We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and proactive friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was in Capetown to speak in an International EQ Conference and the location of the hotel was excellent as it was just about a 5-10 mins pleasant walking distance to the Convention Center (venue of the conference).

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and I was indeed impressed with the Front Office Manager, Ignatious Mambinge. He was always looking for ways to make our first visit to Capetown memorable. I have also noticed how he takes time to interact with his guests during the busy period and has been a very hands on person I must say. Glad to have met him and the hotel certainly have a "gem" in him!

The breakfast buffet selection were really good and had a good spread / mix. The shuttle service and ride to the Waterfront was a big bonus in terms of convenience and frequency.

Overall great experience and will certainly be back there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLTrailBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear KL TrailBlazer,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and especially the services from our Front Office Manager , in particular.

It is always pleasing to receive comments such as yours and we will make sure that Ignatious is advised accordingly

Once again , many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went on a trip to Cape Town and choose this hotel, it was a long journey and were delighted with warm welcome by hotel staff. we were in executive suit on floor 10 had a beautiful view table mountain. room quality and cleanliness is exceptional. however found less number of electric socket to charge cell phone and laptop. I would recommend people to carry the conversable charger socket pin for all US / UK based adaptors.

Breakfast was good, too many variety everyday... we stayed 3 days and enjoyed our stay. its a MUST try !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Ankit S

Thank you for your valuable feedback

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our services to your satisfaction.

This certainly is the aim of all of our training programs and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here at the end of our South Africa tour and were pleased with the hotel overall. It is well located, ten minutes walk from the city and much the same from the waterfront. The shuttle service to the waterfront is excellent t though and very frequent.

The room was comfortable if a little small. It had a good bathroom with a bath and shower and there was a storage drawer under the bed which we discovered rather too late! It would have been useful as the wardrobe is tiny!

We only had breakfast at the hotel and there was a very good buffet, but space around it was very limited and there was a bit of a scrum at times. There was a queue for eggs too.

The pool was small and extremely cold. It was a shame it was situated under the trees as there was very little sun on it. The beds around the pool were comfortable with good quality towels so it would have been nice if there had been more sun in the area.

Everyone who served us was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank saraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear saraWiltshire,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

we have taken note of your comments and we will ensure that due consideration is given to your suggestions

it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice rooms - we got a lovely refurbished one on the 10th floor. Great views and a nice pool area.

Great breakfast selection and also great service.

Barman Riaz was extremely nice and took the time every night we were there to have conversations with myself and my friend - as well as the other guests.

USeful shuttle buses to the V&A waterfront every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sarah G,

Thank you so much for your feedback

We will ensure that your comments are passed on to Riaz, as I know that he will appreciate this

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in March on a business trip. Within walking distance to CTICC and 5 minute drive to V & A Waterfront. Rooms are clean and spacious. Buffet breakfast menu has everything and in-room dining is exceptional. The service from check-in to restaurant dining to room service is on par with a 5 star hotel. Staff are super obliging. Will return to this hotel anytime

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear dbnsa,

We truly appreciate your comments following your recent stay with us.

All of your feedback will be shared with our team members at our next monthly meeting and we look forward to seeing you back real soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Was looking to get some rest to be fit for work at half day. Unfortunately people starts to drill in the room next to mine at 08:30 a.m. I called to complain and the message was this works was schedule and they cannot stop. Why put guest in a room when there will be schedule heavy work next door.????

Room Tip: Please make sure you ask the hotel if there is no work schedule...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ashley J,

Thank you for your feedback.

In addition to the correspondence from my Guest Relations Manager , I would also like to apologise for the disturbance that you experienced whilst trying to sleep. The incident is truly unfortunate and we will ensure that you are allocated a quieter room on your next visit

Once again please accept our apologies.

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Convienient to Waterfront easy access from Airport. Excellent service in all areas of the Hotel. Room modern and comfortable.
Breakfast excellent.
Parking in building always available.
Swimming pool welcome and well maintained




  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Graham W,

Thank you for your feedback.

We really look forward to receiving our guest comments as this allows us to constantly work at improving our service levels.

Once again , many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,258 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
945 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £131 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing