We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're every need !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I am trying to think of something bad to say about the Derwent - Ah! yes, I know, the bad thing is I am not still there !
My wife and I stayed there for four nights at th end of January whilst waiting to cruise off to Mauritius and Oz.. We could not have picked a better beginning for our holiday.
Carol,Jo,Dene & Vuyo could not have done any more for us .The room was great with a great view from the window of Table mountain and an even better panorama from our spacious balcony. The rest of this lovely small hotel was equelly as good with a lovely lounge,comfortable breakfast room and a terrific pool with lots of great poolside furniture.
The staff cannot do enough for you.They will book your tours, restaurents and trips. You will have no worries if you stay at the Derwent. Another thing about the Derwent's situation is that it is so close to many,many good eating places and bars in an area which we felt safe in, in the evenings.We will be going back to see more of the Western Cape and we will start and end that visit at the Derwent in Cape Town.

Room Tip: First floor with Table Mountain View is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. I cannot recommend Derwent House more highly. The service is second to none, staff incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Great location, always clean and tidy with exceptional attention to detail. We asked to borrow some plastic cups/plates for a picnic and were presented with a picnic rucksack containing everything you coud possibly need. A local mobile phone is also provided in each room for use for the duration of the stay. Such a great idea and very helpful. Breakfasts here were definitely the best with a very wide variety of choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Derwent House does understand the importance of what an experience can be for travellers. its a truly impressive establishment and highlighted by wonderful staff. incredible value for money, and faultless in all aspects. Carol and the staff certainly made the 7 days in Cape Town a memorbale one! shannan Sydney

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank shannan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in Derwent House. The location is nice. It is just a couple of blocks away from Kloof street with restaurants, boutiques and bars and you can easily walk to city center. Breakfast was fantastic and kids especially liked the marshmallow and cookies jars. Tip: take a use of location. If any late afternoon the sky clears out and you can take cable car to the table mounting you should do it. We went there at five and we could avoid all lines.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and felt right at home at derwent house. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and happy to provide suggestions and followed up with you at the end of the day. We stayed in a fabulous tier room which was a great size and had it's own private patio. The daily breakfast and little happy hour were great. We were pleasantly surprised when they offered us some salty snacks one night while we were enjoying some wine overlooking the pool.

The location is fairly central to get to several attractions...table mountain/lions head is only 1-2 km up the main road and a taxi to the waterfront or camps bay is only about 45-60 rand. We had a rental car which helped us get around during the day, but taking taxis at night was the best option from the hotel.
All in all, a great place to stay for easy access to the sights and have a little peaceful oasis to relax at when you return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kristin4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Derwent House in January 2014. It was our first trip to South Africa, and this gem of a guest house started it with a bang! The staff were so helpful and friendly, they were on hand to give advice, book restaurants, taxis etc and generally made you feel very welcome and at home. As we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded to a suite and given a complementary bottle of fizz - an added bonus! The room was fantastic, with a beautiful seating area (inside and out), well-appointed bathroom etc. The view of Table Mountain was also lovely. Breakfast was superb, and the little touches of afternoon tea and cake were really great. The location is also fabulous, particularly for visiting Camps Bay and the other local attractions. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicsturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great quiet location, with a fantastic cold and hot made-to-order breakfast each day. Public spaces elegantly decorated. Ask for room 4 if you can get it. No terrace but more than compensated with breathtaking views of Table Mountain. Gracious, friendly and obviously well trained staff really make this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ubique62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,917 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £121 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing