We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service and Value”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel on a business trip for 2 days and found the service and facilities were of top quality. The reception service was very friendly, they even had a welcoming drink and snacks while I waited to check in.
The room was spotless and the breakfeast was good as can be expected.
I also had a car and used their parking facilities and found it easy to park the little Hyandai. They have security guards in the parking area as well and they were also very friendly which adds a nice touch.
The hotel is right in the heart of Cape Town so location was perfect for getting to the Waterfront and the surrounding area.
I would most certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback regarding our friendly reception and security is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    778
    195
    61
    39
See reviews for
464
504
53
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel was in a very good location for getting to various places within the city. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and made our stay enjoyable. We left for a few nights and returned to the hotel, but they stored some luggage for us that we couldn't fit into the car we'd hired. They also allowed us to check in 4 hours early and check out 3 hours later than the stated time. The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic quality, and the buffet is by far some of the best quality food we had ever experienced, and at such a good price too. I would definitely recommend a visit to the restaurant if you are in the area! The staff were great too, and always made a fuss of our little boy..which he loved. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback of the staff and our food and beverage facilities is an encouragement for all the staff. I will ensure to pass your kind remarks onto them.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our flight was delayed to Mauritius because of a cyclone that hit the island. So they put us in this hotel and I was in awe of the welcome we received.

Although there was a lot of people that were checking in, it was handled in a very quick and professional manner. We were taken to our rooms and it was very clean, accomodating, nice linen and bathrooms were sufficient.

The buffet dinner was outstanding and couldn't fault a thing. From the waiters to the staff at reception were always friendly.

A huge bonus is the hotel's location, only 15min from waterfront.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor, nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritzaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations Your positive feedback regarding our front desk and dinner restaurant is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we can welcome you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our Virgin flight was delayed so we were put up in the Southern Sun Waterfront for a night. We were a little jaded by the time we arrived at midnight, however, we were met upon arrival with fruit drinks, then dealt with efficiently at reception while we were all (all ~200 of us!) checked-in. The reception staff were very competent and very helpful, assisting those guests who needed just a little extra help.

The room was comfortable, all the necessary home comforts to make it a very pleasant stay.

The meals that we had, breakfast and lunch, were excellent. The range and quality of food of particular note.

I would just reemphasise the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff - excellent.

I would certainly say in the Southern Sun Waterfront again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rm5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations, and your positive feedback particularly related to the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Hotel firstly misrepresents by the fact of its name .. Waterfront .. it is not Waterfront at all .. a courtesy bus takes you there for which you pay the same as a local taxi, secondly there is an attitude of really not caring at all on reception, this was experienced several times, the rooms were awful value and they are both dark and very very small. For the equivalent of the 185 Euros that we paid for the one night, there are a host of alternatives giving far greater value.. I have to say though that the bar staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robincmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A good position as only a 15 mins easy walk to the waterfront. No need to do this though as the hotel run a shuttle bus every half hour from breakfast time to 11.30pm at night - it takes you to the car park behind the main shops and restaurants. Taxis could be summoned very quickly too and were cheap compared to Uk - for example £12 to get back from Camps bay; about the same to Table mountain cable car station.
The hotel welcomed us with a drink as soon as we arrived and our luggage was carried to a trolley while we booked in. We were escorted to our room and shown all the facilities by the porter....very good service and welcome after a long journey.
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and well appointed; the bed was comfy with good quality bedding,pillows and towells. Plenty of toiletries were provided. Good sound proofing and we slept well even though a dual carriageway was nearby.
The breakfasts were excellent - lovely food choices; hot,cold and continental ; chef cooking eggs to individual request - all served beautifully and frequently topped up by staff.
We found all of the staff to be cheerful, friendly, attentive and very polite.
The hotel has a pleasant pool area at the back of the hotel and they have made the most of this - quite tranquil and nice for a rest! - some tree shading and decking with sun loungers/towells provided; there were also plenty of tables and chairs in this area for those prefering to sit. Bar staff circulated to serve drinks and light luches here.
The hotel also left complimentary champagne and chocolates in our room for us on my birthday!! A lovely surprise...
Tips if new to Cape town - go on the city bus tours which are hop on hop off - they do go round all the sights so it is worth a tour round to get your bearings; as soon as you get a clear wind free day go up Table mountain early morning! Sometimes the day starts clear and still and then wind gets up ("the Cape Doctor") which means the cable car is stopped for safety reasons. We also recommend a trip on the schooner "The spirit of Victoria " goes from the harbour around the bay; it turned out to be very exhilarating as the wind got up while we were out ! The champagne blew out of the glasses and we got wet but it was memorable!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Cape Town. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff and will ensure to pass on your kind remarks.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Taking our two teenage sons for a night in Cape Town we wanted to be convenient to the Waterfront, ideally so we could walk there safely. After checking with our Cape Town friends this hotel got the thumbs up. It is easily reached by car from the airport or roads along the Western Cape. TIP - coming along the N1/N2 follow signs to Waterfront. Near it you come round a corner and see the large cream hotel on the left. Take it easy as the entrance comes up quickly on the left.
We had rooms with views towards the mountain and also of the amazing road to nowhere (the dual carriageway which stops in mid-air) - a popular film location. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Not massive, more the size we would expect in a London hotel, not an American one.
Check-in was friendly and efficient as was check-out. The hotel has an underground car park so your car will not bake in the sun, though the porter seemed to suggest they did not offer a parking service. He said he might be able to get someone to park the car, but I did it so never fully tested the option. Didn't take breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment.
Bar at back is quiet but has a nice seating area outside by some water which is sheltered and suitable for smokers and non-.
Walking to the Waterfront was easy and felt safe - a pedestrian bridge and a traffic light crossing. Probably in a couple of minutes, 200m or so, you enter the security of the Waterfront area. Overall it's probably 15 mins walk to the main area of restaurants and shops.
Sons wanted to go to a nearby bar that evening (not in Waterfront) and considered walking but concierge advised a taxi. No problems going there by taxi and there were taxis waiting outside later for the trip home.
TIP for a meal in Waterfront - Belthazar is good. Boasts the largest wine menue b the glass in Africa/ the World. Bit intimidating wine list, but the food's good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall experience in our friendly city of Cape Town.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing