We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good well located hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of our South Africa tour and were pleased with the hotel overall. It is well located, ten minutes walk from the city and much the same from the waterfront. The shuttle service to the waterfront is excellent t though and very frequent.

The room was comfortable if a little small. It had a good bathroom with a bath and shower and there was a storage drawer under the bed which we discovered rather too late! It would have been useful as the wardrobe is tiny!

We only had breakfast at the hotel and there was a very good buffet, but space around it was very limited and there was a bit of a scrum at times. There was a queue for eggs too.

The pool was small and extremely cold. It was a shame it was situated under the trees as there was very little sun on it. The beds around the pool were comfortable with good quality towels so it would have been nice if there had been more sun in the area.

Everyone who served us was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear saraWiltshire,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

we have taken note of your comments and we will ensure that due consideration is given to your suggestions

it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    784
    201
    63
    41
See reviews for
477
509
55
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice rooms - we got a lovely refurbished one on the 10th floor. Great views and a nice pool area.

Great breakfast selection and also great service.

Barman Riaz was extremely nice and took the time every night we were there to have conversations with myself and my friend - as well as the other guests.

USeful shuttle buses to the V&A waterfront every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Sarah G,

Thank you so much for your feedback

We will ensure that your comments are passed on to Riaz, as I know that he will appreciate this

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in March on a business trip. Within walking distance to CTICC and 5 minute drive to V & A Waterfront. Rooms are clean and spacious. Buffet breakfast menu has everything and in-room dining is exceptional. The service from check-in to restaurant dining to room service is on par with a 5 star hotel. Staff are super obliging. Will return to this hotel anytime

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear dbnsa,

We truly appreciate your comments following your recent stay with us.

All of your feedback will be shared with our team members at our next monthly meeting and we look forward to seeing you back real soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Was looking to get some rest to be fit for work at half day. Unfortunately people starts to drill in the room next to mine at 08:30 a.m. I called to complain and the message was this works was schedule and they cannot stop. Why put guest in a room when there will be schedule heavy work next door.????

Room Tip: Please make sure you ask the hotel if there is no work schedule...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Ashley J,

Thank you for your feedback.

In addition to the correspondence from my Guest Relations Manager , I would also like to apologise for the disturbance that you experienced whilst trying to sleep. The incident is truly unfortunate and we will ensure that you are allocated a quieter room on your next visit

Once again please accept our apologies.

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Convienient to Waterfront easy access from Airport. Excellent service in all areas of the Hotel. Room modern and comfortable.
Breakfast excellent.
Parking in building always available.
Swimming pool welcome and well maintained




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Graham W,

Thank you for your feedback.

We really look forward to receiving our guest comments as this allows us to constantly work at improving our service levels.

Once again , many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The renovations at this hotel have vastly improved the experience since I last stayed here. My room was clearly upgraded to a suite as I am a frequent guest of the hotel chain. The breakfast staff were very accommodating to us. My husband and I were there for separate business trips and converged at the same hotel.

The customer services manager Florence went out of her way to make our stay as seamless and trouble free as possible.

The overall experience was positive and we will stay at this hotel for our personal holidays as well.

Despite the fact that the hotel was at capacity, we did not feel like the occupants were on top of each other and breakfast was fine.

I would only like to recommend that the internet service provider be changed or improved as we were constantly re-connecting or having a slow connection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear SZavahir,

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to post your comments following your recent stay with us

I can assure you that we truly value your feedback as we continuously strive for service excellence.

Our refurbishment programme in our rooms have really received rave reports , and we are pleased that you enjoyed the overall experience

Once again , many thanks and we hope to see you soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Southern Sun Waterfront is very well located close to shops, markets and the Waterfront. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The hotel itself is always clean and well presented, rooms cleaned daily, wake up call always on time, bar are and pool always clean. I ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel and I can't rate it any less than 10/10! Everything from start to finish in this hotel (except the wifi) was great and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank StephenCranley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear StephenCranley,

Thank you so very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that we value your comments and we will ensure that they are passed on to our team members accordingly

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing