We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each time I stay, it unfortunately gets a little worse...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Each time I stay, it unfortunately gets a little worse...”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've stayed here a number of times on business over the last few months, although generally a good hotel, the standard of service the hotel provides seems to be getting lower. The check in process at the reception painfully slow and that is for me, someone they saw a few weeks ago that knows the process! I'd not read the recent reviews on here, but having done so I have to agree with a number of them.

The hotel IS overpriced for the standard of service, the facilities and the size/quality of the rooms. If I were paying myself I'd feel extremely disappointed.

There ARE hairs to be found in food, this I experienced more than once.

The reception are yet to get my bill correct at the end of what is now 4 individual bookings.

The general attention to detail is the main issue. Beds not being made, food/drinks orders forgotten by staff, cleanliness issues and a general feeling that every guest is just another number.

That the person responding on here to each comment uses the same text or variation of it shows that attention to detail to me.

In all, it is a good hotel, it just lacks that management to ensure that all staff are working their very best to ensure they get the best job done.

I will be requesting my company look at other options for my next booking.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.


Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    784
    201
    63
    41
See reviews for
477
509
55
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

awesome hotel really!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!great

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnieweknuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

we stayed at the waterfront last week and can say that it met all our expectations. Staff friendly rooms very clean although on the small side. Suttle to the va centre runs every 30 mins and is always on time. Breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel outside the uk. Small minus point if you are looking to spend a lot of time round the pool its small not many beds but all under shade and the pool is freezeing that aside great hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I, together with our friend stayed at the Southern Sun Waterfront hotel for four nights at the final end of our trip. The hotel was excellent. We had lovely rooms on the 14th floor with a view to the Table Mountains. The breakfast provided was a sumptous buffet, more than enough excellent food to satisfy anyone's taste. Staff was excellent and always helpful. Since it was unusually hot in Cape Town, we also much appreciated the swimming pool. I was able to get internet connection for a relatively small price. Was also provided with a converter plug free of charge. One of the most appreciated aspect was the free shuttle service to and from the Victoria Alfred Waterfront. We were able to have dinners there each night, enjoy the music and also the numerous shops.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view from the 14th floor. Also the top floors might be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver and also exceed on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel, although "looking" like a 5-star hotel, treats its guest more like a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel "nickel and dimes"; charges for internet access, charges for the shuttle to the Waterfront unless you have a sticker on your registration form, charges a R200 deposit for the use of an adapter. I had hair in my breakfast, and when I brought this to the attention of the staff, they said it wasn't hair, it was "mushroom hair". I happen to know what human hair looks like. I have other stories. In short, I checked out earlier than expected for another hotel that is cheaper and doesn't charge for internet access. At the minimum, there is nothing special about this hotel and service, and was overall very disappointing.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cincykid77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

top hotel nice rooms good location staff excellent very clean got it all stayed for honeymoon would recomend

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munstermanTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver and also exceed on your expectations during your honeymoon, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Over the past six years we have enjoyed four trips to Cape Town and stayed at the Southern Sun each time! Our first trip made us want to come back, and subsequent visits haven't changed that view!

Ideally located within a short walk of each of the waterfront and downtown, and with super easy access to the freeways out of town makes it a tough call to generate better value for money.

Food in the hotel restaurant is consistently good and stands up very well against the best of the competition at the waterfront, while the restaurant staff are super-friendly, attentive & efficient.

Rooms are well equipped and more than sufficient for all needs. Best are on the upper-floors facing the waterfront in our opinion.

No hesitations at all in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper-floor; waterfront facing are best for views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EOS-User
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

As a regular guest I am delighted that we were able to deliver and also exceed on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back as our regular guest to the Southern Sun Waterfront.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing