We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
delta , bc , canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

an absolutely wonderful hotel in a nice area of capetown, although we only stayed the the one night we wish it could have been longer. the room was excellent and lavishly appointed with a lovely king size bed. the breakfast that was included in the price was excellent as well . The garden and pool is in the rear and was very relaxing . we can speak quite highly of this hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone.
The service was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
871
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

With our first trip to Cape Town we didn't know what to expect and i must say that our stay at Derwent House certainly made it a memorable and enjoyable expereince. I can't recommend the hotel enough as a place to stay not only for the amentiies, comfort etc but also the fact that for the time you are there you are made to feel so welcome. Carol & jo and their team could not have been more helpful and accommodating and they ensured that we really did get the best out of our stay in Cape Town - always more than willing to not only recommend but arrange and organise things for you to do too! The personalised tour of the wineries a personal favourite!) I could go on but just go and have a look

If you are planning on going to Cape Town go and stay here and it'll make a great holiday a fantastic one!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Run by a great couple and staffed by fantastic people, Derwent House is a must stay boutique hotel in Cape Town. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

It's #1 in Cape Town for a reason. Actually, a few reasons. Here they are, in no particular order:

- Beautiful facilities and great design
- Tons of amenities (computer for guests to use, honesty bar, library of guide books to borrow)
- Carol and Jo are great hosts - gave us so much good advice (restaurants, things to do)
- Staff is wonderful - friendly and helpful
- Location is perfect - so close to tons of great restaurants we had a hard time choosing but the house is tucked away in a very quiet neighborhood
- Breakfast is fantastic - great options and variety

We couldn't find a fault with this place. Why stay any place else?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samuelfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Derwent House for the first week of our honeymoon in South Africa and we couldn't have chosen a more fantastic place to stay... as all the other reviews show this hotel is amazing. Beautiful big rooms with all the personal touches - lovely bath products, free internet, chocolates at the end of the day, the next day's weather forecast left on your pillow at night, complimentary tea and cake throughout the day, and wonderful sundecks overlooking the pool or with views of Table Mountain. The communal areas are often not used in hotels but in Derwent House it was a pleasure to make use of the gorgeous lounges with a complimentary drink before heading out for the evening.
But what really makes this hotel stand out is the terrific staff. Everyone made us feel so welcome and they couldn't have done more to make our honeymoon so special - we received champagne on arrival and they were more than happy to recommend and book tours/taxis/restaurants for us - they even re-arranged for our hire car to be delivered to town rather than having to go back to the airport to collect it.
A stunning hotel in a fab location with the friendliest of staff, cannot recommend highly enough and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamplater2003
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Derwent house is a wonderful boutique hotel, it is stylishly decorated throughout, with a lovely laid back atmosphere and very friendly helpful staff. Jo and Carol the owners are amazing, especially when I unfortunately became unwell, they went out of there way to help and advise and I can't thank them enough.

We stayed in rooms 7 and 9, both were beautifully decorated and room 9 had a lovely deck with views of the harbour. The lounge area has lots of interesting reading material and a laptop with free wi-fi which was handy. There is a well stocked honesty bar, complementary tea, coffee and yummy cakes.

The hotel is in a great location with table mountain a quick taxi ride away. There are plenty on great restaurants within an 5-10 minute walk. Taxis in cape town are pretty cheap and it is easy to get to all the main tourist attractions from the hotel.

We'll definitely be going back to this lovely hotel next time we're in cape town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamplayer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

This place is a little gem. It is truly like a home from home - I don't think I've ever felt so relaxed in a hotel. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Carol and Jo are so lovely, chatty and easy to get on with, and their enthusiasm for Cape Town comes across in spades. Their success is well-deserved and the result of obvious hard graft.

The hotel is beautifully designed, stylish yet competely un-stuffy. There are so many little extra touches that we really appreciated - the free internet access on the laptop in the lounge, the free tea & cakes, free port & sherry, the little notes in our room at night informing us of the following day's weather forecast (and including interesting facts and thoughts for the day) - I could go on! We were also very impressed with the service we received before we arrived - emails with tons of information about things to do, restaurant recommendations (which they later booked for us), asking us if we needed collecting from the railway station etc etc. Brilliant service.

The location is lovely - its out of the way of the main touristy areas which makes you feel a bit more adventurous! Also, its really near to table mountain. Everywhere you could want to visit is only a quick taxi ride away. The hotel will organise taxis at the drop of a hat and they are very reasonably priced.

Breakfast is great - loads of choice and excellent quality. The swimming pool is small but lovely for a quick dip after a hot day's sightseeing, and the area around the pool is great for sitting with the aforementioned complimentary tea & cake!

This place is marvellous. Enough said.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephf08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing