We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Studio Apartment, good host”
Review of Manhattan Lofts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Lofts
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Studio Apartment, good host”
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We were visiting South Africa on the occasion of our wedding anniversary. Our first stop over was cape town and we'd chosen to stay in a studio Apartment in Manhattan lofts. When we landed on Oct 18th and called Bobby from the airport, he seemed to be taken by surprise as the studio apartment was already occupied and he was expecting us the next day. However, he was quick to immediately book us into a hotel next door and see that we were not inconvenienced in any manner whatsoever. After a nights stay, we moved into a squeaky clean apartment the next day. The housekeeping was very effiecient.

The apartment is maintained superbly with nice amenities and offers a lovely view of the central business district and far away view of the V&A waterfront. Since there were hobs to cook, we cooked our own meals which was convenient. Bobby our host also called to make sure that we were doing ok. We enjoyed our stay as the place was centrally located, close to shopping centres as well the tourism office from where we started our daily exploration of the lovely city.

  • Liked — Good view of the business district and the amenities
  • Disliked — Cant really think of anything negative
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vgrMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Studio apartment at Cape Town Manhattan Lofts to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Apart from a bit of confusion when we got to the apartment with regards to who had the key, we had an awesome time! Everything about the apartment was more than what we expected!

We will definitely be staying at Manhattan Lofts again and telling our friends about it! We're already planning a trip for early next year! Thanks Bobby!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wannabejetsetter016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, SA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Very nice apartment with fantastic views of the city. House keeper is fantastic. Secure parking, good location. After a problem with birds on the balcony a phone call to the landlord and the problem was resolved the next day - great service. two good size bedrooms - only separated by curtains so if you are shy. option to sleep 2 more on pull out and suffiecient bedding etc for a further 3. good facilities to prepare food. Reasonable value for low season.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHH-pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I've stayed a few times in Bobby Fischer's apartments in Cape Town - he's got several - all are great.

A penthouse in Pepper Street right in the centre - amazing roof terrace with Jacuzzi. Manhattan Lofts, a remarkable 3 story flat . Best I've ever stayed in!

Also would recommend Puff Daddy Car Hire - cheap hire of classic cars, with unlimited mileage.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We enjoyed it so much that we chose to stay here again, one year later. My family (wife, 13 year old daughter and 11 year old son) and I had another relaxing and comfortable stay. It is great...very convenient location, nicely furnished, full kitchen, air conditioned bedroom....especially the jacuzzi on the balcony, a perfect place to enjoy the city lights and a quiet conversation after a nice dinner.
The daily maid service was a welcome addition to an already excellent place to stay. Our stay included airport transfers.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThefourMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hennenman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Place: Manhatten Lofts - Cape Town
Date: 24 to 26 January 2009
From the 1st call and e-mail to arrange our stay the Management and staff were no.1! Every little detail were filled and attended to without any problem. They walked an extra mile so that we could enjoy our stay. From car hire to luggage, everything was taken care off. Thank you so much for making our experience one never to forget and memories to charish. Best wishes for you, your family and staff. We will defenity spread the word to our friends so that they also can experience top quality and professionalism in the beautiful Cape!

Thank you so much!!

  • Liked — cleanliness and professionalism
  • Disliked — Nothing, all was no. 1!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Four of us stayed at the Manhattan Appartment in Bree Street, Cape Town for a week. We'd booked online and had exchanged e-mails with the owner, Bobby Fisher, prior to our holiday. He was friendly, informative and professional.
As we were unable to continue our holiday in this accommodation, he arranged for us to transfer to one of his luxury villas in Llandudno to complete our stay.
We booked our car hire through him,using Puff Daddy .
When we landed at Cape Town, we were met by the Puff Daddy employee who took us to our car and escorted us to the appartment. He had not been well but was determined to help get our holiday off to a good start. He took us to the appartment, introduced us to the housekeeper and then went for a hospital appointment!
Our housekeeper was friendly and helpful-we requested extra towels which she got immediately for us. She kept the place immaculate. We loved the location, the views and the sheer luxury of penthouse living. One evening it was cold, but the underfloor heating kept us warm.
We changed accommodation and car after a week and this smooth transition was facilitated by another employee who was again friendly, courteous and professional. On arrival at the villa we were taken aback by the sheer location and interior of the property. The resident maid was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and her successor proved identical. Both staff members were diligent, polite, friendly and very professional.
The member of staff who escorted us to Llandudno arranged to take us to the airport at the end of our stay which gave us a wonderful opportunity to talk to someone who has experience of living in this beautiful country.
I must admit, booking such a holiday online was slightly nervewracking at first because I couldn't believe it was real! Believe me, it is! What more do you want from a holiday? Superb location, excellent service at a fair price (and it only rained once!)

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
693 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,287 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Lofts

Property: Manhattan Lofts
Address: 130 Bree street, Cape Town Central 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town is one of the most beautiful cities in the world why not and stay in Manhattan Lofts with the most exhilarating views of the entire city of Cape town and Table Mountain.!Enjoy strawberries and champagne from your private open air jacuzzi. 180 square meter triple level penthouse / loft with double volume ceiling height and spectacular 270 degree views .Choice of two apartments .Penthouse / Loft with 2 bedrooms sleeps up to 6 people with a sleeper couch.Luxury studio (open plan) spacious 70 square meter state of the art apartment sleeps 2 peopleand a extra 2 people is possible with am electric blow up mattress. Recommended for a family with kids.Located in the very best part of Cape town City on top of the Cape town lodge hotel.The Penthouse is situated on the corner of the building thus giving the most beautiful views Views that one will not easily achieve from other places .Situated close to the many attractions and only 900 meters from the V/A waterfront enhance at the bottom of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manhattan Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Lofts Hotel Cape Town Central
Manhattan Lofts Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing