We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time as good as the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd time as good as the 1st”
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Derwent House deserves its ranking as Number 1.
We had been away from Derwent House for one year, but as soon as we walked through the front door, it felt as if we had been away for only one day!!!
Leaving the UK in snow in February and then having breakfast the following day (sat outside) with blue skies and temperatures in the early 30's whilst overlooking Table Mountain - fantastic.
Jo, Carol and all the girls & guys were fabulous; very helpful and friendly. From suggesting days out, trips/tours to take, ordering cabs for an evening out. In fact nothing is too much trouble.
We had a number of different rooms during our 3 weeks stay - all were clean and well appointed.
We can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
189
913
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed for four nights at the beginning of a two week holiday to South Africa. Absolutely loved the hotel. Had found it on Trip Advisor and couldn't believe the reviews were right. They were all so positive, surely there was something wrong. But they were indeed right. We had a fantastic stay. The room was beautiful, and every detail had been thought of, even down to the rubber duck for our bath! I am a self-confessed hotel snob and couldn't find fault anywhere.

The staff was wonderful. Very thoughtful. Breakfast was yummy. And there was no need for a restaurant in the hotel - there is a really well stocked honesty bar, delicious freshly baked cakes and snacks in the afternoon. And so many great places to eat nearby too. Location was brilliant, easy to get anywhere within the city. The pool and communal areas were very welcoming. And the fact that there aren't too many rooms, you never felt overcrowded.

My only hesitation in writing this review is that the more people that write about the hotel, the more people will stay there and the harder it will be to get a room!! We will DEFINITELY be back. One of my favourite hotels ever ...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Derwent House in February and we could easily have spent 4 weeks! The location is ideal - 10 minutes from The Waterfront, 15 from the bottom of Cable Mountain and with excellent neighbourhood restaurants a short (safe) walk away (do try The Miller's Thumb). Carol and Jo are great hosts and always ready with suggestions of what to do and where to go and will make reservations for you before and during your visit. Lovely to come 'home' from a busy day sightseeing and have a dip in the pool, a drink from the honesty bar and/or a complimentary cup of tea and piece of cake (all replenished constantly during the day). We were most impressed that all the staff were local, in attendance day and night and utterly charming and helpful - someone has trained them well! We wiil be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Excellent in every way - the seemeingly effortless achievement of such a high standard belied the hard work and attention to detail behind the scenes

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formulary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Fantastic hotel, very well run, staff excellent, lovely rooms, decor etc etc. Ideal walking distance to bars and restaurants. Carol and Jo made us very welcome, as did all the other staff in the hotel. Lovely relaxed ambience, one of the best guest houses we have stayed in ever. Very tasteful and elegant rooms. We also loved the idea of the honesty bar, tea, coffee etc on tap and free afternoon cakes!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

We recently spent three nights at the Derwent Guest House over the December Christmas period. It comes with our highest recommendations and we really can't fault it in any area. The staff are ever so friendly, accommodating, thorough in their approach and they make you really feel very welcome. Checking in and out was incredibly easy and the arranged pick up from the airport was most welcome after travelling through from London. The location is fantastic. The rooms and public areas are tastefully decorated and spotless. It made our stay in the beautiful city of Cape Town an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlinkZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We stayed here at the end of our 2 week honeymoon. The hotel had a lovely stylish feel, but the room we stayed in (room 8) was tiny. The good points about the room were: safe, air con & satellite tv, but there wasn't much room for luggage & the bathroom was the smallest we'd ever seen. Some great points to mention: free internet access & a good selection honesty bar in the communal areas. There is also someone on duty 24/7. The pool area is well designed, as are all the communal areas. Location-wise, this is a great place to stay for wandering down Long St, but Cape Town is so easy to drive around that location isn't really very important. Parking is on the street but we had no problems. All in all, a nice hotel but we'd advise paying extra for a bigger room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrwgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing