We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What can I say? The service was beyond excellency & wish could have stayed longer. The case of being a visitor and never wanting to leave. The best money can buy services and surely coming back with my family.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Samuel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Samuel N

We truly appreciate hour time in completing and posting your comments on Tripadvisor - thank you

Your feedback will be discussed at our weekly management meeting as we strive to maintain our sevice levels and our Tripadvisor ranking

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel reception staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms have been uograded and are looking superb. The wifi connection is great and its free (limited to 500MB per night). Hotel facilities are great. Try it

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nkibi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Nkibi N

Thank you so much for your feedback

We truly appreciate your comments as this enables us to constantly improve as we strive for service excellence

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel falls into my functional Hotels bracket. A lot of tour parties stay here for that reason. The staff are kind and courteous and will resolve any issues. Ask for a refurbished room and do not stay close to the refurbishment works as some times they do drilling late into the night. It is also nowhere near the Waterfront complex a 15 Minute walk to the start of the complex and defiantly a cab ride at night. The hotel does have a nice bar and the food is good from there and the Restaurant. If you get a good price for a room I would book it.

Room Tip: Go High and away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touringlampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear touringlampie,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience following your ecent stay with us.

We are pleased that you seem to have enjoyed our facilities and apologize for the fact that you had some noise into the evening from our refurbishment programme. This should certainly not be the ce as any " noisy " work is supposed to be contained between 09h00 - 16h00 ? We will definitely look into this - thank you for bringing this to our attention.

On a positive not , we are really pleased that you enjoyed our services and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found the staff to be friendly,helpful and most accommodating.
The establishment is well maintained. It has tastefully decorated rooms. Loved the pics of Cape Town.
The beds were very comfy.
Breakfast was fabulous too

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Noel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Noel V

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us

We are pleased that your " Mothers Day Treat " was enjoyed and that your found our services to your satisfaction

In our efforts to strive for service excellence, we place a high level of importance on the training of all of our team members, and it is pleasing to note that this seems to be paying off.

Once again , thank for taking the time to provide us with your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon


Warm regards


JEFF RISENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I loved the location of this hotel. For hop on hop off bus the stop was just behind the hotel, u coud walk from waterfront, there was many nice restaurants and bars. Also wine shop just across the entrance:)The rooms are nice and clean, and for brakefast u have wide selection and I just loved fresh strawberries..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Alybab,

Thank you for your feedback

We truly appreciate your comments resulting from your positive experience at our hotel

We will be sure to pass this on to all of our team members as we strive fir service excellence going forward

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Located close to the V&A Waterfront, a modern hotel with all the usual amenities. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed, buffet breakfast provides a hearty start to the day and there is a restaurant for this who don't want to venture to the waterfront for dinner. There is a bar with sports TV and pool area, which can get busy at times. Staff are friendly and helpful and the only only negative during this visit was a very large group of American seaman who were very noisy when they returned to the hotel in the early hours of the morning, shouting in the corridors and banging doors, which was a tad irritating, but hey ho the hotel was fine.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor and ask for a room with a view and try to avoid the front of the hotel where traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Bob N

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us

It is very pleasing to receive comments such as yours as we strive for constantly improving our service levels

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Got service excellence and value for money, will definitely recommend hotel to my friends and colleages. Will check in the same hotel when ever am in Cape on business or holiday with family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Zvinaiye Satoro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Zvinaiye Satoro S

Thank you so very much for your feedback

We are delighted that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that you have selected our hotel for all your future stays in Cape Town

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £125 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing