We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“and the winner is........DERWENT HOUSE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2007

My partner and I stayed at Derwent House from okt 16 till okt 24 2007 and had a great time!
Thanks to the effort of Carol an Jo and their great staff this little jewel is the best of Capetown.
We've stayed at many different places the last few years when we visited Capetown, but never felt soo wellcome as at Derwent House.
We loved the warmth, the ambience and great service they provide. The breakfast everymorning was soo good that I gained some weight! and not to forget the home made cake, served with the free coffee and tea at the honesty bar.
The rooms and the lounge are very tastfully decorated and it feels like home, to sit there and enjoy a good glass of wine.
For us there is only one place to go in Capetown and that will be DERWENT HOUSE!
(Mr&Mr Smith from Amsterdam)

2  Thank HAnsBosgoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed here in September 2007 for 6 nights. Derwent House is simply the best place to stay in Cape Town. You can expect:

- great and friendly, helpful staff and owners
- assistance for everything: restaurants, attractions, tours, best
taxi companies, and many insider tips nowhere to be found in
travel guides
- excellent breakfast: nice buffet plus cooked-to-order dishes,
whatever you like
- stylish interior
- beautiful pool area
- comfortable rooms (flat screen tv, enviromental friendly
amenities, turn down service, weather report, chocolates etc.)
- safe neighbourhood, perfect location as your base to explore
Cape Town, walking distance to many good restaurants, close
to table mountain

So book and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MileageTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed at derwent for our first night on arrival to The Cape from the UK. They had asked when we booked if we needed a taxi and arranged this for us. The level of the accomodation is outstanding and got us off to an excellent start for our holiday. Staff were great, breakfast was just right and we could not of asked for more. The rooms were also of a high standard and we had room 9 which as well as a bedroom and bathroom it had a lounge/ kitchen area and a private balcony. To be recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LindaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I together with two golfing colleagues stayed the weekend at Derwent.
I have travelled extensively and would find this boutique hotel difficult to fault on any level.
Jo and Carol are excellent hosts and maintain the ability to remain in the background whilst still ensuring you feel relaxed and enjoy their excellent residence. Nothing is too much trouble and they are only too happy to offer ideas for pubs, restaurants, clubs etc.
Don't bother wasting time trawling other reviews on Tripadvisor - just book it!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank COB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in Derwent House hotel for a week at the end of September and were very impressed all round. He's a smoker so wanted some outside space which we didn't have with the room we'd first booked into. Carol (one of the owners) took us around the rooms that were going to be available from the afternoon so we could take our pick and we changed to a room with a lovely outside verandah and a balcony overlooking the pool.

As it's quite a new hotel the decor is lovely and fresh but ultimately it's the staff and owners that make this such a great place, nothing is too much hassle. You get great tips from Carol and Jo about what to do and where to eat, etc.

The facilities are superb too. There's the swimming pool of course, but also things like a great DVD library you can borrow from, access to a computer if you need one and the extras like port and mid-day snacks laid out each day along with a very reasonable honesty bar.

We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TyrrellRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Derwent Hotel for three nights at the end of a two week trip in Cape Town. The staff were wonderful, the owners, Carol & Jo are beyond compare in terms of their friendliness and willing ness to help. We were even invited to join them with friends one evening making us feel more like invited guests than paying ones.

Our room was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were excellent and filling and served in a beautiful dining area. The whole hotel is decorated with magnificent art and tasteful furnishings.

We cannot say enough about this place and would dearly like to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JSKAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I stayed at the Derwent House for about a week total this past September. The first four days I stayed in one of the standard rooms, and then the last two days I stayed in one of the upgraded rooms. I can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

The rooms are nicely decorated, super clean, with good bath product. My favorite part was probably the electric mattress pad that made the bed toasty on the colder Cape Town evenings. Super comfy. Also, both of the rooms I stayed in had a patio: the standard room had a small patio area near the pool, and the upgraded room had a huge deck upstairs.

Perhaps the biggest asset of the property, though, is the people who work there. Carol and Jo, the owners, are just fantastic, warm people. They were quick to offer advice on places to go, and solutions to travel dilemmas I posed, such as where to find a loaner cell phone and book a trip to Namibia. When I had to leave in the middle of the night to catch a flight, they could not have been more accomodating. Everyone else that works there is just super friendly, as well.

Although usually I prefer the anonymity of a large hotel (I'm not a B&B person), I just loved how comfortable and friendly Derwent House was. I didn't have my laptop on the trip -- they have a loaner that guests can use. I was feeling a little under the weather one evening and didn't feel like going out -- they have a library of DVDs that you can borrow. Thirsty? There's a well-stocked honor bar in the lobby. I was able to enjoy a few ciders one evening while sitting on the couch in front of the fire, checking my email on the laptop I borrowed.

Location-wise, I was pretty happy. There are a number of restaurants, cafes, bars, and groceries within walking distance. Kloof Street is only a few blocks away. And, if you are driving, it's pretty easy to get to the waterfront and major highways.

The only negatives I noticed were the size of the standard rooms (functional, but reminds me of a NY hotel room), and the lack of a phone in the rooms. For most travelers, the lack of a phone probably isn't a problem; my cell phone didn't work internationally, though. No matter, Carol and Jo quickly helped me locate a loaner. Otherwise, if you can swing it, spring for an upgraded room -- they are larger than the standard rooms.

All in all, I thought this hotel was fantastic, and contributed to a great stay in Cape Town. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yoslbraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
1 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £111 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing