We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2008

How or where do I start? DERWENT HOUSE. Entering the reception area of the hotel is like entering a warm, exceptionally well decorated home. A comfortable and inviting room that just turned out to be the preview for the rest of the hotel. The overall decor of the public spaces and the rooms, beautiful as they are, is surpassed by the personalities of Jo and Carol, the owners. The Awards for Patience and Humour go to these women. My partner and I were impressed with their due diligence in reminding us before we left the UK to make timely arrangements for the rental of a car as the Christmas season is one of the busiest periods. They also made reservations for us to attend a show and dinner on New Year's Eve. Jo and Carol were helpful with the preparation of our daily itinerary and recommended many wonderful places to have dinner.
Breakfast was a great way to start the day as the young ladies who prepared and served our eggs always had a delightful way of making us feel less guilty about eating too much. It was also the time to chat with other guests who would tell us about their previous day and either recommend or discourage certain activities. We have decided that Derwent House is a definite 'Must Do Again.'

N&V

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Derwent House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2008

We stayed at this lovely place for christmas 2007 after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we were not disappointed. The owners Jo and Carol were so friendly. We loved the idea of the honesty bar,much better then a mini bar in room.
We were gutted to leave on boxing day but we went on to an equally nice place "Twentytwo ".
The whole stay at this place was a really relaxed experience and we would stay here again and recommend it to all our friends. We hope we get the opportunity to.
The guest house is only a short walk to main bar area and shops. All in all we had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DarboManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed 5 nights & we really didn't want to leave. We arrived after an evening flight from J'burg and as soon as we walked through the door, the ambience and welcome exuded calm and relaxation. The rooms and communal areas are stylishly decorated (they should take a commission for the number of ceramics that must be sold on the back of being displayed in the lounge!) The breakfasts are wonderful & a great selection, the honesty bar & complementary tea, coffee & cakes are a great excuse, if you needed one, to relax and unwind after a day's excursions. All the staff are helpful and discreet making it feel like it's your own home (I wish!)

Anyone staying should ask Carol & Jo for their recommendations on excursions, restaurants, wineries, driving distances, boutique shops, eco toiletries - anything really! They only recommend if they've tried them or have had feedback from other guests. They went out of their way to book a top restaurant for us at our next destination in Franschoek, even leaving a message with our next hotel (it was an amazing meal) to confirm we'd moved off the waiting list.

We couldn't fault a thing & will definitely stay here again. This has set the standard for boutique hotels for us now.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

The owners, Carol and Jo, were great hosts and really made our holiday in Cape Town special. This was especially true when it came to providing recommendations and organising days and nights out - it felt like we had our own personal concierge service. The staff were also very helpful with whatever requests we had.

The lounge area was very comfortable (with cosy log fire on a couple of the cooler nights) and perfect to relax with a drink from the honesty bar. The afternoon tea/coffee/cake was a nice touch, especially after a busy day out in Cape Town. The cooked breakfasts were just what was needed to set you up for a day’s sightseeing.

The pool area is very well designed and never got too busy - in fact most times I went there I had it to myself.

Highly recommended and we'll definitely stay there on our next visit to Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank ScotTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Derwent was a wonderful place to stay while in Cape Town. We took advice from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed at all. From my initial emails with Carol regarding my booking, I could tell that this is a place that really cares about their guests having a positive experience. Carol and Jo were helpful with everything, suggesting restaurants, booking rental cars, calling up taxis etc... I also must comment on the entire staff. Every single person that we met who works there was absolutely lovely. The staff seem happy to be working there and that says a great deal about a place.

The design of the house and the 10 rooms is wonderful. A great deal of thought was put into the layout and the open flow of the space. There is a great deal of relaxing and beautiful space and common areas for a hotel of this size, but it is also small enough to feel some privacy when needed. We stayed in both the larger and smaller rooms and although both were nice, not surprisingly we liked the extra space (and hot tub!) that came with the larger room.

The little extra touches were also appreciated very much...the laptop available for use, the common fridge where you take what you want and write it down on a sheet, the many beautiful and helpful books scattered all around the house. I think if I were designing a small hotel, it would look and flow very much like Derwent.

Finally, we loved the location very much. It was quiet and felt safe, but was near a number of great restaurants and shops.

Overall, Derwent House helped us to have one of the best vacations of our lives!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank admglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We would very highly recommend Derwent House for many different reasons: stylish and practical bedrooms, beautifully decorated lounge and pool area, delicious breakfasts and well stocked honestly bar (including much appreciated complimentary port, sherry and most importantly cake!).

Carol and Jo are friendly and very knowledgeable about the Cape Town area (with especially good restaurant recommendations). We spent five nights at Derwent Lodge over the Christmas period and on Christmas Day we even received a small Christmas gift!

Without a doubt, Derwent House will be our number one choice for future trips to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Backpack1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We decided in August to spend for the first time Christmas away, I gave my teenage daughter the job of choosing the hotel. From fellow travelers reviews she opted for Derwent House. From the moment we made the enquiry, the owners Carol & Jo, could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Everything about this hotel is wonderful, it's cool, chic but amazingly friendly and laid back. We loved our time in Cape Town and our comment in the guest book was:- if Cape Town is the cake, Derwent House is the icing and Carol & Jo are the cherry on the top!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JillT_6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £126 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing