We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like staying with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed at DH over xmas for 5 days and it met all of our expectations and more. One of the most stylish hotels we have stayed in, and certainly one of the most friendly. Excellent staff and hosts, which makes a huge difference for us. Superb decor, all of which was kept immaculately clean and tidy.
Very relaxed atmosphere, yet all just a few minutes walk from the main areas most people will want to visit / spend time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoodontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Derwent House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2009

We had the most perfect stay at Derwent House which enjoys a wonderful ambiance and setting of tranquility in a very convenient location. Beautiful rooms with a meticulous attention to detail and friendly, personal service. Carol and Jo are the perfect hosts and we would return to hotel any day!

Anyone travelling to Cape Town must really enjoy sundowners on the terrace at Derwent House, great start to a holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParoolPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights and you can believe the reviews. Carol and Jo have this place really well organised and the all of the staff are very friendly, extremely helpful and very professional. We stayed in room 4 which has a view of Table Mountain and the only criticism is that when it is very windy this room can be very noisy. To be fair this happened only on one night. Breakfast is superb, freshly cooked if that is what you want, the staff are always interested in your activity and ready to offer useful advice. There are many good restaurants within walking distance and reservations and special requests are handled by the staff quickly and efficiently. There is a small pool and garden area which is peaceful and comfortably equipped. My wife was not well on one day and even this was handled by the owners without charge and the pills worked within 24 days. Go there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Decide to opt for smaller hotel in Cape Town rather than big chain hotel. Found the Derwent House on Trip Advisor and it came highly recommended.

Booked directly with the hotel which was very straightforward and they were very helpful in offering to arrange airport pickups and tips on passport requirements.

The hotel is up the hill towards the base of Table Mountain and as such is a 5 minute taxi ride to the V&A waterfront or town centre. Taxi's were arranged for us by the hotel and always arrived promptly and were very cheap.

The hotel is small but has been renovated to a very high standard, with a very welcoming lounge reception area. This leads out to the decked pool area where you can also eat breakfast outdoors in the morning.

The breakfasts were always very good and in a nice relaxed, informal environment.

The rooms vary in size depending on price, our room was small but decorated very simply and tastefully with plenty of wardrobe space. We overlooked the pool and had views of Table Mountain almost on top of us.

The hosts were fantastic and the staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they had good recommendations for restaurants.

This is a super hotel, which I would highly recommend, could not fault anything at all and would definitely stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrightonPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed for 8 days in January. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. They recommended several restaurants during our stay and each one was as good as they said it would be. There were several restaurants within 5 minutes walk which were very good indeed. We also took a private tour of the winelands - ask for Jamie, he made the day a most memorable experience.
The breakfast was a delight, the hot options were freshly cooked and tasty.
We had a corner room in the main building with balcony with views towards Table Mountain. Perfect for an afternoon glass of wine watching the sun go down.
The only slight downside with the location is the uphill walk back from the Waterfront (getting there is no problem - downhill all they way in about 1 hour). I suggest you get a taxi every time (v cheap).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank John_and_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Derwent House in Jan 09 and had a lovely time mainly as a result of Carol who is absolutely superb!

The property itself is done out very nicely and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere to it with open lounges and honesty bar. The setting is great with views of Table Mountain and the location is fab, just a short stroll from the bars and restaurants on Kloof St and only a short taxi to V&A, cable car and Camps Bay. The breakfasts were great, as was the free wi-fi and the hairdryer in the room was superb!!

The only thing that let Derwent House down was our room, which was number 5 - we could have coped with the fact that it was small, but there was no privacy as you were right on the pool doorstep and you would have light streaming through to the room which would wake you every day at sunrise as there was no shade in the bathroom. We did ask for another room but there were none available, and we made a makeshift curtain with the bedspread, so all was not lost - but the lack of privacy was not great, but it did ensure we spent lots of time exploring Cape Town instead!

Thanks to Carol and Bongani for making our stay very special - they were the 2 members of the team that really excelled in our opinion. We would definitely stay with you again (but in a different room!).

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukanduit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

My wife and I travelled to South Africa for 15 days in late 2008. We used the Derwent House as our accommodations while in Cape Town for nearly half of our trip. I found out about Derwent House from a search on TripAdvisor, and we were not misled by its favorable reviews. We both tend to prefer the value, cleanliness, and service of boutique hotels when travelling for pleasure.

Derwent House fit all three of these categories. The attention and friendliness of the staff really sticks out, as well as its sharp view of Table Mountain. The English and the French Toast breakfasts were an excellent way to start the day. The room was not large, but was kept extremely clean and the surroundings were pleasant.

I don't have a basis of comparison for recommending other hotels in Cape Town, but I would not hesistate to recommend Derwent House.

Liked: Service and staff friendliness, location, Mandela artwork, breakfasts, wireless internet, splash pool

Disliked: Room size did not leave much space for 2 week's worth of luggage, attempting to keep the water in the shower area and not on the bathroom floor

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jet777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £125 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing