We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rave reviews are right!”
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The rave reviews are right!”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We read a lot of TripAdvisor reviews and so had high expectations of 2Inn1 before we arrived. We stayed for 5 nights in mid-August, while sightseeing in Capetown and have to stay that the Inn exceeded even the glowing reviews posted here.

The furnishings are contemporary and trendy, the breakfasts were delicious, and complimentary happy hour a treat. The inn is nestled right into the mountain so the views are fabulous. However, It is the service that sets the guesthouse far above the rest. We have never received such individual and attentive booking assistance at any hotel. It was less like speaking to a formal hotel concierge and more like staying at a good friend’s house who makes you a huge breakfast and then helps you plan your day and gives you the inside scoop of where to eat and what to see. Klaus and his staff handled our dinner reservations, arranged rides, and gave us great suggestions each day. We arrived at the hotel and were handed a folder with our requested restaurant reservations already prepared for us. When we decided to hike Lion’s Head one day Klaus personally gave us a lift to the trailhead. [Klaus even emailed me after we left to let me know I left my camera charger!] When we left the hotel in the early morning or came home late there was always staff available to greet us, answer our questions and offer us a drink. We visited both the Cape Grace and the Mount Nelson, two hotels we also considered, and I am so glad we forewent this traditional stuffiness for the crisp, modern and personal 2Inn1.

One of my concerns about the hotel was the location. For our first trip to Capetown I thought we might want to be right on the Waterfront. This proved to be no problem at all. It was easy and inexpensive to get a cab to the waterfront. The restaurants and museums located within the city bowl were actually much more accessible from the 2Inn1 then they would have been from the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
539
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

It was our first visit to Africa and it couldn't have started at a better hotel. From the ease of booking on the website with the wonderful photos to Klaus' helpful emails before we even got there, the hotel was even better in reality. We had booked a luxury room as it has the views. We got there in the dark (great welcome from Liston) and the next morning opened our curtain to a view of the Lions Head Rock and Table Mountain - wow! All that has been said before we agree with - excellent, attentive, well trained staff, very extensive breakfasts, superbly decorated modern contemporary rooms with every extra you could think of - robes, underfloor heating, lovely bathroom with huge shower head, complimentary mobile phone, taxi and restaurant booking service, good selection of TV channels,free good speed internet in your room, high levels of security especially for our hire car parked in the street outside and free sundowner drinks between 5 and 7pm! Try and spend some time relaxing by the pool as well as sight seeing!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judehunt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

There is only one place to stay whilst in Cape Town...we regret telling the travelling public about the 2 Inn 1 Kensington because it is a gem of a place.

Nothing was too much trouble. Klaus and Kris and their team excel in providing a high quality service right from the point of sending an initial enquiry about availabilty via e-mail. The Kensington is beautifully decorated, very comfortable offering up everything needed by guests. There is a fantastic pool/hot tub area in which to relax after a day of sight-seeing. It is the little touches which make all the difference...great breakfasts, free mobile telephones for local use, early evening cocktails, terrific bedrooms, and great advice regarding Cape Town and its environs and supported by excellent knowledge of available restaurants.

Having experienced what is offered by the team at the 2 Inn 1 Kensington, we fully understand why it is rated as the #1 place to stay in Cape Town on Trip Advisor!

We will definately return! Thank you to Klaus and Kris. Sally and Phillip Weale

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona,
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Outstanding service, the staff is just superb and helpfull, the rooms are very comfortable, good breakfast, very good decor. If I have to say a "negative aspect" I will only say location since it requires a taxi for almost everything.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

my boy-friend and me are both germans living in HK and have travelled many places in the world and believe that we have seen good and bad hotels more than we can count. 2inn1kensington simply blew us away. i have stayed at other hotels in cape town before and couldn't have dreamt about any better. klaus & christoph, the owners have newly designed and renovated this chraming villa(s) and turned it into a heaven-like place were all the staff make you feel very welcome and will exceeded our expectations by far. we were spoiled in any aspect: design, warmth, any questions, excellent food (a full 10 here!). there is wireless internet as well as a laptop for free usage. free happy hour drinks, the pool and jacuzzi are great and very clean as are the rooms. in the room we even found a cellphone for us to use, they simply have thought of everything. thanks to klaus & christoph we learned about extraordinary tours and had a remarkable time in cape town and surroundings. we will definitely come back and recommend this impressive place to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniela00hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at the 2inn1 primarily for business, so it was important that things "worked". I really got it right when I chose this hotel - the attention to detail was amazing. Not only was the setting beautiful understated, intimate and personal luxury but all the business functions were covered too...
I was met with enthusiasm, already a local mobile phone had been arranged, there was wifi available that allowed me to work anywhere (inside and out) in the hotel.
My room was quiet and every comfort had been thought of, from the private deck with an uninterrupted view of Table Mountain, to the idependently controlled underfloor heating in both the bedroom and bathroom.
The hotel has also thought of all entertainment options, with basic spa treatments available on site but also many brochures for things to do and see in and around Cape Town area.
The breakfasts were delicious, fresh and healthy (as well as hearty) and the lunch food perfect (especially the 2inn1 salad).
For those in a couple/group, the restaurants are close by or (if you are alone) you can order in a fantastic feast from the great selection of delivering restaurants.
I must say that I cannot think of anything that the 2inn1 team could do further to improve - for me it was 100%!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldw0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I travelled a lot and stayed in many accomodations, but Kensington 2inn1 was the best ever! - You can feel the heartblood of the two owners (Klaus and Christoph) in all belongings: The renovation of the victorian villa, the interior design, their hospitallity, their recommandations for restaurants or daily trips. - The breakfast is awesome and during "happy hour" complimantary drinks including very nice wines from the famous vineyards of South Africa. All staffmembers are friendly and helpful as well. They even offer you a mobile phone with a local number and only charge the real calls (no upcharge). We will be back...that's for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Property: 2Inn1 Kensington
Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing