We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good with some points for improvements and tips for visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #34 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Excellent breakfast, very nice rooms, good location, expensive internet, I would recommend you to use the taxi instead of the hotel shuttle to waterfront as the taxi is cheaper if you are 2 or more. The hotel pool could be heated, the staff on the reception should have more information about the touristic packages etc. however overall impression very good - great price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena_Maputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights recently on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is spectacular and the rooms are nice. 2 mins drive to the waterfront and the same distance to Long street where it all happens.
The breakfast is to die for and security is tight. The only downside is that you have to pay for parking which is located in the basement of the building. It costs something like R40 - R60 a night. Pretty steep.
The Fez nightclub is within walking distance which is good for those who want to visit.
I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I've arrived to the hotel about 10am after 10h flight from Germany. While checking in asked for very quiet room. All seemed fine so went to sleep just to be waken up with workers with hammers just next to my room. After two hours of such "concert" decided to go to reception and ask if this is really the quiet room and if there are any construction works they are aware of. I was told that the carpet is being changed (the noise of hammers was easy to hear from reception two levels below!). The only advice I was given is to go out from the hotel and come back after 5 when the works were supposed to finish. I found it outrageous - just paid full night price for few hours (10am-3pm) and cannot even use my room???

As the hotel restaurant is not open for lunch I went for a stroll in hope to find some place where I can wait until my room would become habitable. Unfortunately the hotel is placed in middle of nowhere and was not able to find any food within walking distance.

The hotel seems to be clean enough.

Room Tip: ask for construction works being under progress close to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stay at the hotel was fine, with excellent breakfast but no free WiFi. Even the pay-for WiFi is capped at 200MB for 24hours at 80 rand. I expected bigger rooms given the price but Cape Town is a tad bit pricey. Hotel is a walking distance from the V&A Waterfront and close enough to many fast food establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwes_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stay at this hotel very often and I just love it. It is a fantastic experience from the minute you walk in the door. The staff are excellent and very, very friendly. The management are excellent and always visible. Breakfast is the best by far - dont miss it!
A fantastic hotel with excellent staff and so close to absolutely everything.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenlan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most positive review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you on your return to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Was one of the best hotel, I have ever stayed in. The spacings are quiet generous and visitors would be proud to enjoy in this hotel. Seeing the crowd, can make out how popular this hotel is. The same time, a marathon race was due in Capetown and most of the runners stayed at this hotel. The rooms were quiet comfortable. The restaurant was quiet nice and served variety of delicious food. The Hotel Lobby is pretty impressive. Overall a nice stay....

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that had a great experince at our hotel and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Hotel, situated within walking distance of the World famous Victoria and Alfred Water Front. Remember u will be paying extra for Location. Hotel rooms pretty small, cupboards tiny, room interior average, Toilet area can be a squeeze, shower very very small.Breakfast good.
Request for a room with a view.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdrajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,347 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,020 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfron...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £117 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing