We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Cape Town”
Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #27 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place in Cape Town”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Olaf's is a cozy and very well-run guesthouse located in the beautiful Sea Point district of Cape Town. It is located near several excellent restaurants and is not far from the V&A Waterfront and other popular places to visit in the area. It's only 2 blocks from the ocean front on a quiet street.

The breakfast was a nice selection of breads, cereals, fruit, coffee, tea, eggs and breakfast meat. All of the staff were very courteous and helpful.

I will happily stay there again should I return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Hi.
Thanks for helping with your good review, hope to see you at Olaf's Guesthouse again .

Have a lovely Festive season

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    81
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
100
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

This B&B is 1 block away from Beach Rd., a main road that gets you to the V&A Wharf in 5 minutes and heading south takes you around the Cape Peninsula.
It is a house with several quest rooms, so in the mornings I was sometimes awakened by conversation or doors/drawers being closed & children playing nearby. However, it has a comfortable living room/ dining room, a beautiful garden courtyard with swimming pool (small & unheated) and a pleasant helpful, staff. At the end of the street is a good, trendy restaurant, The Duchess of Wisbeach, and Main Street, which runs perpendicular has several casual dining choices.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Kathryn and Terry,
Thank you for staying at Olaf's Guest House, I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

lovely, small guesthouse not far from the coast (5 minutes walk). atmosphere is very welcoming and friendly. breakfast available in the guesthouse, as well as a fridge with cold drinks and snacks (self-service). restaurants and sightseeing-bus-station nearby. i would go there again!!!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BriBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we at Olaf's are always glad to make your stay as comfortable as possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have stayed at Olaf's guest house a number of times over the past year while on business in Cape Town. Raymond, the proprietor, is extremely welcoming and prepared to assist with requests such as transport to the airport, ironing, and restaurant recommendations. The rooms are well presented and very comfortable. The breakfast is good and sets you up for the day. The guest house is quiet, secure and well located in Wisbeach Road in Sea Point. I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian220451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Hello Ian, we will try and keep up the good work. :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here on the last part of our South African Honeymoon, and had a lovely relaxing couple of days. Raymond was a very good host (he kept my husband busy with lots of interesting chat about football), and runs a very charming, well located guesthouse.
It was clean and tidy and offered an ideal location for exploring the City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowbunny2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Hi Snowbunny2006,

Thank you for the positive review, sorry I'm only getting back to you now but all these sites one has to update is just a bit much.

Best regards an a happy Festive season

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This guesthouse is very well located nearby the mainroad/weg, nearby the boulevard and walking distance (40 min) from Waterfront. The room we stayed in was okay and the staff was very pleasant and eager to assist. It was a great place to be!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Guest Relations Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Thanks for helping with your good review, hope to see you at Olaf's Guesthouse again .

Kind Regards
Olaf's Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here whilst visiting South Africa for a family wedding and I cannot think of a single negative thing about it. Raymond who owns and runs Olaf's was charming, attentive and made us feel totally at home whilst we stayed there for the 4 days in the run up to the wedding and found space for us to return afterwards as my husband had omitted to book those extra dates! The staff who fed us and cleaned the rooms were fabulous and made us very welcome. The rooms were very spacious and beautifully decorated, little touches like toiletries and a chocolate the bed were provided also there was fresh fruit available both in our room and downstairs in the main area. There is a laptop to keep up to date with the internet free of charge and they operate an honesty bar where you can help yourself to drinks, snacks etc and mark it against your room name for payment later, there is also an ice machine to keep you cool when the temperature rises :-) It is only a 5min taxi ride away from the V & A Waterfront where you will find loads of restaurants serving a wide variety of menu's. Do not leave .A. without taking a boat trip to see the sunset, it was an amazing experience and one I would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Guest Relations Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Dear Sheron,

Thanks for helping with your good review, hope to see you at Olaf's Guesthouse again.

Merry Christmas and Kind Regards
Olaf's Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Head South Lodge
Head South Lodge
#10 of 127 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#13 of 155 in Cape Town Central
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Property: Olaf's Guest House
Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing