We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up on the hill!”
Review of Signal Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Signal Hill Lodge
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up on the hill!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We drove one hour before we found the place, the car rental map were wrong. We were close to give up. So when we finally found it we were really surprised. What a place! Rough surroundings - but really worth the money. Wonderful view over the town. Friendly staff. Good parking.
A hidden pearl!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haakan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    40
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
56
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently stayed for 2 night (wish it was longer!!) at Signal Hill Lodge in Cape Town. We were warmly welcomed by Gerhard. Our room was spotless, adequate size and a comfie bed. Security was brilliant. The views from the hotel in the evening were special. Great value for money and I'd definitely stay here again. Location to everything was really handy and we loved the fact we had secure parking (included in price).

Staff were awesome - thank you Gerhard!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The combination of a comfortable bed, good air conditioning, very clean accommodation, well presented and tasty breakfast with a marvellous view, free secure parking and freely given friendly advice made this a very good choice for my stay in Cape Town. The walk into the city and back or along Military Rd was also welcome exercise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brad893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location, friendly staff and the perfect place to plan your trip for sightseeing and nightlife entertainment. Wonderful views on Cape town. Gerhard, the host during my stay, was very proactive and offering perfect service at an extraordinary level that I seldom have experienced.
Great place, experience yourself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had a short weekend stay at Signal Hill Lodge. The location with a beautiful view over the harbour is very convenient to the night life and action on Long Street and only a short drive to The Waterfront for shopping. Throughout the service was excellent, and the host Gerhard was extremely helpful and attentive. Highly recommended if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The three days we spent at signal hill lodge were perfect.
The place is amazing with a fantastic view, and above all gerry is a perfect host. He's very helpful and he really does his best for you to spend a very good time in cape town. On top of that He has real talent to make our little baby feel happy and smile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I were married in Natal on the 29th June 2013 and we booked into the Signal Hill Lodge for a period of four days for our honeymoon in Cape Town.
We found the lodge to be well situated and central to town, the service from the staff and management was truly 5 star, warm friendly and accommodating to our needs.
The view is spectacular and we will definitely be staying at the lodge on our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathGillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Upperbloem
#46 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#39 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 108 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#58 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signal Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signal Hill Lodge

Property: Signal Hill Lodge
Address: 29 Military Road | Schotschekloof, Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Signal Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Signal Hill Lodge is ideally centrally situated on the upper slopes of the Signal Hill Nature reserve with breathtaking views of Cape Town city bowl, Table Mountain and the Table Bay. The Lodge, in upper Bo-Kaap, is within walking distance of Cape Town city and within easy reach of Table Mountain and the ever-bustling Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Our en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms, each individually appointed in 4-star luxury, offer a blissful sanctuary from the rigors of traveling, while our Wellness Room ensures that you look and feel your best during your stay. Gourmet Malay fusion breakfasts are served in the restaurant where the sun streams in and views over the City bowl are scrumptious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Signal Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signal Hill Hotel Cape Town Central
Signal Hill Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing