We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with super nice staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilton Manor Guest House
Ranked #40 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our stay, thoroughly. The breakfast was great and much more than standard continental fare, and the staff were very sweet.

We walked to nearby restaurants, but as two females we were extra careful and would always taxi from the Waterfront (~$3). No problems with our tour companies coming to pick us up from the location.

Comfortable beds, working heater, excellent maids.

My only warning would be our shower in room 6(two twin beds) was quirky, and we felt guilty water all over the bathroom floor when we showered. Also, noise travels in the main building. It didnt bug us, but room #2 seems like it may be in a bad spot.

Overall we were very happy and would absolutely stay there again. Great value!

Room Tip: Avoid room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our luxurious experience @ Wilton Manor began with our late evening arrival for our 3 nights stay in August ... the assistance with the luggage was prompt and we were lead to our room which had a private & secure access (and porch). The bedroom was well appointed with excellent furnishings, linen, bedding, additional bed & bathroom amenities.
The bathroom was on a split level which gave an interesting perspective (the 'openness' of the bathroom though posed a challenge during the daily ablution rituals; adding a shaving mirror and better drainage of the shower would certainly enhance the overall experience).
Our breakfast was well facilitated due to the quality of choice,spread of items and the extremely amiable Victoria who whipped up delightfully sinful pancakes and fluffy omelettes with the dexterity akin to any talented culinary artist. The oversized communal dining table where our placemats were setup allowed for interesting interactions with other guests as well. A functional pantry attached provided easy access for self cooking if one felt the need to do so.
Internet access was through free Wifi in our room and the speed was good enough most of the time ... there was also a computer connected to the net in the dining room Internet corner.
Alice, who introduced herself as the owner, was the perfect host on all the mornings - she has orchestrated the entire decor of all the rooms herself & won't need to be coaxed to share her unique experiences in doing so or in sharing stories on the local geography - she is as integral to the experience as the art of the country that is displayed tastefully throughout this B&B.
The docile and friendly parrots that are being raised by the poolside provide excellent photo opportunities.
Parking was secure, automated & free within the B&B... if you drive a 4 x 4 though, it might be a tight squeeze.
A 7 minute drive to V&A waterfront (mall, shopping & restaurants) makes Wilton Manor's location well appointed and convenient ( it's a 20 minute drive to the airport).
If it's cape town again, we will find it very difficult to stay anywhere else!
Priya n Pancham

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pancham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

At the beginning of August we stayed for two nights at Wilton Manor, and the staff and owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The decor was stunning and carefully selected with the hugest King size bed I have ever slept on. The works was laid on at breakfast with the choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt, as well as english breakfast, and to top it all- delicious fresh pancakes.
I would definately recommend it, and will return should I visit Cape Town again.

Room Tip: They offer you a couple of rooms, and give you the choice of choosing the one that best fits your ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdselect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I stayed at Wilton Manor last August and wrote a review just as I was preparing to depart for the airport. I arrived at the Cape Town and just before checking for my flight heard my name called over the public address system. As I approached the airport's information kiosk, I saw one of the desk attendants from Wilton Manor standing there waiting for me. She was holding, on hangers, a sport jacket, shirt and belt that I left in the armoire. She drove 30 minutes to the airport just to make sure I didn't depart without my belongings. I thanked her profusely, and offered to pay her. She refused to accept payment until I insisted once again and gave her $10 to cover parking at the airport. Hands down one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Bellhop-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I highly recommend this B&B. Peter was proud of all the work he put into renovating the place himself and he should be. It was charming and well-appointed. There were great breakfasts custom made by Victoria each morning. The owners Peter and Alice were so helpful and kind, and recommended great things to do on the Cape. We really felt at home and enjoyed sitting on the huge porch and drinking a sundowner. Bed was huge and very comfortable. The location was great, very convenient to nearby restaurants, into the city (and for walks on the promenade).The only disadvantage is if you have a large rental car, as the streets are very narrow around there. A wonderful stay overall, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front room upstairs has nice Victorian bay windows and a view of the rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebowe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I have just spent a week in the company of friendly owner Alice and hostess Inge Dinwoodie at a spot you can call your home from home without hesitation! This old manor house offers spacious accommodation in the heart of trendy Green Point walking distance from the world renowned Cape Town stadium, the V&A Waterfront and many vibey restaurants and bars. After major renovations the house offers cutting edge design paired with all the comforts of any world class hotel. Swimming pool, concierge, hearty breakfasts, goose downs, modern bathrooms (in the newer section) all paired with seamless service. I can reccommend Wilton Manor with confidence.... you arrive a guest and leave a friend. Perfect for a short or long stay with your friends and family or if you are travelling alone.... never a dull or lonely moment.... thanks to the resident talking parrots Elvis and Lisa. Thank you Alice and team - now I know that home really is where the heart is!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaKo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from spending 8 nights at Wilton Manor in Capetown where we had a wonderful time. Some weeks after we'd booked we read some adverse reviews about Wilton Manor and seriously thought about booking elsewhere. However, we were reassured by an exchange of emails with Wilton Manor, and decided to stick with our booking. We are very glad we did. Large rooms, an enormous double bed, high ceilings, lovely fittings and everything artistically arranged. An more than adequate breakfast - fruit juice, cereals, yoghourt, a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms etc, toast, tea and/or coffee, with waitress service was a great start each day. The waitresses were superb and doubled as chambermaids keeping our room spotless. Wilton Manor is in a quiet residential street within walking distance of Mouille Point and the Water Front where so much happens and shops and restaurants at Greenpoint. The Office were very helpful in advise on trips, local customs and personal safety. An added bonus - unique in our experience - was fresh fruit and snacks freely available in the lounge. We found the Owner, who likes to be known as the Hostess, warm and welcoming, and as she lives on site she is able to keep a close eye on things. There were moments which reminded us of Downton Abbey! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, had a wonderful time, and warmly recommend this Guesthouse..

Room Tip: Notify the Office of your time of arrival. We arrived at 10.30 because of our overnight flight, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToJoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Standard
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
604 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
660 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
470 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
100 reviews
Olaf's Guest House
#31 of 156 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Manor Guest House

Address: 15 Croxteth Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £89 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilton Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilton Manor shares the Victorian splendour of bygone years, with a wrap-around balcony, high volume pressed ceilings and wooden floors. Twelve double volume rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, have been tastefully restored. Beautiful wooden furniture, spaciousness and the unique Colonial décor (blended with the African feel) create an elegance to be experienced. Crisp white linen and soft white towels make the visitor feel relaxed away from home. Wi-fi has recently been optimised for speed. The tariff includes a full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Wilton Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilton Manor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing