We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilton Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dysart Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antrim Villa(Green Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
184
84
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
84
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pointafrican decorb bhonesty barwooden floorswalking distance from the waterfrontcommon areas arequiet streetother guestsevery morningone night stayenjoyed our staydays in cape townspecial thankslovely guesthousebreakfast was amazingsmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just returned from five nights (business visit to CT) at the Wilton. My fussy colleague had visited before so my expectations were probably a bit high. There is nothing bad about the place. The owners are friendly enough, the staff are great, the place has a laid back vibe and, probably best of all, you can potter in the little kitchen and make lunch or supper for yourself. However, this is the list of things that I didn't like:
Two of us had rooms in the new building. The wooden floors and staircase were noisy
I could hear the person across the hall snoring at night
The cold water tap produced mainly warm water which is not pleasant to drink
I was alone and didn't have an issue with the lavatory positioned at the edge of the room and looking onto it like a throne. I cannot imagine the horror of a couple in a new relationship arriving to discover the enforced intimacy of basic ablutions
The staff couldn't open the window the first night as it was broken. After that, I was unable to open it as it was too large and heavy and there was no purchase (a magnificent old sash window, but it requires brass 'handles' or something similar to make opening possible for shorter, less strong people like me)
Breakfast is only served from 8am. Although I understand that the staff have to travel to get to the guest house, this did not suit us and we were only able to enjoy one of the five breakfasts that were part of the deal
The parking situation is chaotic although the staff are good about assisting with this and hold places in the street wherever possible
The birds can be considered charming but some might not enjoy feathered friends in close proximity

If you are the laid back sort, this place will probably suit you just fine. If you want something that is charming but sophisticated, this is probably not the place for you. Travelling on business again, I think I'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighbelle-Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiltonPR, Public Relations Manager at Wilton Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

We would like to thank you for your feedback.
We would like to provide the following information. Our long awaited glass screens for the bathrooms in the new wing arrived and have been installed. Our breakfast is served from 7.30 onward; a breakfast package containing snacks is available for guests who inform us that they are leaving early. The Manor house and the new renovated wing, have been restored in keeping with the old turn of the century Victorian style; remember, these buildings date back to the 1890’s....we endeavour to complement this Victorian feel with modern touches ... unfortunately, these character wooden staircases of yesteryear do squeak ... but the rich ambiance the wood creates surpasses the inconvenience ... Regarding the glass window not opening: new window panes were installed in the frames; however, nowadays glass is thicker and heavier, making the original weights installed in the original sash windows insufficient. We continue searching for a solution, which we hope to find soon ... in the meantime, we suggest guests use the air conditioning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the week commencing 23rd January. We loved the character of the place and the friendliness of all the staff - they couldn't do enough for us. We hired a car and had no problems parking outside the guest house, even though it was full on a couple of nights. The 'honesty' fridge system is a great idea, alowing you to sign for anything you take out of the communal fridge and pay for at the end of your stay. Breakfast on the partially covered veranda outside in the morning was very civilised and the breakfast quality and choices available (fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham, pastries, cereals, cooked 'english' breakfast and Victoria's famous pancakes) were very good.
Underneath the breakfast area is the office, which is staffed throughout the day and they are more than happy to help you plan your itinery and make bookings, etc. for you. Vincent was particularly helpful (many thanks!) and was very knowlegeable about the local area. Please try Rhapsody's and/or The Buzbey Grill restaurants for great steaks, both within a short walking distance of Wilton Manor. We found the general location of this hotel great for us - outside of central Capetown, but close to the Waterfront, Green Point, Sea Point and some shops and good restaurants. Overall, we had a great stay and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 7 downstairs at the back of the hotel, which was comfortable and fairly quiet, but has no views outside.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed there for a week during New Year's, and loved everythig about it: location, decor, comfort, breakfast, security. The birds and pets are just lovely, and the atmosphere is very charming in general. But the best thing is definetely the staff: even in a five star hotel one wouldn't find a service like this. We felt pampered in every way. Our special thanks to Alice, Nadine, Vincent, Vicki (her pancakes are out of this world, indeed) & the girls for making our holiday a fabulous experience. Super recommend!

Room Tip: We had room number 6; very comfy and with a lovely balcony!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannydanny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This guest house was really comfortable, with a great big couch and cosy dining area, perfect for planning your days in Cape Town or chilling out after excursions. They leave tea, coffee, fruit and crackers out throughout the day and biscuits in your room for when you get the nibbles and there's a well stock bar fridge which operates on a honours system. The rooms are a good size and the beds where super comfy. The location wasn't far from the Waterfront but I would recommend a car or using taxis. There's free parking. Breakfast was included in the rate which made it great value and it really was delicious. The breakfast set up also made it easy to meet other guests. The staff were very friendly and the new puppy was adorable!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnIrishView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Staff is very helpful, really friendly. It is comfortable and particularly nicely decorated.
Well situated in green point. Some free parking space we always benefitted from.
Breakfast is also very nice
we stayed there 11 days, only drawback may be that low season was work area everywhere in the neighbourhood........

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews