We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Located in a quiet side street just outside the city centre. A nice hotel, with comfortable clean rooms and friendly staff. There is limited private off-road parking available, if you pre-book. It's a fairly long but pleasant walk into the city centre and the Waterfront. And it is possible to walk from the hotel to Table Mountain, if you are feeling fit. Overall, a good location for a visit to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the swimming pool. Reserve a private parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
175
887
62
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was looking for a change of pace that was not in the middle of the City Center and not on the beach in Camps Bay either. Derwent House, located in a non-touristy area, which also happens to be very close to Table Mountain, is a wonderful place to stay to eat at local places like Roundhouse Rumbullion or Manna Epicure (call ahead for reservations) off of Kloof Neck Road. Everyone there was super friendly and helpful. In my room, they even offered me a cellphone with a S. African number that I could have taken around town with me if I needed it to call a taxi. They also had a small art, book, and wine collection available to peruse. I particularly made use of the pool and the hot tub after a long day of walking around town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLF02472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is small but perfectly formed. Situated between Cape Town City Centre and Table Mountain it has around 10 rooms, a swimming pool and excellent lounge/lobby areas. It is a taxi ride from the City Centre or a long walk.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and always there to advise on how to make the most of our time in Cape Town. Although there is no restaurant, the breakfasts were excellent and there are tea/coffee facilities available all day. The hotel also provide complimentary cakes/biscuits for guests during afternoon tea.

There are many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel will arrange tours if required and also book taxis etc where needed.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the pool so there is no particular need to choose a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 9 days in total here on our first visit to Cape Town. The staff were warm and friendly and made our visit there relaxed and comfortable. They were very helpful in booking taxis and restaurants and recommendations of places of interest. The breakfasts were delicious with hot breakfasts cooked to order. The hotel is designed to a high standard with african art and sculpture adding interest. The bedroom was bright and comfortable with pool view and balcony. The hotel is situated just off Kloof Street which has many excellent restaurants and has a great view of Table mountain. I would definitely stay here again. Mary McG.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 in the main house which had a terrace and a balcony with a pool view. We also st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We spent our first three nights in South Africa at the Derwent House and what a wonderful introduction it was to this amazing country. The room was clean and comfortable and the warmth and professionalism of the staff were greatly appreciated. Their attention to every small detail really impressed us. Great breakfasts. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creemore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first visit to Africa and to Capetown. It was the trip of a lifetime and Derwent House was a major part of making it so special. It is a wonderful hotel, beautifully designed and decorated with a welcoming staff that made our visit there a joy. Set in a quiet residential area yet only steps away from quality restaurants, we wished we could have stayed longer. Should have. A special thanks to Dene for making reservations at restaurants where we couldn't. Our great view of Table Mountain was an unexpected plus and we will remember this perfect corner of a great city for years to come.

Room Tip: The Beautiful category is on the upper floors, with views. We had # 1, which was excellent and woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nice room, amazing pool, friendly staff + well located. Comprehensively ticked every box and quite easily exceeded expectations. (Was genuinely surprised to hear it was only 4 stars a couple of days into the stay) Overall very enjoyable and Carol Judge + the staff should be commended on creating such a welcoming energy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing