We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in Derwent House in November and it was fantastic. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of many bars and restaurants and the staff could not be more helpful. They very kindly arranged transfers for us from the airport to Franschhoek before we even stayed at Derwent House and we really appreciated the fact that they knew our names and asked us what we were up to each day and whether there was anything they could do to help.

The rooms are very nicely decorated, although i agree with the previous reviewer, they are on the small side, the lounge and pool area are big enough that there is no need to spend much time in your room anyway. The honesty bar, free tea, coffee and cakes make for a very relaxing stay. The breakfasts are also amazing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at Derwent House for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week trip through South Africa, and it was by far the best accomodation of our trip. Having already read reviews on Tripadvisor which lead us to booking this hotel, I was really pleasantly surprised to find that it was all that the other reviews stated as fantastic....and more.

The thing that really makes this hotel is the service, the staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be any trouble - they assisted us with booking a horse-back wine tour in Fraschoek, booked a table at an amazing hotel restaurant overlooking the sunset in Bantry Bay that we would never have found otherwise, as well as general tips on where to go, and best of all encouraging us to hire an AC Cobra for the day to cruise down the the Cape of Good Hope which we still havent quite got over yet! The small touches, for example free use of internet, complementary tea, coffee and cake, and leaving a chocolate and weather forcast for next day on your pillow at night just added to the personal and quality of service.

The hotel itself is modern and chic, yet it had a friendly and cosy feel which you sometimes don't get in boutique hotels. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, cheese, and cooked breakfast choices. Our room was on the first floor, one of the lower priced rooms, but still had comfy double bed, modern clean bathroom with great power-shower and a view over the pool and table mountain.....what more could you want?!

The location is great - really central for getting to all the main sights in Cape Town. We had a hire care which I would recommend for Cape Town - we took a cab a few times down to the waterfront and out for meals so we could have a drink but there are plenty of restaurants right close to the hotel within walking distance. We found walking around the area felt safe - even the night of the world cup draw when there were thousands of people out on the streets there was an air of excitement and celebration and we saw absolutely no sign of any trouble.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family visiting Cape Town - it is friendly, central, immaculately clean and has to be the friendliest hotel Ive ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach-n-Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We staeyd 2 non consecutuve nightsat the Derwent House in Novemeber, which I appreciate was abit of a non-standard request but that's the way the trip panned out. Any way, the staff helped us organise airport transfers, sorted out restaurants for us and helped with car hire and trip arrangements. They could not have been more hepful. The hotel itself is very pleasnt, excellent breakfast, lovely honesty bar facilities, comfortable living space, pretty pool surround and really friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This hotel has converted us to staying in boutique hotels for ever more. Beautiful room, welcoming and knowledgable staff always ready with recommendations for tours and restaurants which are then instantly booked for you. Freely available tea, coffee and cake as well as an honesty bar make for a relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights at Derwent House for the last few days of our trip in SA. While the room we were in was tiny compared with our previous rooms at other places, I was enchanted by the caring staff, delicious breakfasts, gorgeous and comfortable lounge and pool areas, and great service.

We were on our honeymoon, and Carol and Jo and staff treated us like family (in a good way!). They even gave us a free bottle of chilled champagne, which we enjoyed in our room.

Our room was upstairs, overlooking the pool. While the room seemed cramped upon first viewing, it had all the comforts of home. We had two terraces, both of which increased our square footage considerably. The only drawback was the bathroom. The bathroom had a claw-foot tub, but unfortunately no shower. Hot water seemed limited.

While the room was small, the common areas downstairs more than made up for it. I enjoyed the self-service, honor system cake/tea/coffee/water/liquor/bar kitchen. We sat by the pool one morning, and enjoyed the strong SA sun. The day of checkout, we sat in the downstairs lounge area, using the shared guest laptop to checkin for our flight, and whiled away a few hours sipping on mint and lemon infused water and reading magazines.

The complimentary breakfasts were stupendous. We had our choice of the self-service cold breakfast (cereals, fruits, juices) and the table-service hot breakfasts (eggs, sausage, toast, etc.). I personally loved their silver-dollar pancakes.

Carol and Jo each introduced themselves to me separately and inquired about our stay. They really do care about their guests. I felt as though I was vacationing in a welcoming, well-stocked home, but without someone looking over our shoulder. I loved all the personal touches; you can tell there's a lot of love put into this place.

I really loved our stay here. I would not hesitate to recommend this to my best friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcapestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Very nice little Hotel with outstanding service (thanks again to Carol, Jo and all the other poeple there). The rooms are very nice (although a bit small) and the decor of the whole hotel is just amazing. The breakfast is excellent (who ever prepares this fresh fruit salad every morning: thanks again!). Recommandations on restaurants, places to visit, cookies and coffee every day, honesty bar with a fine selection of wine and other drinks - all done in a relaxed atmosphere. If you go to Cape Town and look for a nice place to stay Derwent House is the place to go. We'll come back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethnologica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This great hotel should not be number 2 but back at 1...it will be I am confident.
One duff remark from a "client" who's comments are so way off the mark seems unfair after these lovely people have worked so hard to get this hotel to be so good., 7,000 guests so far can't be wrong.
To start, the staff are amazingly knowledgeable, helpful and so friendly and happy. The owners Carol and Jo are approachable, warm and look after their staff like family which creates a homely environment.
The hotel is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, and you never feel crowded (breakfast 7.30 to 10.00 helps). The breakfast are wonderful, cooked to order,good wine selection, complimentary port/sherry/tea etc.FREE WiFi AND lap top provided, what more could one want from a hotel only £3.00 in a taxi from the centre?
Some hotels "recommend" restaurants based on "deals" for Carol and Jo thats a big no, they eat locally, if reports come back negative, they review recommendations.
Some great local eateries, two with wine can dine for less than £40.00, we never ate a bad meal in CT.
CT itself is clean, safe, and good value for a tourist town, it certainly has won our hearts.
So to summarise, going to CT?...stay here folks, I am Mr fussy and could not fault it.
All the best
Mark and Debby Williams.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing