We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Communication problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Communication problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

The location of the hotel is fine. The breakfast is good considering the long open buffet and rich beverages list. Rooms were spacious though not all of them facing a nice view, in general room was ok and comfortable. Although it is a bit old faced hotel, the room was clean. The main problem was about the communication problem of the hotel staff. Hardly we could be able to explain our question to the staff working in the reception. Those personnel have to be smiling and helpful. In contrast no one had welcomed us in the reception. Even sometimes they were being rude. This is a big handicap of the hotel. Considering the fact we paid money to stay there, it is quite normal for us to expect only a "smile". Particularly this staff problem was related to the reception. Therefore i am not sure whether we will pick up this hotel on our next visit to beautiful Cape Town.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    757
    188
    56
    37
See reviews for
450
490
53
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Great staff who were very friendly and always made time to chat about how things were going and ask about my son who was playing in the SA Chess Championships. They had a fun holiday programme for the kids which my son rushed to when he had time. Food was good, especially breakfast. Best croissants in SA. Freshly baked before your eyes. Air con was a bit noisy on faster fan speed and probably needs a service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback on our friendly staff is an encouragement for all ay the hotel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I visited on a busy long weekend a week before Christmas and it is clear this is a well run hotel.
At breakfast the staff made you feel welcome, cared for even though it was busy. everyone smiled and noticed you. We used the shuttle to the Waterfront which helped us avoid fighting for parking.
good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kardu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were in southersun for 5 nights as we were on our honeymoon, the location is ideal for people who want to do as many activities like visitng , waterfront which is 5 min bu shuttle , camps bay 10-15 min / table mountain etc.

The staff at Southersun was Extrememly nice and they made our stay memorable, since we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded to the executive room. They had great breakfast but was the same all 5 days including the sheff special it was great and we still enjoyed all 5 days but should have added a few more variety.

The hotel feel is nice and comfortable. The negatives of the hotel were. the charged for wifii , their standard rooms we saw and stayed for one night were not comfortable as were very small and the interiors not at par with lobby and public area and defi not for honeymoon they need to revamp the standard room for sure. So incase any one who is on thier honeymoon is planning to choose the hotel please only choose the executive room otherwise not a good hotel purely on the basis of room.

Having said that the stay is also made memorable by the people, the hospitality in the hotel is outstanding we actually had a great great time as the staff were very alert , kind and very friendly and were always there to help with great advice on cape town when to visit certain places etc.. In any place apart from the hotel being good or bad the people can make a difference this was exactly the same for us so our honeymoon was even more special and we left with making great friends.

Thanks a lot : Rameez , Gerad , Abdul , Jaconell , Claus , Florence , Simon for the lovey stay and great memories cheers :-)

Room Tip: executive rooms standard room avg not comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantbajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

It was a pleasure to meet up with you at the hotel during your honeymoon and appreciate your kind comments on your overall positive experience at our hotel .

Our hotel will be undergoing extensive room renovations in the new year and we are also enhancing our wi-fi access throughout the hotel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

I travel to Cape Town often both on business and pleasure. And everytime i have been there over the years the service i receive is well beyond my expectations of the hotel. Even though some might say it is not close to the waterfront. If you look at it on a different view its close to the waterfront and also away from the hectic hustle and bustle that you would fine at the waterfront during peak times. Thus give you peace and quiet and also the convenience of the hustle and bustle and accessibility to the waterfront and the major highways. No matter business or pleasure Southern Sun Waterfront is the perfect place to either start your business day or end your leisure trip. I would recommend to this place to all. They truely live up to the Southern Sun Brand and values.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

We appreciate your valued loyalty and support and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Spent the rest of our holiday here and was disappointed with hotel swimming pool. There is no smoke free area around the pool and having a week chest found this difficult and not enjoyable to be surrounded by smokers. Also the pool was small in comparison to the size of hotel. It was also not suitable to laze by the pool as was surrounded by trees so not very much sun at all. The nearest beach being a taxi ride away. Rooms although clean we're dark and depressing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
December 28,2012


Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to a"smoke free "area on the pool deck and we have already institued an area on the upper level to the right hand side of the pool for this purpose.

All of the 546 hotel rooms will be totally refurbished during the course of 2013, starting in April and we have instructed our interior designers to take the darkness of some of our rooms into account during this process.

Once again , thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

About a month ago, I received a survey from this hotel. In it, I stated two issues that needed resolution and that I would like a reply. To date, no one has. The first issue was one of security. I know from another traveler to be careful what you leave in your room at the hotels in South Africa. I purposly noted the position of the zippers on my luggage. Not only were these moved but the contents were gone through and I notified hotel security who said he would get to the bottom of this a get back to me. (Didn't happen!) Also, we had a room where the air conditioner was making quite a racket. We were told there more no more rooms and there was nothing they could do. At 2 am it was far worse so that neither of us could sleep. At this time, they moved us. I asked for our room cost to be covered for this night.(Didn't happen either) It is interesting to note that Klaus Ahlers, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, always responds to issues on Trip Advisor but does not respond to surveys sent out by his own company. This is a nice hotel but, be careful to watch your things and don't expect them to correct anything. This is a two star hotel trying (but failing) to be a three star.

Room Tip: Listen to the air conditioner in the room. If it is noisy, get another room quickly. The air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

We have also checked our records reagrding the security incident and regrettably our investigation did not indicate any concrete evidence of interference. We would however like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for staying with us and hope that we would be able to be of service to you in the future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing