We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent location, just 5-6 minute walk from CTICC (Cape Town International Conference Centre).
Very fast and reliable internet access.
Juanita Minnie in Central Reservations allocated me a double aspect room. With views of harbour and city. Thank you Juanita.
Most comfortable rooms, and great options for breakfast.
Des, and his friends at the Bar are more than friendly. The bar is a good place to watch sport. I shall return.

Room Tip: End of corridor. 2 windows. Lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Good day, Malcolm B.

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
I'm glad we were able to accommodate you in one of our harbour facing rooms. We will pass on your thanks to Juanita, Des and the bar staff. I hope your sports team was able to get a favourable result while you stayed with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned home to Australia after 4 days at the Southern Sun Waterfront, in Cape Town. I would like to say a special thanks to all the wonderful staff at this hotel who made our stay very comfortable and memorable.In particular Rustim Mohamed, the hotel Concierge Manager who was just so helpful. Unfortunately for me I had a fall & sprained my ankle after a night out at a nearby eatery. The next day he personally accompanied me to the hospital for x-rays in the hotel private car. I can't thank him enough. I can't fault this hotel at all, is is clean & stylish, modern and breakfast was lovely. Well done to this hotel, keep up the good work. Lorraine
Gold Coast Australia

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachhousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Good day, Lorraine

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.
I trust your ankle is healing well after your fall, and it didn't affect your holiday too much.
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and the lovely remarks about the staff and especially Rustim have been forwarded on to them.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Spent four nights here at the end of a short tour of South Africa. The hotel is conveniently situated for the popular Waterfront District and operates shuttles to and from there at regular intervals. The hotel is also a moderate walk from Cape Town's central shopping and business district and is very close to the Convention Centre. Although a fairly standard tourist hotel, the Southern Sun is modern, the rooms are reasonably spacious and the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again if coming to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankthecat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Good day, frankthecat2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when next you are in Cape Town.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I m in this hotel for 2 days and i swear i cant sleep. It starts at 8.30 and you wake up with that so much bad noise. I called the reception and told them to help me,but they told me that they cant stop this work until 17.00 pm!!!I said i want to sleep but they said we cant help!but how come! The stuff never helped me even i told them to change my room. Its the first time here but will be the last i swear....! So bad Hospitality

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank tturk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you, tturk61 for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our apologies for the noise during your stay at our hotel, as we are currently in the midst of a refurbishment program which will be complete around mid December. We do try our best to keep noise levels to a minimum during the refrubishment work which occurs between 09:00 and 16:00 during the week, so as not to disrupt guests.

We would love to have you back in the future to experience the hotel again once the refurbishment has been completed.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Apart from a slight discrepancy on arrival, the stay was perfect. The serving staff were amazing especially at breakfast, they moved mountains to provide exactly what we wanted from English mustard to omelettes cooked to order and the greatest variety of cooked and fresh breakfast foods I have ever encountered. The rooms were clean and had a beautiful view. Outstanding all round.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, A L.

I'm glad we could sort out your booking discrepancy upon arrival without too much fuss.
We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast selection, and your feedback has been passed on to the departments mentioned.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days and noticed that there is lack of Menu in the morning.always the same food.Thwe atmosphere is sad. Well located. friendly staff. comfortable rooms. Very boring channel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baadshah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you, Baadshah K, for taking the time to complete your review of our hotel.
We thank you for your feedback, as feedback received from guest's experiences help us to improve our product.
We are pleased that you found the staff, rooms and location pleasing and have passed your comments on to all departments.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights & what a wonderful experience. First class service very clean spacious rooms, great room service & the breakfast was great. Convenient location helpful staff knowledge , Secured parking highly recommend
Brendan & Mary

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon J, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you Brendan B, for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of the hotel and its amenities.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us, and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Devon Justus
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,295 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £118 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing