We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Loloho Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loloho Lodge
Ranked #77 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I can only echo other people's positive comments here, and also just think that the relatively few griping reviews show that you can't just please all the people all the time! Frank was very welcoming. Loved the pool area. In a nice location - you can easily walk to numerous cafes and restaurants on the main drag just down the road in SeaPoint. The room was spotless. All in all a great stay. Above all great value and a good base for exploring. If you don't have a car there is a brand new bus service that links Sea Point to downtown and Camps Bay and Hout Bay that goes every 20 minutes and the bus stop is not far away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
35
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This B&B was an exceptional place to stay while we were in Cape Town. The rooms were superb and very spacious with a fridge and free WiFi. The delicious English breakfast was served in a beautifully decorated sunny dining area.The host Frank was very helpful in suggesting tourist sites, restaurants, things to do and even recommended a great car rental company close by when we made our booking. The lodge is in a great location and is only a $4 taxi ride to the Waterfront. We were very happy that we had chosen the Loloho and would revisit again without hesitation. Thank you Frank & Simon for a truly pleasant experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Surrey, England.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We are staying at Loloho Lodge at the moment & it is one of the best places we have ever stayed! The location is great, the rooms are modern, quiet, clean and very secure. A beautiful and plentiful breakfast buffet awaits every morning and the free Wifi is a real bonus. The gardens are beautiful & well kept, with plenty of outside seating areas. The pool is clean and very refreshing on these hot days.
Frank and Simon who own the place are so friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you. They are so knowledgeable about where to go and what to see and really nothing is too much trouble for them.
I don't understand a previous reviewer's complaints about having to get permission for family members or friends to visit. I personally prefer the security of not having all and sundry tramping through the premises where I am staying! As for the blinds being down on hot days.....thank goodness they are so that the rooms are nice and cool when you return later in the day.
We have been here for 5 nights now and only have a couple more nights to go. We don't want to leave & will certainly be back. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Cape Town now & can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

You not allowed family members to visit without permission, rooms look out onto a wall, or cars . owners live in house, blinds closed even very hot days, and you can see them looking out the blinds, drains need attention, very creepy place, be careful please.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scouserCapeTown, Owner at Loloho Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for your review above. On reading, we think it is very strange and really does not deserve a response! However, this was expected as it was threatened!! This whole thing arose because the guest decided that she would ignore the common courtesies of staying in someone’s home, our guest house!
I will reply, as it does bring up some very important and serious points as to the conscientiousness of the owners which I am sure will be of greater importance to prospective guests rather than the ranting of someone who cannot even write a proper critical review. Yes, we the owners, do live on the property, which is a good point for security and convenience of guests. Yes we do have the blinds closed in very hot weather, helps to keep the house cooler. Yes, we have looked through the blinds on the odd occasion when something unexpected is heard outside, e.g. strangers in the house!! We are very security minded hence the request that all guests let us know when visitors whether relatives or not, are expected and especially if they want to use the facilities that other guests have paid for. The reviewer in question would have been the first to complain if other guests brought friends in and had a party outside her room, jumped in and out of the pool, generally taken over the place and maybe even one of them entered her room and helped themselves, it would have all been our fault!! Whether it is an uninvited friend, relatives or a group the situation is the same, guests should have the courtesy to ask first and not to show their ignorance and contempt for the owners and other guests by not doing so as was the case this time. No one who has ever asked has yet been refused or had problems.
This is a guest house and by implication, is a home and thus of limited aspect and we do not claim to have views. Not all rooms can have the best outlook however the reviewer had a very nice room opening onto the patio and a lovely flowering pink bougainvillea which she had enjoyed for 8 days!! As to the drains, there was a small problem when the flush mechanism stuck on her toilet that was fixed within 30 seconds from knowing about it!
If guests are going to make a review pointing out the negatives they should at least have the decency to also mention the positive side and give a balanced opinion! In this case she was very happy with her room (actually viewed it before she booked), she loved the patio with all the hibiscus and other plants plus the great pool, especially, where a swim is a swim and not a dip plus the overall cleanliness, ambiance and friendliness. Breakfast too was complimented.
Finally, however as she did keep her bread locked up in the safe in her room (as we found after she left), is she not the creepy one??
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I was in Loloho Lodge for 6 days in february. And i could not have chosen a nicer place. The room was very comfortable, nice bed, nice bathroom, good Wifi. The outside place is also very nice for relaxing, with a good size swimmingpool and enough place for sun or shade. Breakfast was really good, with fresh bread and lots of fruit. Frank and Simon are simply great hosts. The location of the lodge is also perfect, seapoint has nice restaurants so no need to go downtown in the evening. I would definitely recommend the lodge to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were at the Loloho lodge one night and we really liked it. Its location is perfect: in a small and quite street in the great area of Sea Point, walking distance from the ocean promenade, great both for the city centre and to visit the coast. Our room was nocely decorated, comfortable and very clean - same for the bathroom. Good to have free Wi-Fi. The garden / patio is very relaxing with fantistic plants and a nice swimming pool. The owners are excellent host. The breakfast (in the patio or inside - at your choice) is very well prepared and includes lots of fresh fruits, cheese, eggs, cereals, bread, croissants... The only remark is that there is no much privacy between the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I had a lovely stay at Loloho Lodge, which is ideally located for both the coast and the city centre. It is a really sweet guest house with great outdoor space and run with both efficiency and friendliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Rosedene Lodge
#84 of 155 in Cape Town Central
40 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
259 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 155 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#53 of 155 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Loloho Lodge

Property: Loloho Lodge
Address: 13 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Loloho Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loloho Lodge is managed and run by the owners, conveniently situated in the Sea Point area on Cape Town’s Atlantic Seaboard close to the beachfront with good shopping and excellent restaurants within walking distance.For relaxation, guests may swim in our large saltwater pool, recline on the patios or sit in the cool of the garden.Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Loloho Lodge is the ideal place as a base for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Loloho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loloho Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing