We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel - Service is Second to None!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Boutique Hotel - Service is Second to None!”
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed at Derwent House in February and found it to be the perfect venue for our stay in Cape Town. Nothing is too much trouble for hosts Jo and Carol and their staff are exemplary. The hotel is stylish, modern and spotlessly clean; the breakfasts excellent; the complimentary tea, coffee, cakes, sherry and port inspired; the honesty bar well stocked and very welcome; the pool area is a delight with the water the temperature of a warm bath come late afternoon; and location-wise, it couldn't be better (though the walk back up the hill after a Cape Town-sized dinner was a bit of a killer!).

We got to sample two rooms - number 1 in the main building with views towards Table Mountain and a lovely, private terrace - and number 10 in the garden annex, complete with its own jacuzzi. Both were perfectly lovely, though room 1 was a little tight on space given our luggage but it is a minor quibble.

Will we stay again? Definitely! We loved the vibe of the City, the friendliness of everyone we met, the food, the wine, the prices (compared to London!), the weather and everything at Derwent House.

Well done Jo, Carol and team, you have set the standard!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Derwent was the first stop on our 10 day trip to South Africa, and the best (and cheapest) of the four places we stayed (and I include the Mount Nelson) in terms of value, friendliness of the greeting, rooms, service and common areas.

We were helped with car hire, airport pick up, and asked each morning what we were planning for the day so they could make any bookings required. They even lent us an adaptor plug for the week. We stayed in two rooms, a ground floor room with a jacuzzi (great fun) and an upstairs room with views of Table Mountain and a large terrace. Both were very comfortable (if on the small side - that's the only possible negative really).

The lounge, pool and terrace areas are beautiful, bathed in sunlight and deeply relaxing. I really can't recommend highly enough - we'll be back in a shot.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiswick, West London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

My partner and I spent three nights in late March and we had an excellent time. Firstly Jo and Carol are superb and had taken care of all of our restaurant bookings before we arrived. (The restaurants were among the best I have ever eaten at and are great value). All of the other staff were also really helpful and we felt that everyone was focused on making sure we had the best time possible.

We stayed in one of the upstairs room which had a huge decked balcony and an enormous bed and had quality stapmed all over it, as did the communal areas of the hotel. The interior of the hotel would not have looked out of place on South Beach in Miami. We spent a bit of time in the decked pool area, although most of the time we were out exploring during the day and then eating in the evenings. It was nice to come back and have a bottle of wine (or two!) on the balcony in the evenings.

This is one of the best two hotels we have stayed in and the other was elsewhere on the same trip to SA and we are planning to make a return visit around Xmas time and we hardly ever go back to the same place. It was that good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This boutique hotel is exactly as all the reviews say, pretty perfect! Everything from the charming staff to the honesty cakes to the breakfast, every little detail is carefully taken care of. I was pretty upset to leave! The only negative is that the rooms are quite small but would this put me off returning, gosh no! Lastly, Millers Thumb (the nearby restaurant) is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed for 7 nights in Feb 09 as a surprise for my wife's 40th. The whole experience was excellent - I did choose the hotel from TripAdvisor reviews and have always been somewhat suspicious of some of the reviews but it really did live up to its previous reviews. The staff are fantastic and booked everything from cars to restaurants and taxis all week with no problems at all. The location is also excellent being near a number of restaurants and within a short taxi of the cable car and the port area. Highly recommended and we will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Every city deserves a Derwent House. Jo, Carol and the charming staff make you feel at home, creating a personal yet unimposing atmosphere. The interior of this establishment is all you could wish for in your own home. We can’t imagine a better place to stay in Cape Town.

Eirin & Jeroen

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2009

This hotel truly is a little gem. Carol & Jo were fantastic and their staff couldn't do enough for us. From helping us to arrange taxi's to booking restaurants and tours. When we visit Cape Town we'll surly come back to stay. Our rooms were spacious, clean and had great views of Lions Head and Table Mountain. We stayed for 7 nights and although after 2 nights we moved room because of availability the move was smooth and all taken care of for us. Room 2 had a deck and balacony which was lovely. The breakfast is really delicious and substantial. You can start off with a cold continential breakfast followed by a hot breakfast. The portions are huge. Through the day guests can help themselves to tea, coffee, cakes, biscuits. The hotel runs a honesty bar service which is great when you fancy a nice cold beer! The pool was great and solar heated which made a nice difference. Our hotel was 10mins drive to Camps Bay, V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. Great location and walking distance some really good restaurants to chose from. Watch out going to the restaurant is easy as it is down hill but on the way back its a pretty steep hill to climb! Good work out after the big portions South African restaurants serve! We met some great guests at the hotel. Carol & Jo made our last night extra special by way of treating us to some pink champagne - the best we've ever tasted!! This hotel deserves to stay at #1 - made our holiday extra special :)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,824 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing