We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Will return!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel to stay in if you do not want to have the hussle and bustle of the V&A Waterfront visitors. It is not situated at the waterfront but rather a 5 minute drive from the Waterfront. The hotel does have a shuttle service but please do not be fooled as this is not a complimentary service. There is a small service charge. Although this hotel is in a busy street the noise levels of the traffic are droned out once you are in your room. You may have a sea facing room or one that overlooks the mountain. This is was my second stay at this hotel and the friendly reception staff were welcoming and in true Cape Town hospitality, they were willing to assist. My room was facing the mountain. The room is spacious and clean. Tea and coffee facilities with cookies are provided complimentary - that's a treat when you wake up in the morning before breakfast. Talking about breakfast - what a feast! A variety to choose from and if you hungry during the day, that's really your own fault. I will definetly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are either sea facing or mountain facing. Either way, you can't lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirindaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am pleased to to hear that as a return guest you had an ejoyable stay with us.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    778
    195
    61
    39
See reviews for
464
504
53
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, stayed for 3 nights.

Reception, was easy to check in, helpful staff and friendly.

The room was Modern, clean, the bed was comfortable. And, TV had a good choice of channels.

All in all a great stay, the and price was very good

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easy1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we will share your positive remarks amongst all the staff at the hotel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Had a fab time in africa until we got to this hotel. We had pre-booked and paid for our room at southern sun the cullinan but weren't allowed our room as a flight was delayed and they gave our room to the people already there until 9 pm. Too late for us to check in after a full day travelling especially as the room would need to be cleaned. We waited at least half an hour before the manager met us to tell us this and no offer of a complimentary drink that all other guests were getting. When we finally heard what had happened we were disappointed. An offer to stay around the corner at southern sun waterfront was made. Apparently it was supposed to be the same level of quality as our hotel that had been pre-booked and paid for but it wasn't. Not as nice a foyer, restaurant, facilities etc... Felt ripped off. Sun cullinan gave us a drink and buffet dinner but the hotel we went to the room was not cleaned properly, staff weren't helpful and at times rude, beds were missing sheets and towels and room was tiny and dated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that you would be able to give us another opportunity in the future to allow you to experience a truely memorable Southern Sun Waterfront stay for which we have been renowned for over the years.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The first thing to know about the southern sun waterfront hotel is that it isn't on the waterfront. It's a (free) shuttle bus ride away, but if it's views of the water that you want then this isn't the hotel for you (views of the highway - easy)

We were there over Christmas, landing Xmas day and staying for a couple of days and the hotel was insanely busy. Mountains of suitcases in the lobby, line for breakfast snaking through reception busy. Frazzled staff, children running riot, noise levels at 140db busy.

And yet the staff coped. The child seatbelt that we'd left on a plane was located, retrieved and delivered by the concierge. Breakfast was smooth. A room was found for early check in, parking was available and checkout was a breeze.

Sure the hotel is pretty generic, sure it could be anywhere in the world and yes the rooms aren't huge but the thing is, even tested to capacity this place worked and worked well. So if it's no drama you want then this is for you - but perhaps 'Southern Sun, roadside hotel' would be a more honest name

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Our hotel is situated at the entrance to the V&A Waterfront and a 5 minute shuttle drive to the centre of the Waterfront shopping area. Festive season is always a very busy period where there are large volumes of leisure guests staying with their families. Apart from being the largest hotel in the Tsogo Sun group, we are always a popular hotel choice especially during holiday season.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel near the waterfront , and we chose the Southern Sun waterfront! But , the hotel was rather far away from the waterfront. Apart from the location , everything else was magnificent. Great rooms, superb service and an awesome breakfast . The staff were very friendly and ready to help anytime, especial the concierge and the breakfast staff. I would definitely return. One suggestion would be to offer free shuttles to the waterfront, which would be very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreekesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
December 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time & trouble to advise us of your experience whilst staying with us at the Southern Sun Waterfront.

It was a great pleasure being of service to you and we are really pleased that we seem to have lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for your suggestion with regards to the complimentary shuttle, however, we have outsourced this service and they charge a nominal fee for the service.

Once again , thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The location of the hotel is fine. The breakfast is good considering the long open buffet and rich beverages list. Rooms were spacious though not all of them facing a nice view, in general room was ok and comfortable. Although it is a bit old faced hotel, the room was clean. The main problem was about the communication problem of the hotel staff. Hardly we could be able to explain our question to the staff working in the reception. Those personnel have to be smiling and helpful. In contrast no one had welcomed us in the reception. Even sometimes they were being rude. This is a big handicap of the hotel. Considering the fact we paid money to stay there, it is quite normal for us to expect only a "smile". Particularly this staff problem was related to the reception. Therefore i am not sure whether we will pick up this hotel on our next visit to beautiful Cape Town.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Great staff who were very friendly and always made time to chat about how things were going and ask about my son who was playing in the SA Chess Championships. They had a fun holiday programme for the kids which my son rushed to when he had time. Food was good, especially breakfast. Best croissants in SA. Freshly baked before your eyes. Air con was a bit noisy on faster fan speed and probably needs a service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to deliver on your expectations. Your positive feedback on our friendly staff is an encouragement for all ay the hotel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing