We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Owners and staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They gave us lots of advice on where to visit and restaurant recommendations - all of which helped to make our stay in Cape Town very special. The rooms are very stylish and spotlessly clean. Super breakfast - great choice for a hotel of this size - pancakes were delicious. Would stay here again if we return to Cape Town.

  • Liked — Lounge and honesty bar
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clover66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2008

My partner and I stayed at Derwent for 7 days and we enjoyed every single one of them. Carol and Jo were actually away on holiday - and most of the reviews refer directly to Carol and Jo. We were pleased to find that the rest of the staff lived up to the standards mentioned on the other reviews even in Carol and Jo's absence. Everything seemed to run like clockwork, in an unobtrusive and relaxed way. The staff could not do enough for us, from helping to book a car, to booking and recommending good restaurants and advising on things to do and see. Bongani was particularly helpful, making sure that we had everything we needed.

The atmosphere is so relaxed and the hotel itself is stylish and comfortable. It was quite windy when we were there as summer was just starting, so we had the fortune of returning after nights out, to sit by the fire and read with our free coffee and cakes! When we return to Cape Town we will definitely be staying here again.

If you are looking for great restaurants try The Codfather (Seafood) and Ginja which were our favourites.

Thanks again to all at Derwent.

  • Liked — The Staff and the roaring fire on a cold night!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandMFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We (my husband & I) have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks in South Africa. The trip was a present for my 50th so we were keen to stay in intimate, friendly, but slightly sophisticated accommodation. Derwent House did not disappoint! There is a reason why it is No 1.We spent the first 4 days of our holiday there.
Both Carol & Jo had been extremely helpful prior to our arrival.
Enthusiastic and encouraging - they made some great suggestions for our itinerary, car hire, restaurants and accommodation once we left Cape Town. (We took Route 62 and the Garden Route).
We were met at the airport and I immediately felt good about the choice. We stayed in the room with the large balcony overlooking the pool. I would have to say it is one of the most beautifully styled places I have stayed in - not pretentious but really good quality and tasteful furnishings and art work - great breakfasts - comfortable beds and really good staff.
Good attention to detail, exceptionally helpful and concerned about ensuring that we got the most out of our holiday.
We will definitely be back - this time with the children!

  • Liked — Owners were fantastic - ambiance of the place was really nice
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

A great location, excellent service and great hosts. The communal areas were well presented and very clean, food delightful. Secure parking space.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff.

Great view of table mountain.

Excellent restaurant suggestions by hosts (clearly also fellow 'foodies' who like eating in quality restaurants).

We'd go back tommorrow!

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing bad!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This was one of the most gracious places we have ever stayed. Carol and her staff were always attentive to our needs but never intrusive. They were a great resource of knowledge regarding local dining, sight-seeing etc. Both common areas and rooms are beautiful and comfortable, band breakfasts are fabulous (though too much food!). The location is too far to walk to the Victoria Wharf tourist area, but that's a good thing, and accessing the wharf is an easy cab ride. Local restaurants, many within walking distance, are excellent, and Carol will arrange reservations.

  • Liked — Carol!
  • Disliked — That I had to leave...
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bcereus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Wonderfully helpful hosts and an excellent little hotel. Perfect for a few days in Cape Town away from all the hustle and bussle of the more touristy areas.

Room was loverly and breakfasts excellent.

  • Liked — Service and staff very helpful.
  • Disliked — Croissants!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ScottRichardsonBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Myself and a colleague stayed that the Derwent House Hotel in September on business. The service was fantastic, breakfast amazing - kept us going all day.

The owners are really friendly well informed and really helpful regarding bars, restaurants and visitor sites.

All of the rooms are different and the decor is very trendy but relaxing. In the evenings when we had returned from dinner we would sit by the log fire which was great.

I would defintiely stay there again and would put it on my top hotel list.

  • Liked — relaxed lounge and breakfast- honesty bar
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Razreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
994 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing