We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful guesthouse/hotel, definately will recommend it to friends!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful guesthouse/hotel, definately will recommend it to friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

This boutique hotel is exactly as all the reviews say, pretty perfect! Everything from the charming staff to the honesty cakes to the breakfast, every little detail is carefully taken care of. I was pretty upset to leave! The only negative is that the rooms are quite small but would this put me off returning, gosh no! Lastly, Millers Thumb (the nearby restaurant) is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
874
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed for 7 nights in Feb 09 as a surprise for my wife's 40th. The whole experience was excellent - I did choose the hotel from TripAdvisor reviews and have always been somewhat suspicious of some of the reviews but it really did live up to its previous reviews. The staff are fantastic and booked everything from cars to restaurants and taxis all week with no problems at all. The location is also excellent being near a number of restaurants and within a short taxi of the cable car and the port area. Highly recommended and we will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

Every city deserves a Derwent House. Jo, Carol and the charming staff make you feel at home, creating a personal yet unimposing atmosphere. The interior of this establishment is all you could wish for in your own home. We can’t imagine a better place to stay in Cape Town.

Eirin & Jeroen

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

This hotel truly is a little gem. Carol & Jo were fantastic and their staff couldn't do enough for us. From helping us to arrange taxi's to booking restaurants and tours. When we visit Cape Town we'll surly come back to stay. Our rooms were spacious, clean and had great views of Lions Head and Table Mountain. We stayed for 7 nights and although after 2 nights we moved room because of availability the move was smooth and all taken care of for us. Room 2 had a deck and balacony which was lovely. The breakfast is really delicious and substantial. You can start off with a cold continential breakfast followed by a hot breakfast. The portions are huge. Through the day guests can help themselves to tea, coffee, cakes, biscuits. The hotel runs a honesty bar service which is great when you fancy a nice cold beer! The pool was great and solar heated which made a nice difference. Our hotel was 10mins drive to Camps Bay, V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. Great location and walking distance some really good restaurants to chose from. Watch out going to the restaurant is easy as it is down hill but on the way back its a pretty steep hill to climb! Good work out after the big portions South African restaurants serve! We met some great guests at the hotel. Carol & Jo made our last night extra special by way of treating us to some pink champagne - the best we've ever tasted!! This hotel deserves to stay at #1 - made our holiday extra special :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

You are looked after as a close friend or family member. The rooms are charming and the pool is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmersclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

We selected Derwent House for the start of our recent South Africa trip on the strength of previous tripadvisor comments and it fully met, and often exceeded, our expectations. From our later-than-scheduled arrival (after midnight) till our departure four days later we could not have been made to feel more welcome. Carol, Jo and their team were always attentive to our needs, but never intrusive, allowing us to relax and take things at our own pace while being happy to make recommendations if asked.

Our room was bright and airy, and gave spectacular views of Table Mountain and Lion Rock. There was a wide choice of cold or hot breakfasts, which could be taken either inside or on the pool terrace. But it was the little extras that impressed us most – the complimentary slices of water melon offered on a hot afternoon by pool, the daily weather forecasts delivered to our room accompanied by chocolates, the free access to broadband from the laptop in the lounge. We would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a home-from-home during a visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

I can't recommend Derwent House enough. Everyone went out of their way to make staying a complete pleasure. The advice given was all spot on and was truly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing