We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The hotel is located pretty much near everything you will ever need to see or do. The Table Mountain back drop was simply stunning and the hotel itself is luxurious, with all the comfort anyone could want for.

There are quality restaurants right on the hotel doorstep and getting around is very easy due to its centralised location.

The room I stayed in was extremely well kept, with all mod cons including wifi which was invaluable. Unfortunately, I was there for work which meant I didn't have enough time to enjoy the hot tub outside of my room! All of the furniture is very inviting and I only wish I had more time to stay inside.

The breakfast served at Derwent House is more than comprehensive, both cold and hot menus are all unmissable and set you up perfectly for whatever maybe in store for you during the day. French toast and bacon being a particular favourite!

All of the staff are always more than happy to help and are accommodating, making sure you have everything you need all of the time and I could not have felt more welcome.

Every detail in the hotel has been though about. Everyday a small paper scroll is left on your pillow containing historical facts relating to the particular date of your stay. The complimentary sherry and port also proved to be the perfect nightcap.

I would recommend a stay here to anyone whether it be on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

831 - 837 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

Derwent House is a dream. Having lived in Cape Town and worked as a tour guide, I know plenty of hotel, B&B options, and DH is my favorite! The service is very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The staff makes the guests feel welcome as if they're at a relatives' house, yet the amenities, breakfast, rooms and decor, are all 5 star. The perfect combination of luxury, comfort, service-- a great bargain for what you get. We were there for the World Cup, a busy time in South Africa, nowhere else compares to Derwent House in quality. Gorgeous style, pristine pool, best breakfast in town, welcoming to all friends and business people coming through.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed at Derwent House this past June/July during the World Cup. I travelled over to Cape Town from the US with 2 friends. We stayed in the larger "family room" which was plenty adequate for 3 people. We could not have picked a better place in all of Cape Town. It was our home away from home for nearly 3 weeks. The location was central. The staff was overly attentive to all our needs. The owners Jo & Carol went above and beyond and saw to it that we were comfortable, happy and well taken care of at all times. The staff arranged travel plans, made dinner/lunch reservations, gave us day trip suggestions, cleaned our room in a timely/unobtrusive fashion and overall were quick to accommodate whatever we needed whenever we wanted.

The decor at Derwent House is absolutely stunning. The main lounge is comfortable and inviting and a great place to unwind after spending a day exploring. (An interior design magazine should do a spread on this place!) We sat down to delicious breakfast every morning in their sunny dining room just off the immaculate kitchen.

Given the fact that we were there in winter, we weren't really able to use the pool and deck - which was a disappointment given how lovely the back patio seems.

Overall I could not think of a better place to be for 3 weeks in South Africa. Cape Town is an amazing city and Derwent is the perfect compliment. I am already looking forward to a return trip!

Thanks Jo & Carol!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjotto30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Derwent House is a fine place to stay and visit Cape Town. The hotel was cheap and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The location was close to attractions and nice restaurants for dinner but it was away from the tourist districts giving you a real feel for Cape Town.

The owner, Carol, is a delight. She is extremely well versed on Cape Town and South Africa in general.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnephro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Stayed for 5 days - would happily have stayed for longer, having experienced Derwent House for the first time. Next time, we will choose a bigger room. Other than that, we couldn't fault anything. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and be helpful. Very handily placed for a wide variety of restaurants - staff were very helpful (and accurate) in their recommendations. Can't wait to re-visit!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffadamseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at Derwent House for the first two weeks of the World Cup and had a wonderful time. Jo and Carol are the perfect hosts and their staff cannot do enough to help you.The hotel has a warm feel to it.& the communal sitting area is great for meeting other guests with the honesty bar working really well. The pool area looked very inviting but being winter it wasn't quite pool weather although we did have some very pleasant days. Staff offer very good tourist advice from where to go, what to do & see, where to eat, booking trips& tables for dinner - nothing was a problem! The hotel is well situated with plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The Waterfront & other attractions are further afield although we did walk down to the front on a few occasions we mainly used taxis which we found to be cheap.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety & either Carol or Jo are always there making sure everyone has their day planned - they are both so friendly, they even came to the England game with us and took us their favourite Thai restaurant before the game!
All in all its a fabulous hotel & if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cape Town we would definitely recommend Derwent House!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluTiggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Boutique hotels can be so desperate to be "cool" that they are not particularly welcoming. Or they can overwhelm you with so much attention that you feel that you are not able to enjoy your privacy. Carol and Jo get the balance just right. - helpful , well inforrmed and practical suggestions for restaurants and outings when you want them; leave you in complete peace by the pool with a drink and a book if that is what you want. The decor in the hotel and the rooms also has the right balance of thoughtful design while still being very comfortable and welcoming, avoiding the trap of cutting edge Design with a capital D that can be stark and uncomfortable. African art is acknowledged and represented - but in a stylish way that avoids the kitsch that so many hotels and restaurants feel that they have to go for. Is this review over the top? No - I would move in for good if I possibly could.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,855 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £121 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing