We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience - hope to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed 3 nights at the Derwent at the beginning of our first ever SA trip. This hotel has a fantastic ambience which makes you feel welcome as soon as you set foot in the door - like you are staying with friends rather than in a hotel.
Our heavy luggage was cheerfully whisked away to our room whilst we got a quick tour round the kitchen and lounge areas (which are superbly decorated - I want my house to look like that!) and introduced to the honesty bar, breakfast area, free cake, port and sherry etc - nice touch!
Carol, Jo and the team made a point of introducing themselves personally and finding out a little about us and our plans in SA so always had time for chat or to offer advice on our travel plans (and on sunburn remedies which were needed after out first day!).
We stayed in Room 5 which is a handy couple of steps away from the lovely pool, as with the rest of the hotel, the room is well decorated, but a little small - fine for a short stay, if we were there longer (which would have been great) would look at getting one of the bigger rooms. Also, this room seems to be close to a staff work area so some noise is heard in the mornings - but not a problem for us as we were up and about early.
Breakfasts were great (hot or cold) and served in another well decorated dining area
We walked down to some local resturants from the hotel and felt this was a safe area (be aware its a little bit of a steep hill on the way back up to the hotel after a big meal and a few drinks!) and arranged for taxis to V&A which were cheap and quick - the hotel is also in walking distance to one of the stops of the sightseeing hop on/off bus which is handy.

Overall, we loved the Derwent and will definately look to stay here again next time we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

918 - 924 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed here in February 2010 at the beginning of our 2 week break in S. Africa.
What can I say other than It was one of the most pleasent hotels/guest houses I have ever stayed in - worldwide!
Apart from the really good location, stunning bedrooms & excellent boutique hotel feel to the place the real difference is the service provided by all the staff. Every day they were all generally interested in us & our plans - giving us tips & hints & literally desperate to help in one way or another (booking restaurants,checking weather conditions e.t.c). They new our names on sight & made us feel like the only guests in this busy little hotel - Brilliant! - We spent many many hours researching accomodation is S.Africa for our holiday & This was the best decision we made - dont bother looking anywhere else....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BYRD02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed at Derwent House for 3 nights at the beginning of our 3 week SA holiday. A really warm welcome from staff who couldn't do enough for you. Great breakfast and nice touches with complimentary tea and cakes, sherry & port. Also good location with excellent restaurants nearby including Millers Thumb and only 5 minute cab rides from V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. One minor negative - we stayed in room 5 which was a bit cramped - fine in summer when it's hot and you can treat the pool area as an extension to your room but probably not so good in cooler months when the pool area has less attraction.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at the start of our trip to SA, and again on our final night. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at DH, hospitaility was great, cant really add much more than what has already been said, but already booked for our return trip at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollinsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Stayed for 4 nights went on garden tour trip after the first night and returned 4 days later for the rest of our stay. This is a great boutique hotel, Carol and Jo carefully researched what guests would want in a hotel before they started and they have it exactly right. Great hosts and their staff were so friendly and anxious to help that we felt so relaxed in a new city from the moment we arrived.

Rooms were comfortable and quiet ensured a good nights sleep and the breakfast was perfect with many options of all you could want..

The help yourself to the tea coffee cakes wines/beers etc, all under the honesty style was just perfect and anything you wanted to know or booked was seen to immediately.

This is a special place and will remain in our thoughts of Cape Town forever. My advice is don't bother to book anywhere else - this is perfect! The location is excellent for local good restaurants which you can walk to within a few minutes without any fear of safety and just 30 minutes walk to the waterfront during the day or a few pounds by taxi which reception would organise without any problem.

If ever I go back to Capetown Derwent House is first choice. They have got everything right!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Spent the last 7 nights of a wonderful holiday in the Derwent. What a little gem! The hotel is fabulous, and caters for all needs. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff and Carol & Jo, the owners, have an extensive knowledge of local restaurants and services. It's all the thoughtful little touches that you wouldn't normally find in hotels such as complimentary tea, coffee, cool drinks & home made cakes available all day as well as port & sherry. An excellent breakfast menu with freshly cooked whatever you want. I can't say enough about this hotel with a great personal service, in a wonderful city. We woke up every morning with a view of Table mountain, what more could you ask? It is just a home from home. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kepra46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Having done a lot of research on trip advisor, like millions of others, we decided to stay at Derwent House for our first four days in South Africa. We certainly did not regret it. I can only confirm what other guests have written.

The hotel is well situated in a quiet residential area, close to lovely restaurants. Taxis into the city only cost R3! We stayed in the appartment giving us freedom to get up leisurely. It worked well. The appartment is reasonably well equipped and the fridge was stocked with essentials to get us started which was a welcome surprise.

The staff at the hotel were just charming and couldnt do enough. Our special thanks go to Chris who was just delightful and helpful with it. Our thanks go to the whole team in making the start to our trip such a good one. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred20Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,916 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
117 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £120 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing