We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cool & great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Clean, cool & great location”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were surprised to find a bottle of champagne and a hand written card in our room upon arrival, very nice!

The room was ok, a little dated in the bathroom, but very clean and comfortable otherwise.

Breakfast was excellent and the bar made some nice drinks as well.

All of the staff we encountered was excellent, starting with Lee the concierge to the Christopher the porter.

Also, there is a free shuttle to bring guest to the V&A Waterfront where we went EACH NIGHT! We really loved it there, a must do.

Overall, very nice, if you get a good price, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that enjoyed your recent stay on your honeymoon. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff and I will ensure all outlets are aware of your kind remarks.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    767
    190
    59
    38
See reviews for
455
496
53
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Don't let the name fool you: this hotel is not on the Waterfront. That said, it's a great base for both business and leisure.

The breakfast selection is very generous, but not everything is warm, which is a pity. The service is good, and the rooms well appointed. It's a little pricey given how much space you get (especially when compared to the Protea North Wharf next door which has much more space and slightly lower rates), and the hotel is so large that there is the distinct feeling of being in a rabbit warren when you are in the corridors. However, once you're in your room, you do lose the rabbit warren feeling. The beds are comfortable, and the gym / fitness centre is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery and I will ensure to pass on your remarks to our various outlets in order to do so.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We used this hotel as a base for exploring Cape Town and its surroundings. The hotel has a mix of business and leisure travellers, offers a good breakfast and decent rooms (no fridge which would have been nice). We had no problems parking in the car park but this could be difficult when the hotel is fuller and can't imagine you'd want to park on the streets. The hotel is quite easy to find - straight off the N1/2 and well placed for getting about. The walk to the V&A waterfront takes about 10mins but as there is a free and punctual shuttle bus that runs every half hour so you don't need to walk and definitely shouldn't after dark. In fact I wouldn't recommend walking in the day unless there are plenty of people about. We were threatened by a man with a knife at 3pm quite close to the hotel - I think our mistake was walking out on a Sunday - there are less people about. Cape Town is dangerous and I would recommend you are sensible and vigilant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trpadv-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am deeply concerned regarding your unfortunate experience you encountered in the city on the Sunday. This incident has been passed onto the local law enforcement agency for the city (CID).

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you will visit Cape Town again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed here with a large family group during September for a wedding in Cape Town. My last stay here was more than a decade ago just after the property opened as a Holiday Inn. While the rooms aren't huge (or perhaps we just felt cramped being a large group sharing?), they are more than adequate for the average tourist or business stay. Given the very good rates, you don't expect the luxury of a Table Bay or the personalised service of a Dunkley House, but we were pleasantly surprised by the level of service we did get. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and made a heroic attempt to cater for vegetarians as well as carnivores, the service levels at meals were very good and the food quality was well above the average for this type of hotel. The spa was spotless as was the pool area, the internet service (added charge) fast and efficient, and the lounge very comfortable. There is a complimentary juice station in the lobby, we were given a late check out on request, and I spent a pleasant afternoon in the lounge off the lobby before having to leave for my flight, consuming several drinks and a snack during this time, while I worked on my laptop.

Room Tip: There are no sea views as such but you can get a room with a distant harbour view or with a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here for three nights with a friend, and we had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The rooms were large, bright and well appointed. We both had queen beds in our twin room, which were amazingly comfortable. The bathrooms were bright and clean. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have come across, and all food was fresh and delicious.

We made frequent use of the complimentary shuttle bus between the hotel and the V & A Waterfront area - it saved us a small fortune in taxi fares!

The front desk, bar and housekeeping staff were all efficient, welcoming and friendly.

The hotel is in a good spot between the CBD area and the Waterfront, with restaurants and other shops nearby.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I am fortunate enough to return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I was at this hotel on business from Monday 24th October until 4th November 2011. The hotel is superb in every way. The breakfasts were fantastic with so much to choose from and of a good quality. Equally the meals in the restuarant were just as good with a great selection of fine wines.

The guys behind the bar were great especially Riaz who deserves a special mention for his great service. Equally Des and Chris deserve a pat on the back for their great humour as well as Hannes service at the front desk.

The rooms were cleaned of a high standard, come with safes with no charge along with air conditioning.

The hotel is superbly situated from the Waterfront area which has easy access to over 20 restaurants and a superb selection of shops.

Simply the best hotel I have stayed in, and am looking forward to returing for a further 2 weeks in January also on business.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back overlooking the pool- there are no roads there and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will certainly share your positive remarks amongst all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The checkin was efficient, juice on arrival - room was nice, buffet was excellent, breakfast and dinner... Room I had was on 1st floor, past the gym, beauty salon and management offices.. was not very keen on it and the corner room had no view.. but rest of the service was great..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I appreciate your feedback and we will ensure that your comments are passed onto our staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing