We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location In Cape Town”
Review of Manhattan Lofts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Lofts
Reviewed 8 April 2008

I am visting Cape Town since 1994 and rented many different Hotel rooms, Villas and Apartements, but this Penthouse beats them all.

Staying there for a 7 day Golftrip with a friend and without our families, was really great. Almost everything is in walking distance, Restaurants, Clubs, Shops and - a bottle store right around the corner.

The Penthouse itself seems to be renovated, because it looked even better than before (I had a quick look when I was here with my family last year).
If you like Loft-style living, that's the place to go, spacious, Flatscreen TV, Kitchen, everything what you expect - even an outside Jacuzzi!

Bottom line: Great location, great views and a very friendly and reliable owner (we already rented Mr. Fischer's Beach Villa a couple of times). Not more to say, than thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Golfschorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2007

In 2000 I was fortunate to spend some time at Manhattan Lofts. It made such an impression on me that when I heard that the interior had recently been facelifted, I had to go back for more!

The facelift has taken the loft apartment to the next level of ultra-modern, while still retaining its distinguishing features. These include an avant-garde shower, Jacuzzi with breathtaking views of the City, Harbour and Table Mountain, and interconnecting walkways between rooms.

When staying there, it would be a crying shame not to host a sundowner evening, as this brings out the absolute best in the apartment. The changing colours seen over the Harbour and City are spectacular, and are followed by a bird’s eye view of the illumination of Table Mountain. Your guests will talk about the experience for years – trust me!

Thank you to Bobby and his team for their hospitality. I highly recommend a stay there!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank GeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

I dealt with Bobby on email, must say he was very helpful
and the apartment beat all expectations!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank helen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Manhattan Penthouse Apartment in Cape Town, 130 Brie Street, South Africa in January 2007 for two weeks.

The gentleman, who took our booking and with whom I phoned on numerous occasions identified himself as Mr. Bobby Fischer.

We mostly based our decision to book the Manhattan Penthouse based upon a positive review on this site. We were certainly very disappointed.

#1
Fully equipped kitchen did not have a dishwasher.
#2
ADSL Internet line did not exist at our arrival as promised on their website. I had to spend 2 working days coping with the issue in order to be able to continue working part-time on my projects.
#3
Despite advertising, Manhattan Apartments are not serviced apartments. At times, cleaners appeared, opening the doors with their keys, without knocking or ringing the door bell only to leave without any comment.
#4
The place has no laundry facilities.
#5
First and foremost however, Manhattan Penthouse is in need of very serious maintenance and general overhaul.

Potted palm trees in the dining area and in the lounge are homes to some of the largest cockroaches you can see anywhere in the southern hemisphere.

Jacuzzi did not work and was not repaired during 14 days of stay despite numerous phone calls with Mr. Fisher and despite his ‘serious’ promises.

Someone has recently broken into the apartment. Both the door and the lock were seriously damaged. No action has been taken to repair the damage and properly secure the apartment with our property in it.

Many blinds have been torn apart or broken and were in state of complete disrepair. Some were completely missing, too making parts of the penthouse useless during the hot African summer.

Electric switches throughout the Penthouse have been partially broken and no action has been taken to repair them. They pose serious hazard to the tenants and their guests.

Parts of the flooring are going apart and no action has been taken to repair the damage.

Some of the walls need a coat of fresh paint, as they were not painted at the time wardrobes stood there.

One of the windows was broken and the glass pane was replaced only after a week and after several phone calls.

#6
Manhattan Penthouse is seriously overpriced. Much finer and more elegant properties in pristine condition are available at even better locations at the same price.

#7
Our airport transfers upon arrival and departure were supposedly included with the rent. We were only met upon arrival. No one has ever shown up to bring us to the Cape Town Airport on our departure, despite express promise by Mr. Fisher.

The only, if very said ‘positive’: Mr. Fisher refunded us with one night of stay at his very rundown, cockroach infested place.

I will be attaching some of the ‘candid photographs’ with this review for your future reference.

We booked directly via their website: [--]



SilverRRCloud




  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SilverRRCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyCapeTown, Owner at Manhattan Lofts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Guest

We spoke several times on the phone while i was also on vacation to try and sort out the problems you where experiencing with the internet. you never did mentioned any other disappointments.

With the regards to the return airport transfer I pay another company to collect and drop off my guests which most places would not pay for this service especially in the self catering accommodation line where you get low accommodation deals direct from people like myself that own 1 apartment or so . The company that i used made a mistake with the Am / Pm times. I apologise for the inconvenience i must say it does not happen often , i think with your stay everything probably went wrong . The individual photos your took
are a bit misleading with regards to the greater quality of the penthouse. Your statement about
serious Fraud I take serious offense!!!!

I am writing this Review in the Light that the penthouse has been renovated from top to bottom at least once since your stay !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Caromb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,394 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,079 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Lofts

Address: 130 Bree street, Cape Town Central 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £63 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town is one of the most beautiful cities in the world why not and stay in Manhattan Lofts with the most exhilarating views of the entire city of Cape town and Table Mountain.!Enjoy strawberries and champagne from your private open air jacuzzi. 180 square meter triple level penthouse / loft with double volume ceiling height and spectacular 270 degree views .Choice of two apartments .Penthouse / Loft with 2 bedrooms sleeps up to 6 people with a sleeper couch.Luxury studio (open plan) spacious 70 square meter state of the art apartment sleeps 2 peopleand a extra 2 people is possible with am electric blow up mattress. Recommended for a family with kids.Located in the very best part of Cape town City on top of the Cape town lodge hotel.The Penthouse is situated on the corner of the building thus giving the most beautiful views Views that one will not easily achieve from other places .Situated close to the many attractions and only 900 meters from the V/A waterfront enhance at the bottom of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Manhattan Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Lofts Hotel Cape Town Central
Manhattan Lofts Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing