We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with nice owner(s)”
Review of Loloho Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loloho Lodge
Ranked #77 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a wonderful time at Loloho Lodge!
The review of mr Ericv58/26th March is completely the opposite as we encountered.
We were also guests at the time guests ericv58 were staying at the Loloho lodge and
they were the ones with the attitude problem, definately not the hosts.
They forgot they were guests in a “guest”house and did not care about the hosts as well as other guests. In fact I am surprised the hosts did put up with them that long and not sending them to a hotel, where they would be much more comfortable.
So this said, now the guesthouse.
The location is very good, the rooms and bathroom really clean, a very nice pool and terrace and moreover a superb breakfast. Also a lot of information is available regarding things to see in and around Capetown. The hosts also have good knowledge about the neighbourhood regarding pubs and restaurants (try Mr Busbies, and tell the owner Jimmy that you like Fulham – the UK soccerteam .. then there will be a good chance they have a table for you as it can be very busy)
So when you go to the Capetown area, stay at Loloho, please take this advice from an
experienced traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank EvE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Small lodge with excellent rooms and excellent location. The only downside to this accommodation is the owner/manager and his friend. Both made a wrong career choice! They are moody, not service oriented and sometimes outright blunt. Despite the qualities of the location, the behavior of this managerial duo grows on you, and not in a nice way. I won’t be back….

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricvanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scouserCapeTown, Owner at Loloho Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

It is good to know that the guests (5 of them) appreciated the guest house.
There is a lot I could write about their stay but it is enough to say that we are the same managerial team that all the other reviewers have had looking after them. The guest house is the same too. The difference this time is the guests. To paraphrase the review above: -
The behavior of the guests grew on us but not in a nice way. They won’t be allowed back!!!
Frank Atherley
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Spent 3 nights at Loloho Lodge, even though lodge is a misnomer, it is a spacious and very clean B&B. As it was February and we had stunning hot weather we really appreciated the pool and outdoor recliners as there is nowhere to sit in your room and no outlook. Didn't like the TV situated high on the wall on the side of the bed as it was impossible to view at that angle and missed body lotion in the bathroom. But the quality of linen and sleep comfort was five star!
The location is fine, a stroll to the promenade and convenient for the waterfront. There is no sea view but Frank, the host, has created a potted hibiscus garden all around the paving and this adds colour and lushness to the guest area.
The breakfast was varied with numerous choices and the cooked options beautifully prepared. I love a cappuccino and today with the ease of Nespresso Machines wonder why everyone doesn't have this as an option.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, the host is charming and gracious, everything was spotless, it was relaxed and friendly and super convenient and we would return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Loloho Lodge is extremely clean , quiet and comfortable, with pretty flowers surrounding the pool and terrace area, where the lovelly breakfast is served. The personal attention from Frank,ranging from the loan of adaptors and leads to weather conditions on Table Top Mountain was invaluable. Frank also gave us excellent tips on local restaurants while Simon works tirelessly in background .
GR8 GR8 GR8 Thank you for a wonderful stay Frank and Simon.
Martin and Julie Hurlow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank julie21256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Frank is an excellent host and will really look after you, lots of information and always a smile, Simon his 'oppo' working in the background ensures spotless rooms cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast taken on the terrace was a pleasure, the pool a welcome relief at the end of a very hot day. We can't fault the place and would recommend to anyone.
This B&B is 150m from the main road in Seapoint yet very quiet with lots of parking (although there is onsite parking we did not use it). Seapoint is a residential suburb of Cape Town and has a large selection of places to eat and drink. It does not feel overly touristy yet is only 30 minute's walk or a 5 minute taxi ride from the Waterside and Cape Town city centre itself, an ideal base fo visiting Cape Town.
John and Rowena, Jan 2012

Room Tip: Go for the small room, its got the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank erdles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Loloho lodge

Loloho lodge is a guest house of, high standard,
A very nice play to stay at a walking distance of the sea front (Sea Point area).
If you get the chance to come and visit Cape Town, loloho lodge should be the ideal place to start... great people will welcome you there and Frank will always have the great advices about what to see, what to do, what to care about, which taxi to take in Cape Town, and can arrange for you the transfer from the aiport. (so no worry when you arrive and you don't know the city.)... ..
The room are really clean, new style, spacious and nicely decorated and nicely designed... looks like a magazine.. a very refined style even if you feel quickly at home.
The place is really nice,and must be even more very enjoyable in summer time, the breakfast are gorgious.. (be carefull, it's difficult to come back home and just have a cup of coffee and some french toasts...)
and you will have the chance to already to meet one of the big five..Puma..... their adorable cat...who can sometime knock at your door to say in her way "hello" ...
Again Dunki Frank

We had a great time
Benedicte and Fabien from Montpellier, France

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank benedicte g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great place to stay! Comfortable and loved the breakfast in the morning. Frank was very helpful having suggestions and information of the area. The lodge was a wonderful place to stay nearby restaurants and comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SMWjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,918 reviews
0 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountview Spa and Guest House
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#60 of 156 in Cape Town Central
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loloho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loloho Lodge

Address: 13 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £79 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loloho Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loloho Lodge is managed and run by the owners, conveniently situated in the Sea Point area on Cape Town’s Atlantic Seaboard close to the beachfront with good shopping and excellent restaurants within walking distance.For relaxation, guests may swim in our large saltwater pool, recline on the patios or sit in the cool of the garden.Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Loloho Lodge is the ideal place as a base for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Loloho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loloho Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing