We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED the Derwent House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights and we loved the Derwent House. The hotel is so clean and cute. The staff is what really stood out for us. Everyone was so incredible and helpful. They made us amazing dinner reservations every night, got us booked on fantastic excursions and genuinely cared about our stay at the hotel. Breakfasts were plentiful, cooked to order and very tasty. Loved the free coffee/tea and treats throughout the day. Loved that if you grabbed a beer or glass of wine from the fridge, you just marked it down on a sheet and they added it to your bill. I appreciate that the honor system is still alive and well. We really enjoyed staying in the city bowl area as we felt safe walking to dinners every night and it was really easy and fast (and taxis are cheap) to get around in the city from the hotel. if you're looking for a really cute boutique hotel with great service, I highly recommend Derwent House.

Room Tip: My friend and I each had our own room next to each other overlooking the pool and we were both very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaG848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Photos don't do the Derwent House justice... from the moment we arrived from our 36 hour journey to get to Cape Town, to the moment we left, we were kept in complete and total relaxation. A honeymoon destination indeed - the staff always courteous and professional. Would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room not facing the pool for extra privacy and quiet. Afternoons with kids in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here during our recent honeymoon and loved it. I loved the decor of the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast each morning was fantastic - so many choices. The wifi was appreciated, as were the nightly turn-in chocolates and weather updates. There was only room for 2 cars in the hotel's parking pad but we found parking on the nearby streets without problems. Great place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our 2nd time at the Derwent, we had always hoped to come back after such a great time first time round, and pleased to say - it's still a great place to stay in Cape Town.

We opted for a different room this time (Room 6) which was just next door to where we stayed last time - these rooms have patio doors which open directly onto the pool deck and Room 6 has its own deck (although the weather didn't co-operate enough to use it every day!) Both rooms are small, but the patio deck on Room 6 does give a little more living space so would go for that one if possible.

The Derwent is just a great space for relaxing after taking in the sights of Cape Town, whilst the rooms can be small - the lounge areas are lovely, very stylish and we spent a lot of time around the log burning stove in the main lounge (it was unseasonably chilly a couple of nights when we were there!)

We did have a car but barely used it this time and the Derwent has a couple of secured car parking spaces so we were able to leave the car there - there is also free on street parking if needed.

We did a lot more walking this trip, and found it was about a 45 min walk from the Derwent to the V&A, Waterfront and about 20 mins to Long Street - it's probably best to walk down and taxi back as its quite hilly (plus a taxi was only around 70Rand!) - There are a few good dining choices on Kloof which is only a 5 min walk.

Only slight criticism this trip, was we noticed a bit more wear and tear on the furniture in the rooms this time round (it had been 4 years since our last visit) so maybe its due a little spruce up, and whilst we welcomed the new addition of the hot tub on the pool deck and used it a couple of times the water was boiling so take care!

Would still recommend the Derwent for Cape Town every time if you don't mind being further away from the V&A area.

Room Tip: If you are going for a poolside room, the patio deck on Room 6 adds a bit more living space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I spent the first four nights of our first ever visit to Africa in the quiet, comfort of Derwent House's apartment. The extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff made lasting pleasant first impressions of the Cape Town area. The central convenient location near Cape Town sights, with excellent restaurants within walking distance, allowed hassle free vacationing. This small welcoming hotel was a great find and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Derwent House was a great find. Nice location within walking distance of restaurants/ bars and near table mountain. We stayed three nights and we were very happy with the friendly service provided by the staff. They were happy to give us suggestions, book us taxis or make reservations for tours or restaurants. The breakfast was fantastic and had plenty of different options. Rooms were comfortable and the pool area was lovely. Overall it was a great start to our holidays.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, which had two balconies that were great for sitting outside in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a lovely holiday in Cape Town and surrounding area, first stop being Derwent House. Even before arriving Carol was very helpful in organising an airport transfer, booking recommended restaurants etc.
The hotel is lovely - it's quite small and stylishly finished and as others have said, feels so welcoming. Dene in particular was always smiling and helpful, arranging taxis and restaurant bookings when asked.
Breakfast is also delicious and one morning we had a very early start and so were provided with the best breakfast pack I've ever had!

My fiancé and I had a perfect holiday and would definitely recommend Derwent House :)

Thanks
George & Christian

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,870 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,098 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,013 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £111 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing