We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$898
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveller rating
994
911
235
75
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
911
235
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge deskbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripeasy accessbusiness hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong streetwaterfrontcticc
Filter
Updating list...
1,693 - 1,698 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel to stay in if you do not want to have the hussle and bustle of the V&A Waterfront visitors. It is not situated at the waterfront but rather a 5 minute drive from the Waterfront. The hotel does have a shuttle service but please do not be fooled as this is not a complimentary service. There is a small service charge. Although this hotel is in a busy street the noise levels of the traffic are droned out once you are in your room. You may have a sea facing room or one that overlooks the mountain. This is was my second stay at this hotel and the friendly reception staff were welcoming and in true Cape Town hospitality, they were willing to assist. My room was facing the mountain. The room is spacious and clean. Tea and coffee facilities with cookies are provided complimentary - that's a treat when you wake up in the morning before breakfast. Talking about breakfast - what a feast! A variety to choose from and if you hungry during the day, that's really your own fault. I will definetly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are either sea facing or mountain facing. Either way, you can't lose.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirindaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am pleased to to hear that as a return guest you had an ejoyable stay with us.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, stayed for 3 nights.

Reception, was easy to check in, helpful staff and friendly.

The room was Modern, clean, the bed was comfortable. And, TV had a good choice of channels.

All in all a great stay, the and price was very good

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easy1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we will share your positive remarks amongst all the staff at the hotel.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Had a fab time in africa until we got to this hotel. We had pre-booked and paid for our room at southern sun the cullinan but weren't allowed our room as a flight was delayed and they gave our room to the people already there until 9 pm. Too late for us to check in after a full day travelling especially as the room would need to be cleaned. We waited at least half an hour before the manager met us to tell us this and no offer of a complimentary drink that all other guests were getting. When we finally heard what had happened we were disappointed. An offer to stay around the corner at southern sun waterfront was made. Apparently it was supposed to be the same level of quality as our hotel that had been pre-booked and paid for but it wasn't. Not as nice a foyer, restaurant, facilities etc... Felt ripped off. Sun cullinan gave us a drink and buffet dinner but the hotel we went to the room was not cleaned properly, staff weren't helpful and at times rude, beds were missing sheets and towels and room was tiny and dated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that you would be able to give us another opportunity in the future to allow you to experience a truely memorable Southern Sun Waterfront stay for which we have been renowned for over the years.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The first thing to know about the southern sun waterfront hotel is that it isn't on the waterfront. It's a (free) shuttle bus ride away, but if it's views of the water that you want then this isn't the hotel for you (views of the highway - easy)

We were there over Christmas, landing Xmas day and staying for a couple of days and the hotel was insanely busy. Mountains of suitcases in the lobby, line for breakfast snaking through reception busy. Frazzled staff, children running riot, noise levels at 140db busy.

And yet the staff coped. The child seatbelt that we'd left on a plane was located, retrieved and delivered by the concierge. Breakfast was smooth. A room was found for early check in, parking was available and checkout was a breeze.

Sure the hotel is pretty generic, sure it could be anywhere in the world and yes the rooms aren't huge but the thing is, even tested to capacity this place worked and worked well. So if it's no drama you want then this is for you - but perhaps 'Southern Sun, roadside hotel' would be a more honest name

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience. Our hotel is situated at the entrance to the V&A Waterfront and a 5 minute shuttle drive to the centre of the Waterfront shopping area. Festive season is always a very busy period where there are large volumes of leisure guests staying with their families. Apart from being the largest hotel in the Tsogo Sun group, we are always a popular hotel choice especially during holiday season.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel near the waterfront , and we chose the Southern Sun waterfront! But , the hotel was rather far away from the waterfront. Apart from the location , everything else was magnificent. Great rooms, superb service and an awesome breakfast . The staff were very friendly and ready to help anytime, especial the concierge and the breakfast staff. I would definitely return. One suggestion would be to offer free shuttles to the waterfront, which would be very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreekesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

December 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time & trouble to advise us of your experience whilst staying with us at the Southern Sun Waterfront.

It was a great pleasure being of service to you and we are really pleased that we seem to have lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for your suggestion with regards to the complimentary shuttle, however, we have outsourced this service and they charge a nominal fee for the service.

Once again , thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews