We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generosity of spirit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
1 review
“Generosity of spirit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

An absolutely lovely hotel. Light, airy, clean.
Good sized pool area.
Service is excellent~: attentive, efficient, unobtrusive, with a genuine interest in the guests. No just 'going through the motions' here.
Unexpected treats which are on the house eg. chilled water melon brought out to the pool; cakes, tea and coffee at all hours.
Fantastic - and very reasonable - honesty bar.
Excellent breakfast in quality, quantity, and variety of menu.
We were touring the Western Cape and staying at quite a few places en route - many were more expensive, none was better value or atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathoffduty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
872
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

This was our third visit to Capetown so we wanted somewhere away from the waterfront and nearer Long Street, a fun vibrant area of the city. The Derwent House was just perfect. We arrived very early (before 10am) and our luggage was stored and then put in our room for when we returned from our day in the city. It is a 45 minute stroll from the waterfront (stop at the Mojito bar on Long Street for a break).The local restaurants (5-10 min stroll)are great (particularly the Saigon) and the staff at the Derwent will help you choose. The breakfast is varied and very good. The pool is warm, perfect after a long day sight seeing. The 6 nations was on and we were going to go to a pub but the Derwent was so great we sat in our hot tub with a drink from the honesty bar and tried not to shout too loud. When you look around the hotel you realise the attention to detail - the Nelson Mandela pictures, the artwork; even a book on walking down Long Street and the history of the area. They have thought of everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, U.K.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We spent our final two days in South Africa at Derwent House and a few things made it a cut above the rest - the lovely good-sized pool (for a city), enough sunbeds for the number of guests and nice decking area for chilling out; a great balcony with table and chairs with Room 3 (lovely for relaxing with a glass of wine); complimentary tea/coffee/pastries (delicious); fast internet connection; spacious feel; quiet location.

Our toiletries weren't replaced and the bathroom bin wasn't emptied, but these are small niggles and were soon sorted out. The bedroom itself was small but the balcony more than made up for that. The bathroom had a separate shower so my husband could freshen up whilst I soaked in the bath with the most amazing view of table mountain.

Although our teenage son would appreciate the yummy free cakes and free laptop internet service, he'd find Derwent House too "adult" so we wouldn't go there as a family. I'd definitely recommend this tranquil hotel for couples.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank differentplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We had travelled to Cape Town before as part of a trip around South Africa but were returning for a week of sun to Cape Town instead of the ubiquitous Canary islands. As we were booking direct we did lots of research and found Derwent House on tripadvisor.

Expectations were high given the reviews and being natural cynics we weren't sure what to expect.

Overall, Derwent House didn't disappoint. Location wise it was perfect being so close to the main tourist attractions but in a quiet (and safe) residential area. Parking for our hire car was available either by side of the house or street. Taxis to restaurants at night were organised by Derwent and cheap.

We had room 2 which had 2 terraces (1 overlooking the pool, 1 private side terrace with a partial view of table mountain). Room was nice if a little tight around the bed/cupboard area. Room 2 doesn't have a separate shower and whilst the clawfoot bath was nice, if like me you prefer a shower other rooms have this. Otherwise room was tastefully decorated (calm neutrals), always clean and had all facilities such as aircon, tv/dvd etc

Communal areas were tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you need - free tea/coffee/ cake facilities, well stocked honesty bar, wireless internet, lots of travel/guide books, poolside loungers with towels etc.

Food wise, breakfasts were great with lots of cereal / pastries / cold meats & cheeses and a freshly ordered / prepared cooked breakfast if required (yummy pancakes). Only niggle was warm milk as temperature was really hot when we were there.

A lot of reviews mention service and I have to agree. You can't fault Carol and Jo's passion for the place and this fed down to the staff. It was my birthday during our weeks stay and following a request from my wife champagne in our room and a cake at the restaurant that night were organised without fuss. Likewise a frozen facecloth or ice lolly presented just as you were about to pass out by the pool was a nice touch.

Only minor niggle re service was the daily "what's not been replaced" game (e.g. toiletries, robe etc). All provided without a problem when asked but if you are really fussy this might grate. We enjoyed the intrigue each day!

A couple of minor niggles doesn't spoil what was overall a great place in Cape Town to stay. We did a lot of research and when you consider the price against other places of arguably equal style around Cape Town / Camps Bay, Derwent deserves its popularity.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

If you scheduled all the pluses of this hotel you would need a lot of paper but top of the list has to be the staff; always courteous, always attentive, always looking for ways to improve your stay and always anticipating your requirements. A Taxi for your planned activities that day or a restaurant for your dinner that night, nothing is too much trouble. On the other hand you can laze around the well furnished lounge or the swimming pool, listening to music or watching tv, drinking sherry or port, or hot drinks or eating fresh fruit or cream cakes which are free and available all day. There is also a well stocked bar and cold drinks cabinet with an honesty system to pay for them.

i would find it hard to make a negative comment but I have marked the rooms down 20% because it was a bit small, the location down 40% because it is a bit hilly and the value down 20% because I am greedy!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith250Sleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

Derwent House deserves its ranking as Number 1.
We had been away from Derwent House for one year, but as soon as we walked through the front door, it felt as if we had been away for only one day!!!
Leaving the UK in snow in February and then having breakfast the following day (sat outside) with blue skies and temperatures in the early 30's whilst overlooking Table Mountain - fantastic.
Jo, Carol and all the girls & guys were fabulous; very helpful and friendly. From suggesting days out, trips/tours to take, ordering cabs for an evening out. In fact nothing is too much trouble.
We had a number of different rooms during our 3 weeks stay - all were clean and well appointed.
We can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed for four nights at the beginning of a two week holiday to South Africa. Absolutely loved the hotel. Had found it on Trip Advisor and couldn't believe the reviews were right. They were all so positive, surely there was something wrong. But they were indeed right. We had a fantastic stay. The room was beautiful, and every detail had been thought of, even down to the rubber duck for our bath! I am a self-confessed hotel snob and couldn't find fault anywhere.

The staff was wonderful. Very thoughtful. Breakfast was yummy. And there was no need for a restaurant in the hotel - there is a really well stocked honesty bar, delicious freshly baked cakes and snacks in the afternoon. And so many great places to eat nearby too. Location was brilliant, easy to get anywhere within the city. The pool and communal areas were very welcoming. And the fact that there aren't too many rooms, you never felt overcrowded.

My only hesitation in writing this review is that the more people that write about the hotel, the more people will stay there and the harder it will be to get a room!! We will DEFINITELY be back. One of my favourite hotels ever ...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing