We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic service - 2nd to none!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed for 5 days - would happily have stayed for longer, having experienced Derwent House for the first time. Next time, we will choose a bigger room. Other than that, we couldn't fault anything. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and be helpful. Very handily placed for a wide variety of restaurants - staff were very helpful (and accurate) in their recommendations. Can't wait to re-visit!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffadamseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at Derwent House for the first two weeks of the World Cup and had a wonderful time. Jo and Carol are the perfect hosts and their staff cannot do enough to help you.The hotel has a warm feel to it.& the communal sitting area is great for meeting other guests with the honesty bar working really well. The pool area looked very inviting but being winter it wasn't quite pool weather although we did have some very pleasant days. Staff offer very good tourist advice from where to go, what to do & see, where to eat, booking trips& tables for dinner - nothing was a problem! The hotel is well situated with plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The Waterfront & other attractions are further afield although we did walk down to the front on a few occasions we mainly used taxis which we found to be cheap.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety & either Carol or Jo are always there making sure everyone has their day planned - they are both so friendly, they even came to the England game with us and took us their favourite Thai restaurant before the game!
All in all its a fabulous hotel & if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cape Town we would definitely recommend Derwent House!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluTiggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Boutique hotels can be so desperate to be "cool" that they are not particularly welcoming. Or they can overwhelm you with so much attention that you feel that you are not able to enjoy your privacy. Carol and Jo get the balance just right. - helpful , well inforrmed and practical suggestions for restaurants and outings when you want them; leave you in complete peace by the pool with a drink and a book if that is what you want. The decor in the hotel and the rooms also has the right balance of thoughtful design while still being very comfortable and welcoming, avoiding the trap of cutting edge Design with a capital D that can be stark and uncomfortable. African art is acknowledged and represented - but in a stylish way that avoids the kitsch that so many hotels and restaurants feel that they have to go for. Is this review over the top? No - I would move in for good if I possibly could.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My partner and I stayed at Derwent House in late April. All of the reviews are correct. This is a great small hotel. The owners and staff take a direct role in making the stay comfortable and provide great travel advice. We stayed in one of the smaller, less expensive rooms. The room was a little tight, but had everything we needed. Great value for the price. Plus we had some many other parts of the hotel relax in. The location was good for getting to know Cape Town. There are some great restaurants within walking distance. Most other areas require some driving or public transport. I would highly recommend the Derwent House.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Carol and her team make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive after many hours of travel. The Derwent House is beautifully maintained in a very safe neighborhood in Cape Town. There are excellent restaurants all within walking distance. But you don't need to worry about breakfast because the gourmet breakfast cooked to order is the best we have ever had at a B&B! All the ingredients are fresh and the variety is amazing.
For sightseeing the staff made arrangements for us and had wonderful recommendations. They were able to pull together an impromptu guided tour of Boulders and the Cape of Good Hope. Our stay at the Derwent House was one of the highlights of our 16 day trip to Africa.
We traveled with our two children. Carol made them feel at home and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activefamilytntnwnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Derwent House hotel is at the top of Cape town tucked beneath Table mountain. It has an old fashioned, friendly atmosphere, from the honesty bar to the relaxed sitting room.
The rooms are comfortable and contemporary, with modern ensuite facilities, satellite TV and free WiFi.
They offer 'big name hotel' services, like airport transfers, sightseeing tours and laundry facilities, even though they are small enough to be described as 'Boutique'.
Walking to the Capetown waterfront or Cape Quarter from Derwent house Hotel, will take you down the excellent, and quite bohemian, Kloof Street. A great place to get lunch or just a coffee, and to sample the wares of the varied businesses plying their trade.
Breakfast was great, and the pool looked inviting (even though it was a little cool and rainy while I was there).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceantreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Wife and I left USA (MN) to visit SAA for vacation. I searched for places to stay in Capetown and discovered Derwent House reviews in TripAdvisor. The dominance of positive reviews attracted me - so much so that I questioned their authenticity. Skeptical, I continued looking - but kept coming back to those reviews. Now I'm writing one, a rarity - just as Derwent House turned out to be.

I liked the style in which Carol promptly answered all my email questions. Her answers were direct, specific & complete. She offfered appropriate suggestions when asked. (Have you ever been frustrated by someone who fails to answer a simple question or does so with "attitude?"). It was obvious Carol was a professional inn keeper. I booked 5 nights at Derwent in early March 2010, on the strength of the string of back and forth emails and, of course, the TripAdvisor reviews.

What's the bottom line? Simply: great location (we walked several times to the V&A Waterfront, only about 35 minutes away); really attractive/well appointed/comfortable property; helpful, pleasant staff; and last, but certainly not least, incredible breakfasts, including an unexpected brown bag breakfast on our departure (we left at 05:00).

I recommend Derwent House and applaud Carol and her staff. Definitely, we would stay there again. Terry & Judy from Lakeville, MN/USA

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJBJAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,918 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,356 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £122 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing