We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Signal Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Signal Hill Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a wonderful experience we had last week staying at this unique lodge. I have to congratulate the Manager Gerhard for accommodating us and going out of his way to ensure our stay was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and his wonderful sense of humour made our experience there all the better.

The view from the lodge is to 'die' for. Absolutely beautiful. My colleague and myself would strongly recommend this lodge and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with a balcony that overlooks the city of Cape Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knetm_13, Public Relations Manager at Signal Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Colleen,

Thank you for the great review. What a pleasure it was meeting you.

Best Regards
The Signal Hill Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    43
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
59
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night, between two longer term accomodation plans - tempted by the location and view. Not much to say about that - it feels kind of remote while close to town at the same time, and the view is what you can expect from a place nested on signal hill. Car necessary. That was it for the positives.

I am not one to complain much about staff - I get grumpy at times and so can forgive staff rudeness on most days. But the treatment we got this time was just unprofessional. They first tried to charge us a higher rate, arguing the hotel was fully booked when not even half of it was. Then they took away bed sheets and towels as we were having breakfast (two hours before the 10am sunday check-out deadline and before we even took our shower). Wi-fi only works in a few of the rooms, password is not given to you but typed into your device for lack of trust. Our room was very average and bathroom tiny. An experience like that can only satisfy those unfamiliar with the usual quality of South African hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flycker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knetm_13, Public Relations Manager at Signal Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your recent stay at Signal Hill Lodge.

It does appear that there was some miscommunication regarding our rates and check out times. The online booking that you made was for a Standard Room while the rate you were quoted via telephone was for one of our Deluxe rooms. Also, our check out time is at 10am and not at 12pm as you believed.

We pride ourselves on friendly and hospitable service and regret that you were not charmed by our staff.

We take all our reviews very seriously and will use the information you have provided to improve our service.

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Signal Hill Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We recently stayed at Signal Hill Lodge while we attended the Mining Indaba,The Lodges staff were wonderful the room were spacious and quite comfortable.We enjoyed our time there the Lodge is quite central which was a bonus.The view in the evenings was PHENOMENAL! and the service and manager was EXCEPTIONAL!!!!! A definite must stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I recently stayed at Signal Hill Lodge and WHAT an experience it was.

Before my visit, I actaully Googled some reviews to know what I should or should not expect and what I got, was much better.

Two reviews on Virtual Tours stated the Lodge was Liquidated and not Operational any more - what a bunch of trash - who-ever placed these reviews , surely have not been to this Lodge. It might have been the case in 2010, BUT this is now 2012 and what I read in these reviews was absolutely the opposite.
Since the Lodge is under new Management, it was worth considering staying there. Even while renovations were in progress, you never felt it. The rooms are presentable , the staff offer friendly professional service, excellent Breakfasts and I received an excellent wellness (massage) treatment.

I can strongly recommend the Lodge - centrally located and was a pleasure walking every morning among the historiacal Bo Kaap houses to the CBD.

I strongly recommend you have first hand experieince of staying of the amazing accomodation and please don't be fooled by second hand information

My sincere thanks and appreciation again to the management and staff of the Signal Hill Lodge - my stay was an unforgettable experience and I will be back very soon

Gerhard Botes

Room Tip: Rooms No 402/403 or 302/303 or 101/2/3 - Ideally and highly rocommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I visited this lodge at the end of my 2weeks SA Tour. The lodge is located at the Signall Hill (Military Road) at Signal Hill. Taxi to Longstreet is 30 Rand.

The lodge provides free internet, small but comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpfull staff and an unbelievable great view towards cape town city and docks. The pools invites for a real rest after a long town visit. Sundowner on the deck is beautiful.

The bathroom (room 303) is quite small , has a shower and toilet but is clean, which is important for me. All rooms have air-condition.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolgerDaube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Travelling to CPT for the World Cup. We leave in 2 weeks and received this today.

Dear Guest

CLASSIC CROWN PROPERTIES 198 CC TRADING AS SIGNAL HILL LODGE

This serves to inform you that Signal Hill Lodge was provisionally liquidated in the High Court of South Africa (Western Cape High Court, Cape Town) on 5 May 2010.

The Liquidators have informed us that they will not be continuing the trading operation of the lodge. In the circumstances we regret to inform you that the lodge will be unable to accommodate you for the period of your confirmed reservation.

We have provided your details to the Liquidators who shall shortly be in contact with you so that you may submit a claim against the Close Corporation in respect of any payment that you may have already made to secure your booking. To assist us in this regard, we request that you kindly by return email provide us with your postal and email address.

In an effort to ensure that you are not inconvenienced in any way, we have contacted various hotels and lodges in and around Cape Town City Bowl that would be able to accommodate you during your stay. Please find attached a list of these hotels and lodges. We would recommend that you liaise directly with your preferred hotel/lodge to make the necessary arrangements should you require tours or airport transfers.

We once again, apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you in this regard.

Regards

Signal Hill Lodge
Tel: 0878078847
Tel: (021) 426 5363
Fax: (021) 426 5368
29 Military road,
Upper Bo Kaap
CBD
E-mail: info@signalhilllodge.com
Website: www.signalhilllodge.com

Very odd. And very annoying.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jables3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I was looking forward to staying at this property for the World Cup in June of 2010. After paying my entire booking in full and with my trip only 9 days away I just now received an email. The email simply stated that the Signal Hill lodge has gone bankrupt and effective immediately they will have no more guests and will not be able to honor my reservation.

As far as getting my money back, the email said I would soon receive an email from the liquidation company with more information at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jJwh1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upperbloem
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
288 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
254 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signal Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signal Hill Lodge

Property: Signal Hill Lodge
Address: 29 Military Road | Schotschekloof, Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Signal Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Signal Hill Lodge is ideally centrally situated on the upper slopes of the Signal Hill Nature reserve with breathtaking views of Cape Town city bowl, Table Mountain and the Table Bay. The Lodge, in upper Bo-Kaap, is within walking distance of Cape Town city and within easy reach of Table Mountain and the ever-bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Our en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms, each individually appointed in 4-star luxury, offer a blissful sanctuary from the rigors of traveling, while our Wellness Room ensures that you look and feel your best during your stay. Gourmet Malay fusion breakfasts are served in the restaurant where the sun streams in and views over the City bowl are scrumptious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Signal Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signal Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
Signal Hill Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing