We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent 14 nights at the guesthouse and we really loved it! The service is excellent and the atmosphere is so cosy and familiar. The rooms are decorated very lovely and the patio ist just an oasis!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Barbara and Julian,

thank you for your review - was a pleasure having you in our house for two weeks! Many interesting talks and a nice New Years Eve Dinner ;-)

Have a great time and don't wait too long to come back...

See you soon,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Wonderfully decocarated old house with lovely individually furnished rooms.
It's clean, quiet, yet centrally located near Table Mointain.
The area provides excellent infrastructure with lots of different restaurants and shopping opportunities, all within walking distance.
Breakfast is served as buffet, special requests are taken care of by the German speaking owner.
Perfect place to stay for everyone who values individuality and comfort!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you Christian!

We wish you all the best and hope you will come back :-)

Have a great time,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were initially slotted to stay here 4 nights. We liked it so much that we decided to spend another three nights later on in the return part of our trip!

Both the guesthouse and the rooms are quite beautiful. We stayed in the Zebra and the Elephant rooms. Both were quite gorgeous, though each has a unique charm (both have fireplaces!).

Breakfast was solid, good choices with spelt bread, great coffee, etc. There was a small pool (which we didn't use) and a nice verandah to hang out on.

One of the highlights of our stay was the hospitality shown to us by the owner, Roland. Everyday, he asked after us and our plans, and continually provided us with ideas and recommendations, and then checked back in for feedback. He booked us some fabulous restaurants and took care of all the transfers, tours and cabs we wanted. Brutally efficient and just simply excellent.

When we first came to Cape Town, before we came to the Jardin, we stayed in another guesthouse that was ranked very, very high on Tripadvisor. However, we felt that the Jardin was better - this place deserves a lot of recognition.

Thank you, Roland and all, for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thousandplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Fahd,

thank you very much for your great review. Was a pleasure having you as our guest!


Hope to see you again soon,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Jardin d'Ebene is a boutique hotel within a lovely safe area of Capetown. We found Noah and Christopher very gracious and helpful with a 'low key' manner. The owner was ( whose name I forgotten, sorry!) had only recently taken over the hotel and has ideas for improvement. He was very helpful in suggesting sightseeing, restaurants etc.
Our travel agent described the Jd'E as 'Simple' this could, in my opinion, be raised to 'Medium' by tea and coffee making facilities in thee rooms or the offer of drinks on return from sightseeing. There is an honesty bar available but being English we missed our refreshing brew.
Altogether we had a lovely comfortable stay at Jardin d'Ebene and would recommend it to oither couples looking for a secluded haven in Capetown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Keith,

thank you for your review and of course for staying with us.

We do not have coffee/tea making facilities in our rooms yet, that will be the next step of improvement for us. All our guests are more than welcome to have a tea, or coffee after coming back from their tours. It's a pleasure for us to serve tea/coffee on the verandah, in the garden, or in the lounge and most of our guest make use of that.

By the way, I would not describe us as a simple guesthouse (as we have 4 stars...), but that is of course a subjective view ;-)

Thank you again and we all wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year!

Best wishes,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a fabulous three nights stay at Jardin at the end of Nov'13. It really is a lovely boutique guesthouse within walking distance of town. Roland, who runs it was very very helpful starting with a personal welcome and orientation to the city and some very valuable recommendations. He went out of his way to help us rent a car. Thank you Roland. Chris and Noah were very friendly and thank you for those sumptuous breakfasts. The rooms are very spacious, beautifully decorated with a designer's touch and gives a sense of space and being in Africa without any cliques. We stayed in two different rooms and our favourite room was the zebra room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank theburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Parvez,

Thank you very much for your review - we would love to have you as our guest again!

All the best to you,

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Found this hotel accidentally, but was offering all we needed: very friendly and helpful staff (really really), lovey zen setting, safe neighborhood, probably the best coffee in town. The decoration is great. If one suggestion: try to book one of the luxury rooms - only bit more expensive but the size and deco definitely worth it! I'm more than happy to suggest this little jewel to all travelers.

Room Tip: book with them directly. the owner is eager to find a solution for you + book a luxury room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeitall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Owner at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you very much for your Review Lili,
We hope you had a safe trip home!

Hope to to see you two again soon ;-)

Have a good time,

Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The best part of our stay at Jardin D'Ebene was the attention that the owner and staff gave to every guest. It is obvious that they want to see that everyone's travel needs are met. The owner came to pick us up at the airport late at night and took us to the airport at the end of our trip very early in the morning. He also made numerous phone calls for every guest so that dinner reservations and reservations for attractions were made with no hassle for guests. Breakfasts were delicious and served on a lovely patio. The house is on a quiet residential street within walking distance of several good restaurants. The bed was comfortable. We felt very fortunate to have lucked upon this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kayowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RolandHupfer, Inhaber at Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Kay,

thank you very much for your nice Review - was a pleasure having you as our guests!
Hope to welcome you again - a lot more to see in South Africa ;-)

All the best from you Jardin d'Ebene Team

Roland, Alexandra, Noah and Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
470 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 21 Warren Street | 8001 Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jardin d'Ebene is an old Cape Dutch homestead that has been meticulously refurbished and decorated in a refined contemporary African style. It is situated in the heart of the city bowl, right below Table Mountain. All five rooms are all uniquely designed adding flair and character and do have their own luxurious open en-suite bathroom. The tranquil grounds boast a relaxing day-bed nestled in the garden. As well as a plunge pool and sundeck with breathtaking views of Lions Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin D'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing