We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #32 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2006

Just spent 14 days in Cape Town, wow what a place, we stayed at the Holiday Inn, Waterfront great location nice hotel. I would highly recommend Cape Town for a holiday, there is so much to see and the scenery is fantastic.

Table Top mountain is a must, as well as Kirstenbosch Botantical Gardens and many other places, infact we travelled around most days and we can say there isn't a place and isn't worth visiting, everything is a must.

We also went to Kenilworth Race Course on New Year's Day, even if you don't like horses it's worth the day out, we paid 11 rand each and got a private table which overlooked the finishing post, a tv so you can view the horses at the start and a balcony overlooking the paddock, and as much food as you can eat it was fab, even though we only had two winners.

The holiday was so fantastic we are going back again this year.

14  Thank BWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for 11 nights over Christmas and New Year 06 and i have to say it was excellent value for money. The rooms were typical Holiday Inn style , two large double beds and bathroom with seperate shower. These were kept very clean and bedding changed frequently , towels everyday.The restaurant was good value , but more pricey than the local 'eateries' which can only be expected. The service round the pool was excellent , the ladies are continually asking if they can help you and the light buffet served in the bar area is very very good value at 30RAND(£3), the food was very nice.The previous comments on this site about the pool are correct , but it must be remembered that this is a city centre hotel and a swimming pool at all is better than a lot of hotels.We were told it is due to be refurbished to try an gain extra space , but i would question if this is possible ??? The use of the flat roof over the bar for a sun deck is more realistic , but it would loose the sun early behind the high building.
The hotel is ideally located for all travelling in the Cape Town area , taxi's are always in the reception area and cheap , you can also take the hotel courtesy bus to the Waterfront RND20/person each way , or walk during daylight hours, we did walk back on New Years Day after the fireworks , but i would not risk it any other night unless i had too( might be we were over cautious as we did not actually see any trouble anywhere).
Cape Town is a wonderfull place at Christmas , food is possibly the best we have experienced anywhere in the world and cheap, the scenery is fantastic and the people are very helpful and friendly.
Go and enjoy , you will not regret it !!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank maggot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights really nice hotel rooms very spacious the pool area is quite small but fine really close to the waterfront around 10 mins walk there is a shuttle bus that leaves every half an hour. The food is very nice within the hotel I would have no problem in recommending this hotel. The castle beer is also fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
19113
Reviewed 15 November 2005

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the hotel, as the price is better than that of the V & A area. the rooms are good, clean, food is good, staff are great, parking is good, location is great, what else can I say Holiday inn's are a safe bet as they are good. I would recommend the hotel !

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
14
Reviewed 12 November 2005

12 of us stayed at the Holiday Inn this October for 10 days. We had a fantastic time. The Rooms are very Comfortable. The bar Staff and doormen in particular were exellent and couldn't do enough for us. The Shuttle bus is ideal and runs regularly, taxis are also very cheap. We took a taxi to Camps Bay and were around R60. The Waterfront is beautiful, lots of shops, but they are not cheap. The Pizzeria next to the hotel is excellent and very convenient. We will certainly be going back.

Stayed: October 2001
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2005

Good modern hotel, centrally located with free minibus transfer to the Waterfront. Rooms were well equipped and clean, great breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2005

Stayed: September 2005
9  Thank NativeTexan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,718 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,260 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,764 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
946 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £130 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing