We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Sun Waterfront, Cape Town”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Southern Sun Waterfront, Cape Town”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

beautiful, elegant hotel. newly renovated, rooms are really lovely and the most comfortable bed and pillows. eating areas are well laid out and upmarket. central, easy access. would highly recommend. excellent service and very friendly staff

Room Tip: ask for upper floors as these have been newly renovated - 14 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback following your recent stay with us.

All your comments will be shared with all of our team members for their information and motivation

warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    785
    201
    63
    41
See reviews for
478
509
55
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Typical business hotel. Clean and very courteous service. Good thing now is that the hotel offers 500mb wifi access daily. the room rates though, it will be great if this is unlimited.

Breakfast is excellent, hotel close to the Waterfront with a paid shuttle bus and a fair walking distance to the City centre. If you have business at the Convention centre it is an excellent stay as it it is a comfortable 3 minute walk.

Concierge is well informed and always willing to help. My only concern is the carpet in the rooms. I think tiles will be better and cleaner. Overall, it is always nice to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We truly appreciate your comments as they will assist us as we strive for service excellence

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The service was very good, with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel itself was clean and modern but overall a pretty standard business hotel. Room service was very nice. My corner room has a partial view of table mountain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your rent stay with us

We take all guest comments very seriously and I can assure you that we truly appreciate you taking the time and trouble to let us know how you found your experience at our hotel

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Some services must be check befeore the guest enter to the bedroom!!!
The Hotel location is very goog. About the BUs which takes the guestes to water front the modality of payment must be clear in the reception. Becou a had to pay 20 rand go and 20 rands bck, but some of the people didnt pay., I had to ask the drice and he said that I must pay, even some guests asked me why you have to pay??? I dind undertand, could you please explain me well when do I have or not to mpay!!! I like most the breakfast and least way how i was treat for my check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Your comments have been noted.

With regards to your query regarding the shuttle service to the Waterfront is concerned, I would like to advise that certain rate categories have this et ice included , whilst others are charged on request.

We would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great welcoming at arrival and check in as well as general staff service experience. The dining experience was lovely. Had a lovely view of the city. Liked that the hotel provides parking at no cost. My family enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive feedback

We are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed our facilities and we hope to welcome you back soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My first trip in Cape town are staying this Hotel . Located just 10 minutes walking to V&A Waterfront and in Cape town CBD. The Reception staff work very professional and quick response with every question I have asked .
Breakfasts located same floor with Lobby and Reception , full of meals in breakfasts areal. Starting from various and good choices of fruit , bacon & sausage , omelette with you mix it and we cooked it for you.

Room are clean , comfort and feel like you are at home because everything design with heart . Just a few comments from me to improve the Hotel standards :
1. Internet WiFi need more GB and simple to login
2. Fitness Center need more equipment
3. A plug in Toilet , for a hairdryer as example

Everything are perfect and will come to Cape town to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your positive and constructive comments following your tecentbstay with us

All your feedback will be discussed with the relevant people concerned, as we continuously strive to improve on all of our service levels .

Once again thank you and we look forwarded to welcoming you back again soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. The rooms are clean and quiet.The shuttle to the waterfront was handy,but a little busy when the shops are closing, seems everyone wanted to get back to the hotel at the same time. Breakfast buffet had many choices something for everyone. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and we look forward to welcoming you back to he Southern Sun Waterfront in the not too distant future

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,645 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing