We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$878
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
1,397
88
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,397
88
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barkloof streettable mountainpool and hot tubour honeymoonlittle toucheshonor barmobile phonemillers thumbthought of everythingsouth africahome away from homecamps bayrestaurant recommendationscommunal areasevery eveningstay in cape town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,103 - 1,108 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Derwent House came highly recommended to us and didn't disappoint. It is beautifully decorated in a modern and tranquil style yet clearly reflecting its locality. It is a very easy going place where it is clearly the aim of all the staff to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. They are keen to help and take a genuine interest in you and your holiday activities without ever being intrusive. The breakfasts are great, the pool area is quiet and relaxing and its location means it is easy to reach any of Cape Town's famous attractions - and this is all topped off with a great "honesty bar" and free cake, whatever the time of day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB1andCB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed at Derwent House for 5 days in January, and arrived early in the morning following an overnight flight. Upon arrival we were offered breakfast and some very welcome tea and coffee. We went out for a walk until our room was ready and when we returned, our luggage was installed. We stayed in 2 rooms during our stay (just because we booked late, not because of any problems) and both rooms were great. Room 9 (I think!) was much bigger and we could see Table Mountain from the bedroom window, but both rooms were fabulously comfortable and we felt very at home.
All of the staff at Derwent House, including Carol and Jo the owners, were genuinely interested in helping us get the most out of our stay in Cape Town and the level of service is absolutely spot on - friendly, helpful and full of useful tips, without being overpowering. The dinner recommendations and bookings made on our behalf were always successful! I must just mention the breakfasts, which were fantastic (I especially recommend the omelettes) and we ate outside by the pool most mornings.
In short, stay at Derwent House, I can't think of a reason not to.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Carol and her staff do a great job with their guests. Whether is booking a massage, a restaurant or providing advise and tips for the area, they are simply terrific.
The hotel location is great to both walk around the city and drive outside. The common areas are very well attended and tastefully designed. The rooms are nice, though a bit small.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubengb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We enjoyed a fantastic four night stay at Derwent House in March. From the moment we stepped in, we felt completely at home. All the staff were fantastic - very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. They made our stay so relaxing - from suggesting restaurants and making reservations to booking taxis and suggesting things to do. Our heartfelt thanks to them for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

The pool area is a nice place to relax and have a drink. We loved the free cakes! The hotel has a very friendly feel and its small size makes it easy to mix with fellow guests and talk about the wonderful experiences that people have enjoyed in South Africa. We also appreciated the laptop with free broadband . There are many nice restaurants within walking distance or a short taxi-ride away.

Overall, we enjoyed a wonderful stay and would definitely return if we were lucky enough to visit Cape Town again. Derwent House lived up to all our expectations and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Stayed here in Jan 2009. Great staff and room. We had a back room with a Jacuzzi outside which was great at night. Good location. Several very good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews