We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Great boutique hotel, great location in Cape Town, great service from the staff, great value for money. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Phil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

There are 280+ reviews of Derwent House already so I will try not to be repetitive. What I liked:
-so many restaurants and shops are located within 5-15 minutes safe walking area, including the famous Long Street with all its bars, restaurants and stores
-Beautiful small and elegant property. Free tea and delicious cakes available at all times was very nice.
-Lovely breakfasts on the serene open air patio if you wish, or in the nice indoor breakfast room
-Very very helpful managers, Carol and Jo, as well as their local African staff. We really felt well taken are. Free local phone calls.
-Free wi-fi in the hotel and free access to a computer with internet service 24/7.
-Absolutely clean and orderly everywhere.
-My family and I all agreed we felt this was the better choice for us in Cape Town than staying in a large chain hotel like the Sheraton or Westin.

What I would recommend if you come to stay:
-I think it would be worth the extra 30 rand a night to book one of the larger rooms. They are more spacious and the bathroom area in particular is about double the size. They also have better terraces. We felt our room for Rand 1,450 a night was quite small and so was the bathroom.
-The water in the pool is somewhat cool, so you may only think about swimming during the hotter summer months.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed with two couples for two nights in Derwent House, and we loved the place. The feel of Derwent house is so relaxing and service and attention are more than excellent. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and at home, the pool is superb to drink bubblies in under the stars, breakfast is good and their recommendation of a good juweller will stay with us for the next 50 years. Everything was above expectation at Derwent (and yes, we are spoiled).

I hope we can come back there soonish, we can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Had a three night stay in room 3 followed by a four night stay in room 1 at the end of our holiday and rather than repeat all previous reviews which have placed this hotel at number 1 on tripadvisor all we can say is that our stay here was perfect. Well run and excellent staff who will do anything to make your stay go smoothly. Highly recommended and hopefully will be retuning soon

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I travel 4 or 5 holiday destinations or medical conferences a year and have had the opportunity to stay at many fabulous places recommended by trip advisor . Unfortunately,Derwent House was not one of them. My main issue is with Carol the manager. i booked a room in October for 7 days for 2 couples and two months later we decided to go to a game park for two days in the middle of our stay . I informed Carol immeadiately and she changed our reservations so we could arrive 2 days earlier. Her emails from that point on seemed negative to me but i let it go because of all the positives commments in trip advisor. I thought she was having a bad day or 2. Well all three of our days with her were bad days. From the day we stepped in the door she made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome with her condescending attititude and then trying to fake beeing upbeat saying "cool" to everything we said We left some important documents in their office safe (air tickets money and passports) One of her staff mistakenly gave their tickets money and passports to another guest. Rather than apologizing for her staff ,she made a spectacle in the lobby blaming our freinds for a mistake she and her staff had made. Our freinds were shocked with her attitude and felt really uncomfortable that they had given their passports money and airline tickets to somebody else. they were ready to check out at that point... i cant tell you how flabergasted our freinds were they just could not believe it and i wouldnt have unless i witnessed the exchange. Strike 2. We continued with our stay because we had paid 20% deposit but decided we would move somewhere else after our safari . We were having such a great time on our vacation together except for the damper Carol's attitude was putting on it. Carol was inflexible in every way, rude ,condescending and overall just not the type of front person i would want for my business. Her attitude continued with another yelling episode with a guest so after strike 3 we checked out and went to the Westin by the waterfront and stayed in huge room , with a beautiful view double the size room we had at derwent for the same price including breakfast . Best of all the staff was wonderful. I dont know if Carol was having personal issues that week and taking it out on us and other guests, but i have never in my life met such a rude woman. Get rid of Carol and the Derwent House was great. it was in a nice location close to Table Mountain. It is a 30 minute walk to the waterfront and the breakfasts were awesome but honestly,no better than any of the 4 other places we stayed at in south africa. Except for Carol the rest of the staff was wonderful. The beautiful rooms were really tinyl and i found them quite dark and dingy and not worth the money . The fabulous rooms were a better size but not large by any means. There are no phones in the rooms and things get noisy early in the morning. Tamboerskloof is a nice quiet area with some really good quality inexpensive restaurants. We had issues with no hot water every evening we were there (3), and we had some guests in the evening come in after 1130 pm and party downstairs for an hour and a half. To our surprise none of the staff did anything to stop it and they woke everyone else in the hotel up. Carol had a good yelling fit in the morning with those guests too. With the recession there are a lot of good deals in Capetown if you look. A freind of ours got the v and a hotel at the waterfront through a broker for the same price as the fabulous room we rented at Derwent House. There are a lot of great places to stay in capetown and in my opinion Derwent house was not one of them because of Carol

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank aircrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Derwent House Hotel in March of this year for three nights. Our stay next time will be longer. We prebooked the hotel on line with absolutely no problems. We were met at the door by an extremely helpful employee who gave us a complete tour of the House and explained how everything worked. We had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool and each morning we were met with smiling faces and a lovely cold and or hot breakfast. The hotel has a honour bar system and has coffee, tea and cakes for free all day long. We received great advice as to where to visit and where to eat. There are numerous restaurants within a 10 minute very safe walk of the hotel. It is within a very short taxi ride to Table Mountain and perhaps a 30 minute downhill walk to the waterfront. We truly enjoyed our 3 week visit to South Africa and it started off on the exact right note from the professionalism we received at this hotel. Thank you Carol and Jo.

Kate and Bob Lord, Toronto Canada

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobkatlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Derwent House is a wonderful small hotel situated within a very short, and all importantly, safe walk of Kloof St with all its restaurants and bars.
The hotel itself has a beautiful pool and deck and some of the most friendly and helpful service I have encountered anywhere in the world. From suggesting and booking restaurants to organising day trips to advice on wine, nothing is too much trouble.
If I had to to gripe about anything, the only negative I could think of is to say that there is no phone service between rooms - to contact my son, I had to walk and knock on his door! Hardly a hardship, but the only thing I can think of that is less than glowing! I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spursfanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
1 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £112 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing