We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$898
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveller rating
994
911
235
75
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
911
235
75
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge deskbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripeasy accessbusiness hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong streetwaterfrontcticc
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

SSW is my "home away from home" , given that I am a frequent Business traveller. The experience I witness from the time I arrival till my departure is second to none. Entire staff are courteous, friendly and accommoding and this includes the Chefs who are always at your call to prepare someting different from the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank jeeva_chetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Jeeva_Chetty

Thank you for very much for your positive feedback , following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your comments , as this greatly assists us in constantly improving our service delivery

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The facilities were spotless. The cleaning staff works day and night and it shows. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Our tour got screwed up and the concierge was very helpful with ideas. The food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. Shuttle to water front was a wonderful help.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Punky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Punky70

We thank you very much for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us

All of your comments will be shared with our team members for their information and motivation

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a very nice place. Very close from Long Street and from a nice walk to table mountain lower car cable station. You can walk to waterfront also enjoying a friendly street. Has to be back this place as soon i can

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Giancarlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Giancarlo P

Thank you for your feedback

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Brilliant hotel, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food good especially breakfast and room service. Complimentary bus to waterfront.
Rooms spacious and comfy comfy bed.
would recommend as excellent for exploring Cape Town

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KRGR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear KRGR24,

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us.

We will certainly share your comments with all of our team members for their information and motivation.

We are truly blessed with great staff who really love what they do and I know that they will enjoy receiving your feedback

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've spent 5 days there as part of our honeymoon.
Initially they gave us the wrong room (when we arrived we had letters for another person) but after that they sent us a bottle of champagne and chocolates.
Rooms very small. Bathroom small (tiny tub and tiny shower). Empty minibar (?)
Great location, pretty close to the Water Front Mall and restaurants. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you there every half hour for almost all day.
If you're visiting a town and you only needs a place where to take a shower, sleep and have a nice breakfast, this is the place. Don't ask for more.

Room Tip: Close to a highway , if you stay at the lower floors , you'll hear it. In a windy day, windows make a slighty sound.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Roberto O

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experience at the Southern Sun Waterfront

It is unacceptable that you were initially given the incorrect room - however, we trust that we made up for this during your stay

The fridge in the standard rooms are not stocked , however, as the note in the fridge advises you , the fridge is stocked to your taste , on request. We only Pre-stock all mini bar fridges in our Suites and Executive rooms.

However, thank you for your comments and we trust you enjoyed the balance of your honeymoon in South Africa


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews