of 198 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Go Green Self Catering Accommodation
Go Green Self Catering Accommoda...
#92 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceantide Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceantide Apartments

Property: Oceantide Apartments
Address: 38 London Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and owner managed self-catering studio apartments. Very well located. Close to the famous V&A Waterfront, City and beaches. Walking distance from good supermarkets, coffee shops, restaurants etc. Ideal for one or two people. Heated pool, Wi-fi & Internet office, secure undercover parking, air-conditioned, daily serviced etc. No 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceantide Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing