We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a fantastic stay”
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a most wonderful stay at 2Inn1. We reserved a standard room for a very reasonable price of circa £100 a night but there was certainly nothing standard about it. The room had everything we needed including a comfy bed, lovely bathroom with a huge shower and 2 sinks, a TV, DVD player and stereo and thankfully air conditioning which we needed as it was around 38 degrees. The guesthouse was in a great area, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and with fantastic views of Table Mountain and Lions Head. The pool area was lovely and it was nice to chill out after a few hours sightseeing. The breakfast was great and the sundowners at night were much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for Klaus, Chris and the team. Everything you needed would be arranged, including reservations at restaurants, airport transfers, excursions. I can honestly say that I don't think we've ever received such a warm welcome and we've travelled a great deal over the years. Cape Town itself is a great city with lots to do. The V&A waterfront has some amazing restaurants and plenty of shops to look around. We ate at Baia (seafood) and Belthazar (steak) on the waterfront and they were both great. We also ate at Fabulous (Moroccan) and Baluci's (Italian) which are both down Kloof Street and again were both great. Kloof Street is in walking distance from the 2Inn1 and it was perfectly safe to walk, however you might want to get a cab back as Kloof Street is quite steep. There are plenty of cabs in Cape Town and the price of a cab from the 2Inn1 to the V&A was around £4. We were surprising pleased at the price of alcoholic drinks in the city. You could get a bottle of beer for £1, a pint of Guinness for £1.50 and a glass of SA wine for around £1.50 a glass. All in all we couldn't fault Cape Town or the 2Inn1 and are hoping to go back next year! We're just worried that all of the good reviews of the 2Inn1 will mean we won't be able to get in.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JackieGarrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for 2Inn1 Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2009

Wow, what a fabulous surprise this little haven of tranquility is. Nestled at the base of Table mountain, away from the hustle & bustle of the V & A this boutique hotel is the perfect place to relax. The hotel is beautifully furnished in a modern style, and the attention to detail, and level of service afforded by Klaus, Chris and the rest of the staff is exceptional. Don't be fooled into thinking you have to stay in a five star hotel to get top service, the 2 Inn 1 delivers it by the bucketful at a fraction of the price. In fact we canceled a reservation at a top hotel (due in part to poor reviews on this site), and we're so glad we did. We both hope that we can go back to Cape Town soon to avail ourselves of this wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We travelled through South Africa in February this year and we were amazed by the high level of accomodation offered throughout the country.

However, our stay at the 2Inn1 was by far the best experience we ever had in a guesthouse. The location is just perfect, in the suburb of Oranjezicht on the slopes of Table Mountain with beautiful views of Lion's Head. The service offered by the two hosts and all of the staff is just perfect. Every point of contact they have with their clients is handled in the best way possible: mails are answered promptly, rooms and the entire guesthouse are kept spotless and drinks are offered by the pool and served with nicely presented snacks.

What we found very useful too was the fact that we could make use of their wireless internet and that they have a laptop which you can use in case you don't have your own pc. Other features we appreciated were the outdoor jacuzzi, lovely breakfast, iPod docking station... Everything you can wish for.

Cars are parked outside and taken care of by Eric, the night guard who does a great job too. Like everyone at this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We have just returned from 8 heavenly nights at the much loved 2INN1 Kensington. We have been fortunate to travel to many far-flung destinations, and have been equally lucky with our choice of stylish hotels. However, this particular spot deserves a special mention.
When we contacted Klaus many months ago, he could not have been any more helpful, friendly, or inviting. We booked two rooms for our family of five people; Klaus made the entire booking right away, further adding to the ease of staying here. Before arriving, I had emailed a number of times with small questions - nothing was too much of a bother, and Klaus would respond immediately (!) with the most kind, thoughtful, and pointed replies. How refreshing!
All of this pales in comparison to the actual experience of being a guest at 2INN1. When we told local friends where we we'd be staying, they smiled; this is one of the most beautiful and relaxing parts of Cape Town, and is incredibly convenient also - walkable to the best part of Kloof Street for shops and local restaurants, and a short drive over Kloof Neck to the stunning coastal beaches. Cape Town is an incredibly beautiful, laid back city to begin with, but the physical location of 2INN1 makes it even more accessible.
When we arrived, we were delighted to be met personally by Klaus, who we soon learned is at the hotel most days from early in the morning until the evening; if he is not there, his partner Chris is at the helm. Both of them are warm, friendly, and intelligent, and take great pride in their facility. It's clear to see that they love what they have created; the staff at the hotel have, for the most part, been with them since they opened their doors - further proof of their commitment to their guest and workers alike. How nice to see all treated with good nature and respect!
The hotel, as noted in previous reviews, is stunning. The scale is perfect - enough people for a critical mass, but not crowded. Everything has been given thought and makes sense (without frivolous details or trying to be 'over-designy'). It all works - the layout, the colors, the furniture, the lighting, the materials. Simply gorgeous. Rooms are large, well appointed, and comfortable - large, sun lit bathrooms; super comfy beds; great air conditioning; ample storage. A superb ambience with every need fulfilled - including super quiet rooms that are pitch black courtesy of excellent drapes. Even the use of a local mobile phone, perfectly handy for calling, texting, or getting information.
The shared common spaces, of which there are many for such an intimate property, are likewise beautifully made up - they invite relaxation and conversation. The breakfast room - cheerful and sleek; the lounge, hip and comfortable; the pool, absolutely brilliant. Breakfast and complimentary evening drinks and snacks can be enjoyed in any of these sumptuous locations (and are always supplied in lovely glasses, china, etc.).
Beyond Klaus and Chris, the entire staff is friendly, bright, and smart. It's easy to see why. Even parking at the hotel, right in front and directed by Eric, is utterly simple.
Cape Town is a spectacular city, and I cannot think of a nicer way to enjoy it's scenic charm than to compliment it with a perfect stay at 2INN1. Bravo to the entire team for their unique vision, skillfully executed!
(For more details, visit http://designwithharley.blogspot.com/2009/02/2inn1-kensington.html)

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Design-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at 2inn1 and it really made the trip. We arrived early and were offered breakfast while our room was prepared (which only took about 30 mins). The room was fabulous. Finished to a very high standard and with a beautiful view of Lions Head from our terrace. Klaus and Chris are such great hosts. Highly recommend that you stay there if you visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worriedsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Cape Town and Franschhoek. 11 nights was spent at this wonderful hotel, we booked 2inn1 based on previous trip advisor reviews....... they were not wrong.
We have travelled worldwide and stayed in some fantastic hotels and guest houses, but this a gem of a place. Stylish, contemporary and meticulous, but for us Klaus, Chris and their team made it for us. Nothing was too much trouble ever. Thanks Klaus and Chris for recommending and booking the most amazing restaurants and also arranging the transport, the food in these places is to die for.
I had a full body massage during my stay and it was fabulous , thanks to Nomhle, the spa room is beautiful and tastefully decorated, as is everywhere in the hotel.
Everything you read in all the reviews about this gem of a place is so true and has to be experienced.
We have every intention to return to this fab place, but also we want to see our new found friends. The bestest hosts and their team we have ever encountered.
Thanks guys for a brill hol

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maglesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Last year we already stayed at 2inn1 and we liked it so much that we decided to go back and stay another 7 nights at 2inn1 with Klaus & Chris. Virgeni is a flight attendent and we love to travel, so we think we are experienced travellers and for us this is realy the best place ever. It starts with realy very nice rooms. Last year we had a room upstairs and this year the first room on the right, both very nice. Everything that you want is presented with breakfast and possible till 12.00!!! You realy feel that the staff of 2inn1 are interested in giving you the best time ever. Nobody of the staff had left, so that is realy a good sign. Every morning they ask if they can help you with planning lunch or dinner and if they can make phone calls for reservations and give you great tips. There is a very nice swimming pool and a yacuzzi in the garden en enough place to relax and have a wonderfull "sundowner". In the evening there is always somebody (Kenneth) in the house and Mr. Eric is watching your car. The guesthouse is situated in a very nice area, Oranjezicht and near a very nice steet (Kloofstreet). For us 2inn1 will be a place to never forget!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pat_en_Vir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 111 in Cape Town Central
446 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,847 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £122 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing