We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent as ever”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our recent 4 nights was our second stay at this superb boutique hotel which lives up to its excellent rating. The staff could not be more welcoming or helpful making you feel totally looked after. We regularly have holidays in SA and always stay in Cape Town prior to our evening flight home to the UK and on each occasion Carol and her staff have offered a room to shower in and get ready immediately prior to our departure - above and beyond what one would normally expect and most appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and it's a lovely touch to always have access to a jug of iced minted water. The swimming pool and rest of the house is stylish and contemporary. We have always stayed in room 4 (and have booked again to do so). It does not have a balcony like some of the rooms overlooking the pool but is very spacious and does have a double aspect with windows so you can get a lovely through breeze without having to resort to the AC. It also has wonderful views of Table Mountain. In terms of location it is great - you can walk down to the city centre or it's an easy drive out to the rest of the peninsula.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
189
913
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our second stay at Derwent House - we had a magical stay the first time round and couldn't wait to return to the warm, caring environment of the guest house. And we were delighted that standards had not dropped an inch. The team were faultlessly attentive and did everything in their power to ensure we had a great stay. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed some long lazy afternoons by the pool (and thank you to Jocelyn for bring us chilled watermelon!!). The hotel also managed to score us a Friday night reservation at The Test Kitchen - the cherry on the cake of our week. Derwent House really is our favourite thing in a city bursting with gems!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Having travelled extensively since our children became self sufficient, well ish, 22 and 24, this is one of the best places we have stayed in ever and it really added to the South African experience! The staff can't do enough for you, arranging taxis, booking restaurants, providing books, maps, guides and sensible advise, you feel totally spoilt without the fuss and pomp. Breakfasts to die for, homely ambience, and only 3.5 miles from the marina. Room provided prior to a late flight time, all the staff know you by name and are fantastically personable without being in your face. Small pool and rest area but a really great base place for travel around Cape Town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Derwent House was an awesome hotel choice for our young family. The location was ideal, very close to shops and restaurants, in a beautiful neighborhood.

The breakfast experience was lovely and our daughters were delighted with the homemade pancakes served with fruit compote, simply divine.

Our experience was made absolutely amazing because of the hosts (and owners) Carol and Jo. They made us feel at home and well taken care of in all ways. Their professionalism and
warm hospitality will enhance any travelers' stay in Capetown.

This place is fabulous for all ages, for all families, with or without kids, just fantastic!
We will definitely come back (soon) and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerAlgeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Two of my friends and I statyed in the apartment of this hotel during the second week of January. The staff are super friendly, very attentive and will assist with any of your needs during your stay such as arranging for taxis, booking excursions and offering other recommendations. The complemenatry baked goodies were a welcome touch after a hard day of sightseeing in this beautiful city. Use of the hotel laptop also made for checking in with friends and family on-line easy. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance and you get a nice view of Table Mountain. The waterfront and the City core are also a short and inexpensive cab ride.

Overall I highly recommend Derwent House. Thanks again to everyone at Derwent House who made our stay so enjoyable!

Jacqueline

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Great hosts, take their recommendations about dining options. They made us reservations at restaurants within walking distance, both were excellent Wonderful place to stay hope to get to Cape Town and stay at Derwent House again. We have traveled extensively and have stayed in few places as welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed at Derwent House for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location with wonderful restaurants within walking distance. Excellent breakfasts. Nice size rooms, some with a view of Table Mountain. Carol and staff can provide recommendations for day trips, local sights, restaurants, wineries, art galleries - pretty much whatever you want - and arrange transportation if needed. They also provide a local cell phone for use during your stay. Will stay here again if I'm lucky enough to get back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 in the main house are very nice - good size bedroom and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing