We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it and will stay in Derwent House again in December 2007”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just loved it and will stay in Derwent House again in December 2007”
Reviewed 9 November 2007

My 3 Friends and I stayed in Derwent House Cape Town in September 2007. The hotel was recommended to us by Friends who found it last year and honestly it over came all my expectations. When we entered the hotel we were welcome by a beautiful living room area with a fire place, where we of course enjoyed welcome and our midnight drink. The rooms are spacious, with all homely details and small touches. In the middle of the backyard a romantic swimming pool is placed which actually reminded me on Bali. There is a open kitchen bar, you just take what you want and write it off a list. After 20 minutes of stay we already did fight over the last room for December, ….. I won. I will spend with my husband 4 days in this beautiful place over New Year.

You feel like home just better! If you go to Cape Town this is a place to stay!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank alexisandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Stayed here on honeymoon with my wife having seen it recommended on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The decor and ambiance in the hotel speak for themselves- fantastic. The attention to detail- impeccable. What made our stay extra special was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the hospitality of the owners Jo and Carol. Each night they recommended and organised the restaurant at which we ate. Each morning they recommended where we should go and what we should do- unforgettable. Thank you Derwent. E&L

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Temperamental air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Don't stay anywhere else in Cape Town, stay here. Everything has been said by others already on this site, but if you want to stay in a beautiful place, five minutes from excellent bars/restaurants in Kloof Street, round the corner from the cable car to to the top of table mountain, which is close enough to the city to be able to see everything easily but far enough away to be totally relaxing and where your hosts will do anything/everything for you (and you must trust their restaurant recommendations) - then stay here. Oh and the pool area is excellent.....and the complimentary port and sherry......and you don't get ripped-off on drinks......the wine selection is excellent...........and the cakes are complimentary (and excellent)......internet access is wireless and free......the design throughout the house and the rooms is beautiful and funky............and its run by the very finest exports from Sunderland and Manchester....................Tony Wilson said that "In the North-west it rains and it rains. And yet we managed to produce the industrial revolution, trade union movement, the Communist Manifesto and even the goddam computer. Down south, where the sun never sets, you took all our money and what did you produce? Chas and [--] Dave" - you can add Derwent House to his list of great north-west creations.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank robsheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

...they say location is everything, and whilst this hotel does have an excellent location I would still stay here if it was in the middle of nowhere. The hotel feels like a private home, the artwork and design are perfect, all the spaces conspire to ensure the guests feel at home yet are sociable too. My previous 2 visits to Cape Town have been at Cape Grace and whilst a superb hotel I now feel disappointed to have missed out on 2 extra stays at Derwent House.

The owners could not be more helpful or insightful, I was on a business trip, but it was still interesting (even if I was a little envious) to hear them advising their holiday guests of all the best places to visit.

The rooms are beautiful, the lounge is beautiful, the pool area is beautiful, there is an excellent attention to detail and ability from the owners to second guess all the guests needs.

I wish I could transport this hotel with me on all my business trips

  • Liked — Carol & Jo (and the beautiful rooms)
  • Disliked — I oved everything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank E_HDSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2007

My partner and I stayed at Derwent House from okt 16 till okt 24 2007 and had a great time!
Thanks to the effort of Carol an Jo and their great staff this little jewel is the best of Capetown.
We've stayed at many different places the last few years when we visited Capetown, but never felt soo wellcome as at Derwent House.
We loved the warmth, the ambience and great service they provide. The breakfast everymorning was soo good that I gained some weight! and not to forget the home made cake, served with the free coffee and tea at the honesty bar.
The rooms and the lounge are very tastfully decorated and it feels like home, to sit there and enjoy a good glass of wine.
For us there is only one place to go in Capetown and that will be DERWENT HOUSE!
(Mr&Mr Smith from Amsterdam)

Helpful?
2 Thank HAnsBosgoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed here in September 2007 for 6 nights. Derwent House is simply the best place to stay in Cape Town. You can expect:

- great and friendly, helpful staff and owners
- assistance for everything: restaurants, attractions, tours, best
taxi companies, and many insider tips nowhere to be found in
travel guides
- excellent breakfast: nice buffet plus cooked-to-order dishes,
whatever you like
- stylish interior
- beautiful pool area
- comfortable rooms (flat screen tv, enviromental friendly
amenities, turn down service, weather report, chocolates etc.)
- safe neighbourhood, perfect location as your base to explore
Cape Town, walking distance to many good restaurants, close
to table mountain

So book and enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — staff & location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MileageTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed at derwent for our first night on arrival to The Cape from the UK. They had asked when we booked if we needed a taxi and arranged this for us. The level of the accomodation is outstanding and got us off to an excellent start for our holiday. Staff were great, breakfast was just right and we could not of asked for more. The rooms were also of a high standard and we had room 9 which as well as a bedroom and bathroom it had a lounge/ kitchen area and a private balcony. To be recommended!!!

  • Liked — the high standard
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing